We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cool Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel was good, a little pricey but what isnt in NY the beds were comfortable & the room was clean. View wasnt that great but the area doesnt really have attractions your in the center of the "hood" lol we weren't uncomfortable but you wouldn't of caught us walking at night alone. There is security (one guard) so atleast there is someone around in the event something occurs. Overall our stay was pleasant, we did not eat any breakfast or get a chance to use the amendities. My suggestions: build bigger parking lot, its only about 6-8 spaces which fill up pretty quickly for a hotel with many floors, we had to park around the corner one evening. They should also add door stoppers to the doors they slam hard and loudly when guest enter & leave their rooms which can be annoying when sleeping or watching tv. The hotel is in walking distance of stores so if you need something you dont have to go far. I would stay here again, it was a decent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyView322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We couldn't have said it better! Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home. Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    218
    68
    11
    20
See reviews for
166
163
51
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was lovely in itself but unless your a martial arts expert I would try to avoid. I travelled with my step-son for his 18th birthday treat & we stayed for 4 nights in total. We were not really there much to be honest, spending most of our time in Manhattan. The staff were very friendly & helpful, even drying our drenched clothes free of charge. The breakfast is pretty basic, being only continental but I guess most New Yorkers eat out. The waffles however are delicious!

My advice is this: Don't make eye contact with anyone loitering around and outside the hotel, be back before dark and carry a baseball bat! Having said this, we were fine, just intimidated really.

The subway is the best way to get in to Manhattan from this hotel as it is quite a walk.. as we found out on the first day, hence the wet clothes!!

All in all the hotel was fine but I won't be staying here again and that is purely due to it's location!

Room Tip: Whichever room you get you will still get tram line noise but this is New York after all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemuffinmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it. Our neighborhood as in all neighborhoods in New York City is changing. There are new developments and shops opening up on a daily basis. With the opening of the Barclay Center a short distance away we expect more developments and shops opening in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lourmarin, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel offered everything you would expect for the price. The rooms were large enough, the service was very good and very friendly. It's a run- down neighborhood, nut not threatening. There is an excellent French patisserie/boulangerie just around the corner on Nostrand, called BienVenu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph and Eliz... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I can recommend this hotel for the low coast and the good quality – you get plenty of comfort for your money! The staff is also nice and I was happy with the breakfast, standard of the room, and the internet connection. So considering only the hotel good work guys!

However, the area has some rougher edges. I generally don’t mind drunken people and urban living but some of the things I overheard walking in the neighborhood was intimidating. I guess if you stay on the avenues you’re safe but don’t wander into some of the side streets.

Overall, if you’re used to urban areas with an edge I’m sure you will be very happy with your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We couldn't have said it better! Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home. Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Yes the hotel is new. Rooms are SMALL but clean and fully equipped. Breakfast is good and the internet works well. It is two or so blocks from an express subway stop. However the area the hotel is in is very bad and downright scary at night (and we are used to depressed areas). Not sure it is dangerous, however it is quite uncomfortable. The unfortunate underbelly of the elusive American dream, very sad. I think in the future I would pay a bit more and get a slightly less new hotel in a better part of town. Also there is a tendency to have some party animals staying at the hotel which can be noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

As well as making the hotel affordable, staying in Brooklyn gave us a great feel for New York as lived by 'ordinary' people. At first sight the area looks run down but a little exploration led us to streets with fantastic buildings and good local eateries and shops. Everyone we met was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room in the hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine and the staff in the dining room ensured constant fresh supplies. The metro was 5 minutes walk away so it was easy to get into the heart of Manhattan. It was easy to get to and from the interstates and we were early enough to secure a parking space so bringing a car to New York was made easy for us. A hotel to be recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank You! We couldn't have said it better! Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home. Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean, comfortable room with the usual amenities. Pleasant but not outstanding breakfast included. No vending machines. "Limited free on-site parking" means first-come first-served. Paid parking garage one block away. About the location: this is not Cliff Huxtable's Brooklyn, with lovely tree-lined streets and venerable brownstones. The Long Island Railroad runs along Atlantic Avenue, so the hotel is literally overshadowed by the tracks. No retail here. Many will think this is a rough neighborhood, especially at night, but I made the two-block trek to and from the subway station (A & C) many times and at all hours with no problems. LIRR is literally outside the hotel's front door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our BEST WESTERN PLUS - ARENA HOTEL. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it. -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
#7 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#16 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#21 of 69 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing