We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking Drama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Parking Drama”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you do not need to park your car this place is very good. But. if, like us, you dive in to town to go to a wedding that might run late, the lack of any guaranteed parking is a show stopper! When we returned at midnight we were told to drive around Brooklyn looking for on the street parking. The desk clerk allowed us to park on the sidewalk but told us they have 10 spaces for 56 rooms. Motel means Motor (car) Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Roger,

Thank you for taking the time to post your views about your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Im sorry the limited parking was a deal breaker for you and that only after driving around getting more frustrated did our desk clerk allow you to park in front of the hotel on the sidewalk. I am working with the entire staff to have them think outside the box and make smart decisions immediately. Had they done so we could have received a more favorable review.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    243
    72
    12
    22
See reviews for
193
178
55
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great hotel with parking in good location. Close to subways and shops. The self-serve breakfast is great. As a single woman travelling alone, I like the 24 hour security, taxi service and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and have microwaves and refrigerators - pretty much has everything you need. I travel to NY a few times a year and it's the place I always stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeCeeYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you SInglegal2012 for your detailed review of your stay at the BW Arena Hotel. As a single female traveler I'm glad to see our staff, location and security provided you with a sense of peace during your visit. We are close to public transportation and some cool eating establishement along Nostrand Ave.
We look forward to welcoming you back on future trips to this slice of the Big Apple know as Brooklyn NY.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great hotel with free parking in Brooklyn mixed neighborhood. Staff very friendly and helpful. Taxi or car service fast and easy. Curb appeal does not suggest the clean and well appointed rooms within. 24 hour security in lobby. Nice parking lot behind hotel. Close to downtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it. Our neighborhood as in all neighborhoods in New York City is changing. There are new developments and shops opening up on a daily basis. With the opening of the Barclay Center a short distance away we expect more developments and shops opening in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was in NY for my anniversary and stayed here for 3 days. My first impression of the neighborhood was disappointing but this hotel is the one blooming flower in the area.

After a short 3-5 min walk from the Nordstrand subway station, check- in was fast and easy. The staff was courteous and informative when I had questions about what's in the area.

I was able to get a good nights' sleep every night I was there. The continental breakfast was good. It was a decent sized room and bathroom. Very clean! The fridge's thermostat knob was broken; after a call from the front desk, they came and fixed it right away.

Overall, the area is in a convenient location, the hotel staff and room was great, and I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Edia35,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear you choose to celebrate your anniversary with us. Our neighborhood is in transition yet Im glad to hear that once you stepped inside the hotel your experience changed for the better. Our goal is to provide comfortable accommodations, friendly service and an enjoyable continental breakfast to start your day. Judging by your comments it seems we did just that.
Please keep us in mind if future trips bring you back to the Brooklyn area.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very courteous and helpful staff. Difficult to find a nicer hotel in this area unless you pay quite a bit more. Not fancy outside or in the lobby (clean, though) but the room was very nice, clean and comfortable. There are a couple of well-reviewed B&Bs but they book up so fast! Be sure to check my "tip" below!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an upper level room in the back, where it is much more quiet. The train line r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is good as right on Atlantic Avenue. No parking but if you need to leave the car overnight and park late and leave early it can work as yu can park immediatly outside the hotel for short periods overnight. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room OK, bathroom fine,really apart from the noise from people up and down the corridor all night it was OK. I just think as it was OK and not good or great I would not want to spend many nights there but absolutly fine for a 1 night stop and would be happy to use it again for that purpose just think I, personally, would prefer another hotel for a longer stay. But if on a budget and need to be in that area it is fine and wouldnt want to put anyone off as the 1 night stay for me is just my personal preferrence of what I like to normally stay in

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_happy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it. Our neighborhood as in all neighborhoods in New York City is changing. There are new developments and shops opening up on a daily basis. With the opening of the Barclay Center a short distance away we expect more developments and shops opening in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#18 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arena Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing