We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean and pricey (welcome to NYC)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simple, clean and pricey (welcome to NYC)”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed solo during a week working in NY.

Great for a solo trip, but I believe the rooms are a bit small for couples.

it is pricey, but not as expensive as staying in Manhattan.

Cleopatra, one of the front-desk clerks, was really sweet and helpful.

The location is kinda seedy. The building is right in front of an elevated train/metro station.

Breakfast is limited. There are delis 1 block away with better options.

The laundry around the corner was really useful.

1 to 2 blocks away from some fast food (Checkers, McDonald's).

1 block away from the subway - line C I guess.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Kingflip,

Thank you for sharing your review with fellow Tripadvisor travellers about the BW Arena Hotel. Being a senior reviewer people respect your honest feedback.

Thank you for mentioning Cleopatra as being sweet and helpful. Since your visit in March 2013 Cleopatra has been promoted to Front Office Manager due to her outstanding service. We have made several changes to our breakfast like adding fresh fruit, new pastries and donuts which seems to please most guests.

San Paolo is a long way from Brooklyn but if you decide to come back to New York we would love for you to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    242
    70
    12
    22
See reviews for
191
176
55
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Visiting daughter who lives nearby hotel. Clean/comfortable/quiet two night stay. Large HD cable TV. Bathroom was clean and up-to-date. King size bed was very comfortable. Attentive and friendly staff. Hotel is located near subway stops. Included breakfast choices were adequate for our tastes. Beware that hotel free parking is very limited!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank pappadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Pappadan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow Tripadvisor travelers. Judging by your comments the hotel, our amenities and our staff met your expectations during your stay. We hope you will contnue to make the BW Arena hotel your "home away from home" while visiting your daugther. True our free parking is extremely limited, yet when we are full we have two garages within 2 blocks of the hotel we can refer guests too.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The proof of ones enjoyment in a hotel is whether one goes back. I believe this is now my 5 th stay at this hotel. The staff and service are excellent. Even though it has been a year, teh staff remebers me and my family - how much better could it be than that?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Judy C,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Im glad to hear we made a memorable impression on you being recognized as a repeat guest. Being a smaller hotel, we often can spend more time with our guests building "heart connections" We know there are many hotels in Brooklyn to choose from so we greatly appreciate your loyalty to us and we look forward to you next trip to your "home away from home" the Best Western Plus Arena Hotel.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was affordable price but I got more than what I've paid for.
I was amazed that the room has a coffee maker, TV, Ipod deck, desk, and even a fridge and a microwave. Bathroom was fair size and very clean. It even has a bathrobe. How thoughtful!
Ladies at front desk were kind, too. I didn't like its neighbor that much, but it's convineint location.
I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Daram L,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know we not only met but exceeded your expectations during your stay at the BW Arena Hotel. Were glad to know all the ameneties you mentioned added value to your stay and the bathrobe put us over the top. No one expects that at a Best Western. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness of my staff. Being a smaller hotel we can spend a few extra minutes giving directions, making recommendations and simply connecting with our guests. We hope you do give us another chance to create some more memorable moments on future visits. Happy New Year.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This Hotel is a great Location for a night at the Barclay Arena. Unreal with the service full of attention,Really clean and a great continental breakfast. Would go back anytime Get a room in the back the local Metro runs in the front!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your favorable review of your stay at the BW Arena Hotel. We appreciate you highlighting the great service you received from the staff. We are not too far from the Barclay Center either by train or car service. We do have a pretty good breakfast to start your day and clean and comfortable rooms to welcome you back after a day in the Big Apple.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Excellent facilities, neighborhood is a tad rough, but the hotel atmosphere makes you forget where you are and feel safe & secure. Fantastic staff who are very accommodating.. Highly recommend for your stay..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank @uGuSto0130 D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear @uGusto0130D,

Wow what a user name! Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at the BW Arena Hotel. We cant change too much about our location but once your inside the hotel, our friendly staff and clean accommodations makes you forget about the outside world and provides an oasis after a long day of sightseeing or work. Thank you for keying in on that important fact. We look forward to welcoming you back on future trips to Brooklyn.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were visiting our niece in Brooklyn and travelling with grandchildren. Everything was great. Would definitely stay again. Very close to subway. We will recommend this hotel for extended family members that will be visiting in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Suzanne G,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences during your visit to the BW Arena Hotel. Im delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and your visit to NYC. The "Big Apple" is a great place to visit during the holidays.We would certainly appreciate you telling your friends and family about us.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
214 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arena Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing