We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice inexpensive hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Brooklyn
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice inexpensive hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is our second stay in the past four months. On both occasions we were met by friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were clean and bright. The breakfast is your basic cereal, bagels, toast, coffee, juice, yogurt and make your own waffle set up. The managers reception was a nice touch and included chips, cheese, wine and beer, it could have done with some fruit. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHarris007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    106
    45
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
64
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Not spacious but clean & comfortable. Love the sleep inn breakfast bar. Owners & staff helpful with directions & advice. Laundromat 2 blocks away. If you are happy to walk a few blocks subway close by, but would avoid the subway & walking home late at night. If your stay is brief & want to visit Big Apple sites maybe go for something closer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julaz62is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

After searching numerous over-priced NYC hotels, I found this little gem on orbitz for about $125 a night (with AAA discount). The reviews were all pretty good, so I decided to give it a shot. I was traveling through and would only need a place to sleep and shower for two nights. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. We arrived Saturday evening and they were having some manager's reception that all the guests were invited to. There was free beer, wine, veggie trays and chips and dip! I had a corona and some chips and hung out for a little before heading up to my room. I had a king size bed (very comfortable!) with white sheets and a white comforter (no polyester bullcrap bedspread). The room wasn't the most spacious, but we did have a closet with some drawers and a programmable safe. There was a mini fridge for storing our leftovers from dinner and a microwave that we could use in the dinning area. The breakfast was fine (nothing special), but nice to be able to grab a coffee, some fruit and a yogurt before heading out. I was lucky to get a parking spot right in front of the hotel, but there is plenty of parking across the street under the bridge. The next day I ventured out and found the subway stop just 3 blocks away (4th and 25th). I took the R to soho for some fabulous shopping and made it back in just 11 minutes. The area seems safe and convienant. I would recommend this place to travelers looking for a cheap, clean place for the night. Not so much for the honeymooners or luxury travelers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TyeHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Sleep Inn on 22nd Street in Brooklyn in November 2012. The location was in a little neighborhood with the sub station not too far of a walk away. The first night we walked the neighborhood we carried a small container of pepper spray but after that we felt safe enough not to need it. We stayed 4 nights and never had a problem. The hotel is nothing fancy, and neither is the free breakfast, but nothing at all to complain about if all you are looking for is a cheaper place to sleep. Free wi-fi and it worked great, no problems with it. Our room was on the 2nd floor right by the elevator and never heard any noise from it and my bed was right on the elevator wall. Rooms are indeed small but we spent all day every day in Manhattan and other parts of the city. The bed: can't compliment them enough. Very comfortable, clean and slept like a baby. Front desk staff were not overly friendly but very professional and polite. Our last day it was raining and we wanted to go down to Canal Street for shopping and they loaned us an umbrella. We also asked if we could delay checkout one hour due to our car service not arriving until an hour after checkout and they had no problem with it and did not charge us extra. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My first time staying at Sleep Inn was back in March 2012 when I was looking for a place to live. This time, today, my place is without electricity at the moment and I have a guest coming from Ohio. I was in a pinch, and immediately looked up Sleep Inn - lo and behold, they had a room available!!

Once again, I am very pleased. Everything is clean and spacious. Check in was a breeze, the gentleman was nice. The walk from the train was pleasant, very quiet neighborhood, I felt pretty safe (and it's dark outside right now)

Plenty of places to eat on 4th ave as well and a bodega and laundry mat. Very thankful they had a room available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brookelyn2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went to New York for a week and since hotels in Manhattan are quiete pricey we decided to stay the first two nights in Brooklyn before moving to a hotel in Manhattan. The Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown is relatively new, the rooms are small but with a good big bed and a big flatscreen. The hotel offers free wifi which worked fine in our room. Since it has no own restaurant you can order food from outside restaurants (they even have the brochures in the rooms). The breakfast was good. It was not comparable two a 4-star hotel in europe but it had yogurt, waffles, donughts and some other things. The walking time to the subway is roughly 10 minutes but the R-train is not the fastest and was partly disrupted by the hurricane. I thought that Manhattan is a much better place to stay but if you search for an economic alternative this is quite ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nilmar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at the Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown in May 2012 with my friend. Location is slightly far from the subway line but it is still ok About 5 mins by walking. Reception is friendly enough, wi fi is good! They serve good breakfast especially the self made waffles. That was quite great! The price is a bit on the ex side if youre travelling alone but the amenities provided are ok. Basic toiletries are all provided for. There is also tourist information at the reception (maps, etc) Oh ya and newspaper as well. Overall i would say my experience at the hotel was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdFadhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Prospect Park South
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown

Property: Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Address: 134 22nd St, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing