We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but rough area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great staff but rough area”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My hat is off to LuLu, Cleo and Shantile. Everyone else were good too but these ladies went above and beyond. The hotel was fine for a mid priced hotel. The experience was good. However the area after dark was concerning. After dark we saw numerous rats on the street eating the trash and neighborhood felt dangerous, it was fine during the day just be smart. So if your not a night person this hotel would be good for you but the area needs serious help. Thanks ladies for making our stay comfortable, vic and cricket

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Charlotte V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. I truly appreciate you recognizing Lulu, Cleo and Shantile as employees who went out of their way to make you feel at home during your visit. Being a smaller hotel we can often take a few extra minutes with our guests and provide stellar service.
Im sorry the neighborhood took away from your overall experience. We strive to be a positive role model for businesses to follow and see that they can suceed by relocating into a changing environment. We have little control outside the hotel but inside we promised and delivered a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    241
    70
    12
    22
See reviews for
191
176
55
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is great for the price. The staff were super helpful, allowed me to check in early (as soon as they could) which I really appreciated, and the amenities were great. Free wi-fi in room, stacks of tv channels, free breakfast (lots of baked goods so if you can't eat them then you might find it a bit limited, although there was also pieces of fruit and yogurt), comfy bed and clean room. I was on the second floor facing the street so it was a bit noisy (there is a train that goes past and also the hotel is on a main road) so if that will bother you, request a higher floor and at the back of the hotel. My room had double glazing so I didn't find it bothered me. You are only 2 blocks from the subway to Manhattan (or Coney Island) from here. Also, if you venture further south into Brooklyn, there are some lovely little bars and shops. Once you get off Atlantic Ave, walking around is a really nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Leah S,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. As an international traveler we appreciate your honesty about the hotel and our services. You are quite correct within 10 minutes from the hotel there are many sections that offer quaint restaurants, bars and shops which makes Brooklyn a great destination by itself. Then to add a 20 minute subway ride brings you into the tourist mecca of Manhattan. Its like the best of both worlds which added value to your trip. Don't know when or if you would travel to NY again, but we would certainly welcome you back anytime.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you want to or need to stay in Brooklyn, this is a very good choice. The hotel is fairly new, clean, comfortable, friendly staff, included continental breakfast. The neighborhood is old, but seems to be in process of renovation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank patriciasZ9468XQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear patriciasZ9468XQ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. In your review you hit all the important points fellow travelers would want to know. Im delighted to read you enjoyed a clean comfortable room and that our staff were freindly. As for the neighborhood there is a lot going on. The area is still afforable for the new crop of urban professionals to move into and with that the neighborhood will continue to expand to meet the needs of these new arrivals.
We are happy to welcome you back anytime.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I would like to thank Best Western Plus Arena Hotel and especially LuLu for her being an excellent employee and illustrating her professional skills during my sister ( Reyna and Daryl) visit to New York
City.

Room Tip: comfortable, great location in brooklyn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Refugio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Refugio R,

Thank you so much for your kind words about one of our associates Lulu who helped make your sisters stay more enjoyable. Its special moments like this that keeps our guests coming back time after time. I have shared your comments with her and she's grining from ear to ear.
We welcome her back anytime.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Best Western Plus Arena Hotel at 1324 Atlantic Avenue in Brooklyn, NY-What we enjoy the most is the friendly service, great breakfast selections and very clean and cozy beds!
Maria W. and Genevieve W.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Maria W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Arena Hotel. Im delighted to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, great breakfast and cozy beds. Please keep us in mind on future trips to Brooklyn.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We are a family of four on vacation, showing New York's finest attractions for the first time to our two boys. I booked this hotel through Best Western website well in advance with a great price for 5 nights. New York is a tricky city for hotels: rooms are always smaller and older and they charge you an arm and a leg. The room we had, two double beds, was small but nice. Comfortable beds, very clean everywhere, and three minutes walk to the subway. Free parking and breakfast are worth gold in NYC. Speaking of breakfast, we thought there was lot of choice, so everyone had something they liked. Coffee was bad, though. It is true that the neighborhood is a bit intimidating at first, but we got used to it and we never felt threatened: it was like walking in a NY 70's movie. The two best features of this hotel are the reasonable price and the staff who are extremely friendly and helpvul.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Volasi,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay at the Best Western Plus Arena Hotel. As a senior reviewer fellow Tripadvisor readers trust and respect your reviews and Im glad to read you had a pleasent experience while staying at our hotel.
We appreciate you mentioning we provided you with free breakfast and parking which provided you with value. We are convenient to the subway and yes we are a little off the tourist area. I love your reference to the 70's movie set but you never felt unsafe which is a hugh plus.
We hope you enjoyed all the New York and Brooklyn had to offer, if not we look forward to seeing you on future trips back the the Best Western Arena Hotel.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is a good value by NYC standards. Convenient location to A,C trains and LIRR. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Facility itself is not up to prior BW Plus experiences. Rooms very small (but it's NYC after all), furnishings and carpeting worn. Fitness room is substandard. very minimal equipment, no towels or water or remote control for TV. Breakfast mediocre. But we enjoyed our weeklong stay at this hotel due to the wonderful staff and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear 963patrickc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western PLus Arena Hotel. We appreciate you mentioning the highlights of your trip were meeting our friendly staff and having a convenient location to public transportation. I am sorry we fell short in our room size including our fitness room and mediorce breakfast.

Based on the other Best Western properties you visited and reviewed I would say they have a space advantage over us. In New York we can only build up so we try and maximize our floor plan as best possible. Sorry you felt breakfast was mediorce too. Thats dissapointing since we provide a variety of freshly baked pastries, yogurts, oatmeal, pancakes and bacon egg cheese sandwiches which usually appeals to most guests. We always look to add new items to our breakfast menu and currently looking into breakfast burritos, specialty gourmet breads as an option.
We appreciate your loyalty to Best Western and would look forward to having your return on future visits to Brooklyn.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
214 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#16 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,047 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arena Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing