We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than its rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than its rating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated within a couple of blocks of the Nostrand Avenue A & C subway. Service to Manhattan is frequent and rapid. Also convenient to JFK. The hotel is located in a pretty down at heel area and you will walk past bags of rubbish on the short walk to the hotel from subway. If you're not too bothered by this, the hotel itself makes up for it. I have seen it rated as a 2.5 star, but it's much better than that. Bowl of fruit in lobby, free NY Times and USA Today, free breakfast of admittedly modest quality, free internet in room, coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Large TV with great choice of channels. Overall great value at the price. Friendly and helpful reception staff. I would avoid rooms overlooking street (Atlantic Avenue) as LIRR train passes by on overhead bridge and there can be a lot of other traffic noise also

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking out on Atlantic Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Appius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Appius,

Thank you for your candid review of the Best Western Arena Hotel. You made some great observations to share with fellow tripadvisor readers. Most importantly you liked the hotel and its amenities and you felt it offered good value. We consider ourselves a little oasis in a busy world around us. Please recommend us to all your friends and family.

We are close to the subway for Manhattan and JFK airport. The rooms facing the front of the hotel can be noisy especially if your from a rural area. Hey, this is NY, it going to be loud. All rooms offer a double window system to lessen any outside noise. We too wish our neighbors kept their properties as clean as we do. In time they will see how we do it right and flatter us by copying our style.

Sincerely

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    234
    70
    11
    22
See reviews for
181
171
54
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a nice, clean, comfortable hotel. The front desk, breakfast servers, valet and manager are very nice and helpful people who go out of their way to help with whatever you need. The only thing they can't help with is PARKING! This is a major issue if you have a car. There are 10 parking spaces for the whole hotel so when they say "limited parking" they mean limited! There is a parking lot nearby that charges $18/24 hrs. The neighborhood looks a little rough but I felt completely safe walking to a nearby grocery store and the subway station which is about 3 blocks away. If you aren't driving your car to New York, this is a nice hotel for the money. If you are driving, be sure to check out nearby parking garages in the event you don't get one of the 10 spots.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sherry4boys,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. I must say that your review is spot on. We do offer clean comfortable accommodations, have a super friendly staff and even serve a decent breakfast. Add that all up and we do offer good value for our guests.
You got it right, you will enjoy your stay much better without a car. We do not try and hide it, we have LIMITED parking so we often refer our guests to two nearby garages to handle our overflow. I too wish we could solve this problem. Might be a good investment opportunity for someone to open a parking lot since parking is in short supply. Im sorry if it took away from your overall enjoyment. I hope you would still consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

First, Shantile was really most helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay most pleasant. Now this hotel is close to the subway, very affordable, offers free WIFI and a delicious Continental breakfast. Parking is limited and could become a problem it the small lot in the back is full. I stayed with my wife for two nights and definitely felt very welcome from the staff. Great job!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Steven A,

Thank you very much for your glowing review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. I appreciate your recognizing Shantile as someone who went above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. We are happy she is part of our team. As a senior contributor with reviews in 21 cities you have a keen eye for value especially when you include free breakfast, wifi and parking in the price. Yes parking is our achilles heel because we do not have enough for every guest, it does present a challenge. Most importantly I glad we made you feel welcomed.
I hope you consider staying with us on future trips to the Brooklyn area.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdlae, Fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 7/21 thru7/24/14. The rooms are clean and hotel environment very quite. You need to be alert when outside of the hotel. Some of the surrounding areas are a bit rough but during the day we felt safe walking to the train. They serve a decent breakfast: fresh fruit, juice, coffee, pancakes, yogurt, cereal ... You get the idea. The staff was wonderful. They assisted us with directions and transportation. A special shout out to Cleopatra, Karishma, Jesus , Shantile, and Venetta. I would return just based on the service we received from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pioneer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Pioneer13,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Your comments
"A special shout out to Cleopatra, Karisma, Jesus , Shantile, and Venetta. I would return just based on the service we received from the staff" is the best compliment I could receive. Our staff truly are the heart and soul of this hotel and Im glad they made a difference during your visit.
We hope you do come back based on our service, It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemblesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I booked my husband here when he went to visit our daughter for a quick overnight.
Apparently he slept the best he has in a long time. The room was clean and comfortable, the hotel in general, very nice, even though the location was a bit strange. The hotel is newer and in a neighborhood in Brooklyn surrounded by factory and garage type buildings where you wouldn't expect to find a hotel.

Everything about his stay was nice except when he went to get breakfast in the morning, there was nothing but two English muffins left in the bin and a few pieces of fruit. Apparently the woman whose job it was to replenish the food was engaged in some kind of enthralling conversation with another woman that left her unable to do her job. While holding said conversation, she couldn't stop playing with the pats of butter meant for the food. She was just standing there the entire time my husband was waiting to see if she was going to put any more food out (around 9:30 am. Breakfast was supposed to be until 10) stacking and unstacking pats of butter and talking to her friend. While waiting, he realized that he forgot his phone in the room and went to retrieve it in the hopes that he might find the food restocked on his return. What he found instead, at 9:55, were locked doors to the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Don't plan on getting the breakfast you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Artsygirl,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Your review is kind of a tale of two hotels. It seems like the quality of sleep and overall comfort was high since he slept in late which are all positives. Then the breakfast experience was the last thing he experienced before checking out and left a bad impression with him. Our baked goods are ordered and delivered daily so our guests can have the freshest products each morning. At times we can run short of items especially close to the 10:00am closing time. I would expected my staff to greet you and let you know what the situation was but as you pointed out was too busy stacking butter. I would appreciate if you would email me directly at gm@arenahotelnyc.com and let me know what day of the week this was.

If you would be willing to give us a second chance is providing you with a more hospitable stay, free to contact me for assistance and I will ensure a more enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We found this place on the internet, and booked it since it was close to where our son lives in Brooklyn.
The place was clean and modern, with great service. The neighborhood looks rough, but we felt safe walking at night to catch a train (about two blocks away).
The highlight was the staff, all of whom were friendly and accommodating. The night we checked in, we arrived weary and late, and the girl working (Liana) offered us water and snacks from the breakfast room.
We stayed 4 nights, and I will definitely book there again on my next trip to NY!

Room Tip: We were told to request a room toward the back, since the Long Island RR runs past the hotel. We di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Julie S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. We are delighted to read that you came across us on the internet and the hotel is located near your sons home in Brooklyn. Im even more pleased that Liana took the time to offer you something to eat after such a late arrival. I will be happy to share this with her and she will be grateful for your recognition of her caring service.

We are entering our fourth year of welcoming guests to Brooklyn and have recently installed new paving stone to our main hotel entry and LED blue up lighting to enhance our curb appeal. We hope all guests including you Julie S when you return like the new look and consider us your home away from home during your visits to Brooklyn.

Once again thank you for your review and for choosing the Best Western Arena Hotel.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

It's not easy to find a reasonably priced hotel in Brooklyn, but we did! We were visiting our son for a few days so needed something semi close to him. The staff is extremely professional and friendly! We've been in other hotels where the staff treats you like you're a bother to them. Upon check in the young lady actually had a shower nozzle to show us how to work it! I would not have known if she hadn't shown me. Can not say enough about the staff. The room was a very comfortable size by NYC standards and very clean. The bed was comfortable. Fridge and microwave with a flat screen TV. The bathroom was again larger than expected and very clean. I felt like we were the only ones in the hotel. I couldn't hear any outside noise. The included breakfast was your typical breakfast fare with no complaints. The only caveat is parking. But that's how it is in NYC area. The hotel has about eight spots behind it. Good luck getting one. They do offer a garage around the corner, $9 for 12 hours. We found a spot on the next block in front of some brownstones at 9:00pm.... so don't let the parking deter you.... you'll figure it out. I highly recommend this place..... wait a minute forget all I said.... there might not be a room available when I need one!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlcnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear vlcnmom,

Thank you so much for your detailed report about your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. As a senior reviewer fellow readers can expect an honest recap of your visit. We are delighted you found us to be a bargin. Especially with all the little extras like friendly service, decent sized bathroom and quiet accommodations. I assure you we were near 100% occupancy during your stay so it is rewarding to know noise was not a factor.
I see you were visiting your son who lives in Brooklyn and we would love for you to consider us your home away from home during your visits with him. Our limited parking is certainly a challenge during summer months yet you found the parking garage or street parking viable options.

Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Arena Hotel.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#11 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#14 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
1.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#12 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing