We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at Brooklyn's coolest neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is new, clean, and they offer free breakfast. There is also a lovely rooftop patio available for guests to use.
Subway is a short walk from the hotel. The immediate neighbouring businesses are not as nice to look at, but two blocks away from the fun and stylish 5th Avenue.
Only one thing away from being my favourite hotel... That would be daily manager special instead of once a week!

Room Tip: Higher floor have a pretty view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOOONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 660 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Fairfield Inn and Suites is a good place to stay if you are visiting NYC. It is located within a short walk to the subway station. The hot breakfast is a hearty fair of eggs, sausage, waffles, bagels and muffins, fresh fruit and a variety of hot and cold cereals. And it's included! Parking however costs $25 per day, but you won't need a car if your staying within the city. And don't forget to visit the roof top deck for wonderfuls views of the city, including the new Freedom Towers, We walked from the subway to the hotel as late as 1am and felt safe.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for the best views of the city. But no matter where you stay, you will hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith77-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a wonderful Manhattan experience in ALL respects, then look no further. This hotel has it all, from ultra friendly and helpful staff, spotless rooms and amazing extra comfy king sized beds. Whilst more than adequate, the breakfasts lacked diversity so they became a little boring after a week.

1  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. The rooms are clean- but very small. The Hotel is nice but in a warehouse industrial neighborhood. No stores or restaurants in immediate area. Closest subway is 5 blocks. Stay at Brooklyn Marriott. Close to transportation and stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

John M.

The staff and management of the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott would like to say "Thank You" for choosing our beautiful new hotel for your recent visit to the Brooklyn/NYC area. We appreciate your feedback including your comments regarding our nationally recognized and award winning staff as well as the cleanliness of our facility.

The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Brooklyn is incredibly excited to be a part of this exciting and energetic transitional neighborhood. The area is both funky and fun, it is an incredible mesh of where the architectural wonders of Old New York are greeted by the contemporary wonders of a NEW New York. Although we are eagerly awaiting the opening of the state of art Barclay's Arena (home of the newly names Brooklyn Nets) and the new Whole Foods Super Center, we are so fortunate be just steps away from all the wonders of Brooklyn's 5th Avenue and the Park Slope neighborhood, which was recently named one of the nation's TOP 10 neighborhoods in which to live. Walking/Driving past slope you will experience breathtaking streets lined with brownstones that rival those marvels of the Upper West Side of Manhattan. Keep exploring and you will discover the secret oasis of Prospect Park, Brooklyn's own Central Park.

Marriott chose this exciting location to be the home of only the 2nd Marriott and 1st Fairfield Inn in this funky NYC borough. I do agree that the Brooklyn Bridge area and the Brooklyn Heights area of our borough are very exciting and offer fantastic views of Manhattan but Brooklyn is full of history and offers many exciting neighborhoods in which the old and new are so intertwined that it is like looking into an urban kaleidoscope. Our guests also enjoy spectacular views of downtown Brooklyn and Lower Manhattan including the new World Trade Center tower from our beautiful rooftop seating area.

The next time your travels bring you back to Brooklyn, we would love to again have the opportunity to serve you. We would also hope that on your next visit, you are able to experience the many exciting and culturally diverse neighborhoods that make travel through Brooklyn, such an exciting journey.

Sincerley,

Darren Piercey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

enjoyed our time there. roof was very nice for morning coffee ad the paper. great that they had bikes that we could ride. rode thru prospect park and into beautiful old neighborhoods. near daughter's apartment and a short walk to subway station on 4th and atlantic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddreher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The best feature of this hotel is the front-desk staff: cheerful, helpful, reliable, and knowledgable about the area. They gave excellent directions regarding the subways, local restaurants, & the area & did so with a smile. The second best feature is the rooftop seating area with lanai. That is a lovely place to relax &/or eat a take-out meal. And the hotel was very clean, airy, bright, and had an efficient house keeping staff. The continental breakfast was typical for a Fairfield Inn, which is to say very good, especially given that it is included with the room (breakfast sandwiches, pastries & muffins, bagels, yogurt & granola, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, waffles, tea/juice/coffee).

The worst feature of this hotel was the neighborhood, which is an eyesore. However, unlike previous reviewers, we saw an ample supply of taxis. I would say that if you have a car or are planning to travel by taxi, then this hotel is fine for the money. However, if you plan to walk & use the subway, &/or are looking for a hotel where you can step outside & find a quaint bistro, then you might consider staying elsewhere.

Finally, we were in Brooklyn to visit the Pratt Institute. Trip Advisor indicated that this hotel was only 1.7 miles away, however that distance is based upon "air miles". The walk from Pratt was approximately 3 miles.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the rooftop as possible & away from the street level as it is very unattractive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HugADog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel had the good value and quality of what I expect from a Fairfield Inn - clean, good free breakfast, decent size room. The rooftop deck was neat. The best was the staff - very nice and helpful. I wish I could remember the name of the guy who checked me in because he was extremely helpful and nice. While there was a lot within walking distance, the few blocks around the hotel were a little rough. I'm not very familar with Brooklyn and I was only there two nights but I wouldn't have felt safe walking at night by myself to the hotel. I went out with a friend one night and was O.K. with the two of us but the next night I ordered in. I've stayed a lot of places in NY and not every area is "the best" but typically those areas are have high foot traffic and so it seems O.K. I feel like at this hotel the streets aren' tthe best and there are not a lot of people around, which is what made me uneasy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveshak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#17 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 73 in Brooklyn
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn

Address: 181 3rd Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: $138 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing