We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great new hotel reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I was in Brooklyn on business and booked this Fairfield. It was far from a typical Fairfield. As the website shows, it is very modern and almost European. Great location a few blocks from subway and bus stops. Staff will call a car if you need one. I stayed here two separate trips and had two different room types. One had a full vanity and bathtub, while the other had a smaller bathroom with a glass vanity over the sink and a glass enclosed shower. There is a managers reception on Wed nights (wine, beer, pasta), a Fairfield breakfast and a fantastic rooftop patio with furniture to sit in while watching the sunset. Rooms are small as are most in the City, but the price is far below Manhattan, just across the bridge. It is amidst warehouses, but I walked several blocks to a variety of restaurants. I will come back again when in Brooklyn.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    240
    58
    14
    17
See reviews for
218
128
29
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have found my new home base for visits to New York. This fantastic hotel is new and clean. The staff, from the front desk personnel to the cleaning staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms are decent sized with nice furniture and those incredibly comfortable Marriott beds. The bathroom is a touch small, with just a shower, toilet and smaller vanity. But there is plenty of shelf space for toiletries.

Don't forget to check out the rooftop patios with incredible views of city including the Verrazano bridge, the Statue of Liberty, the new Freedom Tower and the new Barclays Center.

Breakfast was nice, with plenty of options, including freshly made waffles. There is also a business center and workout room, which I didn't have an opportunity to use.

The surrounding area is mostly industrial, but safe even at night. There is a subway stop 4 blocks away (Union St. station on the R Train) providing easy access into Manhattan or to the LIRR Atlantic Terminal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
The staff and management @ the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Brooklyn would like to take this opportunity to say "Thank You" for taking the time to share your recent experience at Brooklyn's newest Marriott branded hotel. We sincerely appreciate your kind words regarding the service that our staff provided during your stay as well as your Exceptional Ratings for our Rooms and the Cleanliness of our rooms and hotel.

We are pleased that you were able to take advantage and enjoy many of the hotel's amenities including our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and our beautiful rooftop with its breathtaking views of the Brooklyn and Manhattan skylines.

We are so excited about our beautiful new hotel, our award winning staff and being a part of such an amazing community. There is so much new development and excitement in Brooklyn and we are ecstatic about being right in the middle of it all.

Thank you again for your loyalty to the Marriott family of hotels and the Fairfield Inn brand. We look forward to your next visit to your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Darren Piercey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Level Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

3 of us stayed for business and it was great, good location, the breakfast was ok but no bread or peanut butter but everything else was good. I love manager hour with the free beer and munchies. Parking was a little tight but we were fine with that as we parked and did some walking around and exploring. The check in was quick and painless.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laker0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We needed a reasonably priced hotel for 3 nights while my husband was in Brooklyn on business. The hotel is new, everything was very clean. The front desk staff was helpful and the housekeeping was excellent. The rooms were nice and the bed was very comfortable. I had read reviews complaining of the small vanity, but our bathroom had a glass shelf mounted above the vanity that gave us plenty of room for our toiletries. While my husband was working, I would walk approx 5-6 blocks to the subway and take it into Manhatten for the day. The neighborhood was mainly warehouses but I always felt safe walking both night and day. Nice selection of breakfast items to choose from.

Room Tip: Get directions from the staff and walk to Park Slope area. Lots of restaurants to choose from. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is quite new. It was very clean and fresh. The room we had was small but had everything we needed. Price I thought was good for area and being in NY
From our first conversation until we left everything was great. The staff were very friendly and informative. Parking is $25 and well worth it --very safe feel. The breakfast in the morning was great. It shuts off quite early 9a.m. but the young lady did not make us feel rushed at all. My only wish would have been a pool because it was extremely hot and that would have felt great at the end of our day.

Room Tip: nice views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jopadi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Good price & location - helpful staff - clean new (1-year) property. Even took one of their free bikes to Prospect Park on Sunday morning. We will stay there again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have spent 5 nights at the Marriott Fairfield Inn on 3rd Avenue in Brooklyn, NY in the "Park Slope" neighborhood. It is a jewel and a great place to stay. It has a contemporary decor, unlike any other Fairfield Inn we've seen. The hotel is just under 1 year old, and is in great condition. The beds are very comfortable. The hotel is kept immaculately clean. The complimentary breakfast is more than adequate. The front desk staffers are genuinely interested in making their guests happy, and the general manager (Darren, I think) is engaged on a regular basis. He was helping out at breakfast several mornings, and demonstrated a sincere commitment to service, cleanliness and responsiveness. The evening clerks, Sonna and Dennis, were EXCEPTIONAL in their interest in our comfort and satisfaction. They did far more than simply "doing their job." They went the "extra mile" several times. The rooftop terrace is a great place to sit and relax at night. The Statue of Liberty and the new WTC 1 tower can be seen in the distance in Manhattan. The new arena being built is just a few blocks away. Fifth Avenue (two blocks away) has numerous restaurants and eclectic shops to browse. The "Union Street" subway ("R" route) is about 4 blocks from the hotel, and is an easy walk. We RARELY give hotels top scores. This one earned them. If you need to be in this area of Brooklyn, or if you want to be near Manhattan but pay far less than the Manhattan hotels charge,you should check out this Fairfield Inn. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "03" may be smaller than some of the other rooms. The hotel has 12 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallyCat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#12 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#16 of 72 in Brooklyn
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Address: 181 3rd Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing