We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$236
$219
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Jolie(Brooklyn)
$253
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
$225
$180
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$243
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
NU Hotel(Brooklyn)
$267
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$255
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$333
$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$233
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$204
$163
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveler rating
275
278
78
12
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
278
78
12
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong island railroadelevated traintrain noisefridge and microwavefree parkingnice hotelnew yorkcrown heightsbreakfast roomatlantic avenueparking is limitedfree breakfastsubway stationconvenient locationbed stuybrooklyn museumvisiting brooklyn
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 667 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here a few months ago in October, and as October is a nutso tourist month in NYC, there weren't many choices. This one was the cheapest that didn't look rat-infested - cheap, obviously, being a subjective word when we're talking about New York.

Look - it's in a shabby neighborhood. There's no getting around it. It's right under the El tracks, sandwiched between abandoned-looking buildings and across the street from some only-semi-abandoned looking buildings. The walk from the subway to the hotel is a short one, but it will not fill you with confidence. The hotel, however, looks like it was pulled out of a ritzier neighborhood and plopped down in an arbitrary place. Much nicer than the surroundings!

About the neighborhood, though? It's only "scary" if you get particularly nervous around people with less money than you. There isn't anything actually worrying going on (though admittedly the latest I was out and about was about 1:30 AM), there are lots of lights and there were always plenty of people milling around. These included women and children - always a good sign. If you ARE uncomfortable hanging out below the poverty line, though, you may have a tough time. The subway rides are particularly interesting! Really though, if anything it's a good way to see the "real" New York.

The hotel itself is great. Nice sized rooms with modern amenities, very nice bathroom, your average free hotel cold buffet breakfast. Our room was facing the rear, so I couldn't tell you whether or not the train noise was a problem.

If I have one complaint, it's that the breakfast room didn't have enough seating. Out of three mornings, my girlfriend and I were only able to sit at a table once. Probably less of an issue outside of peak season!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cptrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It continues to be an excellent place to stay and the best value in the City. The hotel is about a year and a half old, the rooms are on the slightly small side but more than adequate. Each room is equipped with a mini fridge and microwave oven. In addition it has a i-home clock radio/music player as well as a flat screen TV. The bathrooms are tile and very moden. The entire hotel is very clean and modern. The hotel provides free wi-fi that works very well, and an above average free breakfast in an uncrowded breakfast room with a free morning paper.

This trip I had a room facing the rear of the hotel and found it pretty quiet. Rooms that face the front of the hotel can be quite loud due to the Long Island Railroad that has an elevated track/station right in front of the hotel. The hotel is two blocks from the subway station for the A (express) and C (local) line. It is about a 30 min trip using the A line to uptown locations like Times Square.

As mentioned by almost everyone the hotel is not in the best looking neighborhood. However, after two stays and walking the neighborhood day and night (even late night) by myself I would not have the slightest concern about it. It may look scary to some but is really very safe and well patrolled by NYPD.

In short if you want to save a lot of money and dont mind a short trip to get downtown/uptown this is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: If possible avoid rooms that face the front of the hotel, the LIRR tracks can be very loud.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsguyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the end of February to attend a wedding. They offered us great rates and were withing a 5-10 minute drive to the wedding which was located in Crown Heights. The room was very nice and the bed so very comfortable I hated to get up. The staff helped us to get transportation to various places we needed to go and also was always greeted us nicely and sincerely. We loved the hotel - the only thing I would make people aware of is that the neighborhood is trying to revitalize so there are some empty buildings so walking at night I would not recommend. During the day we walked around the area and enjoyed seeing the various ethnic stores and food in the area. I would stay there again if I had to do business or attend another function in the same area. I liked that we could open the window for fresh air instead of having to use the AC all the time. They had a complimentary breakfast in the mornings but we always slept in past it and on the day we left, the staff opened up early so we could get something to eat on the ride to the airport. When the staff called for a cab they got us the rate and that is exactly what we paid. Just make sure if you travel out of Brooklyn and need a cab back that the driver you stop will take you where you want to go not all cabbies are that nice. It took about 20 minutes with traffic to get to Time Square and we spent the entire day there. So if you want a friendly staff, a clean room with comfortable beds and descent rates this is where I would go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitty14221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional guest experience. Thank you for sharing with us about our staff and bed. We hope to see you again to provide you with an exceptional level of service and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I've stayed at this property a couple of times for over night business trips. It's very clean and mordern for the average hotel. The staff is friendly and they point out all the amenities the hotel has to offer. Coat tailing on Robert W's review, it is located in a rough neighbourhood right next to the LIRR Nostrand Ave Station. If you get a room assign right opposite to the station, I am sure you will hear when the trains roll in. There is not much restaurants in the area you might want to have a nice sit down dinner. Lots of fast food in the area (mainly West Indian cusine). If looking for a pharmacy, there is none in the area if you need your everyday toiletries. The rooms are very clean and mordern. It's more of an over night stay more then an extended one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyboi011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Thank you for sharing this experience with us. We truly value you feedback with regards to our staff and area. We hope to see you again in the future and to impress you with the continued improvements we make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Good value and pleasant staff make this a good choice. While the neighborhood is kind of rough and not for everyone, the subway is only 2 blocks away. Manhattan is less than 30 minutes away by subway. I ate at a nice Japanese fast food restaurant 1/2 block away. Lots of other places to eat are nearby, including Indian, Chinese, and a KFC. Everything is neat and clean, if not new. Breakfast is a little better than what you expect.

Room Tip: My 5th floor room was nice. The elevators are quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

We appreciate the comments, especially with regards to your opinion of our staff and breakfast. We hope to see you again and that you'll truly be impressed with our continued improvements.We hope you'll return someday to see how we are continuously taking our constructive feedback seriously to better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews