We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
281
281
78
12
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
281
78
12
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong island railroadelevated traintrain noisefridge and microwavefree parkingnice hotelnew yorkcrown heightsbreakfast roomatlantic avenueparking is limitedsubway stationfree breakfastconvenient locationbed stuybrooklyn museumvisiting brooklyn
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 676 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a great hotel with a wonderful staff. Reasonably priced, close to where we needed to be, clean and comfortable, good breakfast. Shantile in particular was super friendly -- when we checked in and every time we walked through the lobby!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Christine M

Thank you for your candid review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Im delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning Shantile's friendly service during check in and every time you walked through the lobby. As a manager I never get tired of hearing about my employees making guests feel welcomed. I have shared your comments with her and she is humbled you mentioned her.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is a great value. The area is the only cause for concern; however, the subway is three blocks away, so easy access to attractions. The staff - Shantile in particular - we cannot say enough about her helpfulness and generosity. She went above and beyond for us daily, mapping each days visit for us to help kept us unlist and giving hints and tips for visiting Manhattan. The rooms are great, clean, big for nyc. Breakfast was very good, lots of choices. But we would stay here again because Shantile has made us a loyal customer.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidandtjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Davidandtjmac,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Judging by your comments we exceeded your expectations during your stay and one employee in particular made that happen. Thank you for mentioning Shantiles' willingness to go the extra mile to see to it that you had accurate travel information and that she was always helpful. Being a smaller hotel my staff can spend a few extra minutes with our guests and help create memorable experiences along the way. Im glad Shantile has made you a loyal customer.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

All in all we liked this place. It is not fancy but is certainly better than some of the other basic hotels in the area. Front office staff was warm and welcoming. The complimentary breakfast was certainly more substantial than the other local hotels. They have free parking on the premises which is a big plus. While we would probably go back to this hotel on our next trip to Brooklyn there are 2 minuses: housekeeping didn't check or clean the dresser after the previous occupants vacated so we found all their clothing and dirty laundry in the drawers (the front desk staff immediately remedied the situation); also this hotel has adopted the sad practice of shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers in the shower rather than providing individually wrapped/bottled amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan17584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Alan17584,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Being a Top Contributor on Tripadvisor people can trust your comments and expect a very accurate report. Im delighted to read you enjoyed the friendly staff and the better than expected breakfast. Although short on parking spaces it appears you were able to secure a spot during your visit. I am equally sad to read we did a poor job of inspecting your room prior to your arrival. On behalf of my staff please accept our sincere apologies for our lack of attention to details. I am also sorry you do not approve of our shower dispenser. This tool helps us cut down on using those plastic bottlesand by using PAYA organic bio-degradeable gels and shampoos though we were helping the environment by using this delivery method.

In closing we hope the good outweighed the bad and would welcome you to come stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My hat is off to LuLu, Cleo and Shantile. Everyone else were good too but these ladies went above and beyond. The hotel was fine for a mid priced hotel. The experience was good. However the area after dark was concerning. After dark we saw numerous rats on the street eating the trash and neighborhood felt dangerous, it was fine during the day just be smart. So if your not a night person this hotel would be good for you but the area needs serious help. Thanks ladies for making our stay comfortable, vic and cricket

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Charlotte V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. I truly appreciate you recognizing Lulu, Cleo and Shantile as employees who went out of their way to make you feel at home during your visit. Being a smaller hotel we can often take a few extra minutes with our guests and provide stellar service.
Im sorry the neighborhood took away from your overall experience. We strive to be a positive role model for businesses to follow and see that they can suceed by relocating into a changing environment. We have little control outside the hotel but inside we promised and delivered a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is great for the price. The staff were super helpful, allowed me to check in early (as soon as they could) which I really appreciated, and the amenities were great. Free wi-fi in room, stacks of tv channels, free breakfast (lots of baked goods so if you can't eat them then you might find it a bit limited, although there was also pieces of fruit and yogurt), comfy bed and clean room. I was on the second floor facing the street so it was a bit noisy (there is a train that goes past and also the hotel is on a main road) so if that will bother you, request a higher floor and at the back of the hotel. My room had double glazing so I didn't find it bothered me. You are only 2 blocks from the subway to Manhattan (or Coney Island) from here. Also, if you venture further south into Brooklyn, there are some lovely little bars and shops. Once you get off Atlantic Ave, walking around is a really nice experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Leah S,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. As an international traveler we appreciate your honesty about the hotel and our services. You are quite correct within 10 minutes from the hotel there are many sections that offer quaint restaurants, bars and shops which makes Brooklyn a great destination by itself. Then to add a 20 minute subway ride brings you into the tourist mecca of Manhattan. Its like the best of both worlds which added value to your trip. Don't know when or if you would travel to NY again, but we would certainly welcome you back anytime.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews