We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not in a good area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not in a good area.”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The front desk is rude and unresponsive to guests needs. They don't care about repeat business. They are there just to take your money this time round. The area around the hotel really bad. Your are taking your chances if you book there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler0001Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    235
    70
    11
    23
See reviews for
184
172
54
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is relatively new, not perfectly located unless you need to be in that neighborhood, but it is very clean, well appointed and well staffed.

Subway only a couple of blocks away, restaurants in the area are at best OK. All in all - I will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter8061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is an excellent hotel. It is very clean and well maintained. Also very nice and personable employees. The continental breakfast is standard, but enough.
The ONLY drawback is the neighborhood that the hotel is in. It seems like it is in the middle of the ghetto that seems to be rising up. I really hope so, the area has a lot of promise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckInWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We just came back from 3 nights at the Best Western Arena. The hotel is brand new and has good size rooms, very clean, with comfortable beds, free parking and breakfast included. All in all, a good deal for the price. It is located in front of the train tracks but it didn't bother us at all. The noise was not that bad. The area however is truly dreadful. Scary even. And this is from a girl who has travelled on her own in the slums of Hanoi. Even at 10 am in the morning, we were very nervous walking from the hotel to the subway, which was about two or three blocks away. Unfriendly people, streetwalkers and drunks hanging around at every hour of the day. This was my seventh visit to NYC but my first time staying in Brooklyn but you can bet that I will never make this mistake again. Even to save some money, it wasn't worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one with a king size bed; they're all located in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Was staying at a friends place in Brooklyn and needed to move to a hotel. Found this surprisingly affordable place via Hotel Tonight. Was worried that with the price I'd be diving into a less than ideal hotel but found the rooms to be clean, big beds, Direct TV, included breakfast and free wifi. Great find in Brooklyn!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizaboo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

What a great find. Cheaper then anything else around so I was a bit Leary. BUT, I was surprised to find this was a great "newish" hotel in the heart of the city that met or exceeded all typical Best Western standards. I had a king size bed In my room with all the other standards, flat screen TV (HD), really good wi-fi, microwave, clean and spacious. Subway was one block away with a 20min ride into The heart of Manhattan. Neighborhood seems a bit dodgy at night, but NOBODY ever even approached us so probably safe enough as 2 block east is a great big mall and 2 block west are markets and shops.
GREAT FIND.... GREAT BARGIN!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stumbled onto this Hotel online while searching for one as I had sudden news of my father's death. I am familiar with the area and never knew this Hotel existed ,so I was a little concerned. However,surprise ,surprise,I could not be more pleased with the clean room,public areas and pleasant staff. Public transport and restaurants are close,and streets near and around the hotel have more than adequate police presence to calm any
concern for your safety. Will definitely be my hotel of choice when I return or asked by my friends for a good place to stay in Brooklyn.

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable and convienent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tferdit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
1.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arena Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing