We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel In A Revitalizing Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel In A Revitalizing Neighborhood”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the end of February to attend a wedding. They offered us great rates and were withing a 5-10 minute drive to the wedding which was located in Crown Heights. The room was very nice and the bed so very comfortable I hated to get up. The staff helped us to get transportation to various places we needed to go and also was always greeted us nicely and sincerely. We loved the hotel - the only thing I would make people aware of is that the neighborhood is trying to revitalize so there are some empty buildings so walking at night I would not recommend. During the day we walked around the area and enjoyed seeing the various ethnic stores and food in the area. I would stay there again if I had to do business or attend another function in the same area. I liked that we could open the window for fresh air instead of having to use the AC all the time. They had a complimentary breakfast in the mornings but we always slept in past it and on the day we left, the staff opened up early so we could get something to eat on the ride to the airport. When the staff called for a cab they got us the rate and that is exactly what we paid. Just make sure if you travel out of Brooklyn and need a cab back that the driver you stop will take you where you want to go not all cabbies are that nice. It took about 20 minutes with traffic to get to Time Square and we spent the entire day there. So if you want a friendly staff, a clean room with comfortable beds and descent rates this is where I would go.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty14221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    236
    70
    11
    22
See reviews for
186
171
54
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I've stayed at this property a couple of times for over night business trips. It's very clean and mordern for the average hotel. The staff is friendly and they point out all the amenities the hotel has to offer. Coat tailing on Robert W's review, it is located in a rough neighbourhood right next to the LIRR Nostrand Ave Station. If you get a room assign right opposite to the station, I am sure you will hear when the trains roll in. There is not much restaurants in the area you might want to have a nice sit down dinner. Lots of fast food in the area (mainly West Indian cusine). If looking for a pharmacy, there is none in the area if you need your everyday toiletries. The rooms are very clean and mordern. It's more of an over night stay more then an extended one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyboi011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Good value and pleasant staff make this a good choice. While the neighborhood is kind of rough and not for everyone, the subway is only 2 blocks away. Manhattan is less than 30 minutes away by subway. I ate at a nice Japanese fast food restaurant 1/2 block away. Lots of other places to eat are nearby, including Indian, Chinese, and a KFC. Everything is neat and clean, if not new. Breakfast is a little better than what you expect.

Room Tip: My 5th floor room was nice. The elevators are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We actually went on our honeymoon. I realized before we left that the reason why people pick things like a cruise for their honeymoon is because they are half the price of going to a city like NYC. However, this is what we wanted so we had to make it work! If you are familiar with NYC, you quickly realize that although the neigborhood is not pretty, it is actually quite safe. We got lost from the station to the hotel (Its Nostram on the A or C line btw), it was 11:00pm and people were friendly and kind, they helped us quickly find our way.
We had no problem with the area. Also, it´s not 10 minutes walking from the station....it´s actually more like 5 minutes!!! The room was big, super clean, comfy bed...the breakfast was consistent and good quality and the service was great. Considering that our option for the same price was a dirty, small, shared bathroom hotel in Manhattan, we are confident we made the right choice!

Room Tip: As for one away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luisa231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night visiting from Chicago for a funeral. It is definitely an up an coming area. They have available parking with a friendly staff and the hotel was very clean. The facility was very secure and we felt safe the entire time. The free breakfast was decent and added value to the already cheap hotel rate. Our room was spotless and we enjoyed the 42" TV with many channels to choose from. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and would for sure come back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The front desk is rude and unresponsive to guests needs. They don't care about repeat business. They are there just to take your money this time round. The area around the hotel really bad. Your are taking your chances if you book there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler0001Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is relatively new, not perfectly located unless you need to be in that neighborhood, but it is very clean, well appointed and well staffed.

Subway only a couple of blocks away, restaurants in the area are at best OK. All in all - I will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter8061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,043 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arena Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing