We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed June 18, 2012

When I first arrived at the hotel I expected the worse. The neighborhood is not the greatest and it was kind of hidden at the end of the street. There were only about 10 parking spaces available at the front of the hotel maybe less so we had to park our car under the freeway bridge across the street hoping there was a parking space available in the morning but this is to be expected in NY parking is at a premium. Check in was quick and painless. When I arrived at the room it was much nicer than I expected it was very small but it was fairly new looking and the beds were comfortable. The hotel provides breakfast in the morning from 6am to 930am.The breakfast items were not bad, they had fruits, yogurt, juices, eggs, sausages, waffles,etc. The dining area is small but we were able to get a seat each time we went. i recommend going early. Overall the hotel was great but very overpriced at $169 per night (I got it for less but that is the going rate) for that price I could get a suite but this is NYC and all hotels are going for those rate or higher. if you are going to Brooklyn I would suggest this hotel, all restaurants and shops were near by and the subway is only 3 blocks away on 25th street.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

If you are traveling to New York on a tight budget this is the hotel for you. The rooms are very small, but very clean and has everything you need. The breakfast was okay, but for it not costing anything extra it was very good. The 25th street station is a 3 1/2 block walk which takes about 5-10 minutes depending on how quick you are able to walk. The Subway station has the R train so the best route to downtown New York would be to transfer at the nearest junction station about 3 stops away called the N train which is an express train so you can avoid having to stop at every single stop if you just want to get to midtown Manhattan. The only thing I would warn against is if you are traveling alone the neighborhood might creep you out a bit walking through it at night time. The road the hotel is on is very dark and there is a lot of garbage and some vandalism so if you are afraid of being alone in an urban neighborhood after dark this might not be for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed from 13 of may for 6 nights in room 406. Hotel is nice and comfortable ,with a big king size bed and almost new furniture. Free wifi,good continental breakfast with waffles,cereals,muffins,good service both at the front desk and in the breakfast area,where a kind indian lady is always ready to help.
The hotel is close to an highway so you can hear some noize during night...but nothing that can really prevent you to sleep, especially if you spent all day walking up and down the city
R line subway is just two blocks away and you can either use it to go directly to manhattan or use it to connect with Q express line (best option to reach upper manhattan )

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the building probably get less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Jut got back from 9 day stay in this hotel. It is located in Brooklyn, but is in easy reach of Manhattan using the Subway which is 3 streets away and takes about 4 minutes to walk to. I purchased a $29 metro card, which gave me 7 days unlimited use of the subway - very handy. The hotel isn't in the best looking of locations, but as a single female traveller, at no point did i feel unsafe. The staff were helpful and friendly and assisted with any requests including printing tourist info for me.
I had a king size non-smoking room on the 2nd floor. The room itself is small, but the bed is large, the shower is good and it has a nice flat screen TV, fridge and hairdryer. I'm not sure what else you could want?! My room was cleaned to a high standard daily.
The free breakfast in the morning is good too (for a free breakfast!). I was able to have juice, a bowl of cereal and a bagel each morning. Someone makes waffles if you want one. There is also a computer in the breakfast room, which you can access free of charge, and print tickets etc from.
The hotel is the equivalent of a lower-end Travelodge in the UK & as with such cheap & cheerful hotels, you do get a diverse range of guests who will use it for a night out & think nothing of making a load of noise when they return at 3am. This only happened once or twice and after reaching for my earplugs it meant that i only heard them for a short time.
In summary, I feel you get more than you pay for when you book this hotel. You get a comfortable room in a conveinent location with a free breakfast and helpful staff for a low price - you can't do anything about your fellow guests though :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

First of all, thanks to the honest reviewers. We chose the Sleep Inn Downtown Brooklyn based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor prior to our trip. We wanted a budget friendly hotel on the outskirts of Manhattan and that's exactly what we got. The hotel is conveniently located, clean and run by a discreet friendly Indian family. We arrived at noon on 2th May 2012 (taxi ride from JFK airport to the hotel costs $50 tip included) and management quickly checked us in. Within minutes of arriving, we were settled in our room (112). The room was exactly what we expected; clean, relatively spacious, nicely decorated with working appliances. There was a coffee machine, a fridge, an alarm clock, a plasma screen, a wardrobe big enough for the two of us. The bathroom had a big tub, clean towels, toileteries, and a hairdryer.

The 25th subway stop is two blocks away from the hotel and very easy to find. The N and R stops at all the major locations (cortdland street, canal street, union street, times square, lexington avenue, broadway, etc...). It will take you 45mins to reach Times Square. I recommend you get a 7 day pass Metrocard if staying for more than 4-5 days.

Back to the hotel description; the king size bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. However if you are sensitive sleepers, I don't recommend a room at the front of the hotel as it gets quite noisy. We slept with earplugs and weren't bothered.

One of highlights was the breakfast (included in the price) A rarity in North America. It is serves between 6:30 and 9:30 am. A lovely lady called Pushpe makes yummy waffles for the guests. There is a decent selection of eggs, sausages, bread, muffins, bagels, doughnuts, porridge, fruits, yoghurts, cereals and juices. The breakfast area is indeed quite small, but either get there
early or wait for your turn. People usually eat quickly, wanting to leave to visit Manhattan.

Overall we are very satisfied with our stay and will be returning to the Sleep Inn Downtown Brooklyn when visiting NY again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

As I'm not a "hard to please" traveller, this hotel was a perfect choice for me.
We had a non-smoking room with king bed. Bed was very comfortable and didn't creak.
Breakfast was very good as well, plenty of food like eggs, sausages, milk&cereals, fresh waffles, juices, etc.
One PC is located where the breakfast is served.
Location is perfect, I didn't notice any odd strangers or hookers or something. Yep, there are some funeral houses, but on the 4th avenue and c'mon the death is part of life and there is the Green-wood cemetery nearby ... which is good to visit because of nice architecture (gateway) at least :).
Subway is like two block from hotel.
And since you're in Brooklyn and you have a small hipster in your heart, you def have to visit some of the Sat or Sun flea markets.

Plus: breakfast, comfy bed, free wifi in rooms, cable TV, air-con, location, free parking lots (8-10 cars max), ...

Minus: don't know any which can be fixed by hotel. Maybe our room could be little bit bigger. We had three luggage and was impossible to have all three opened in one time :).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swoul84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

i stayed there in sept 2010 for 4 days, it was a double bed room, a bit small as you have to get your way between the beds, but the decoration of thte room was modern and very pretty.
the room was clean, and the bath room was big and comfortable, also with a nice , clean and modern decoration.
the serve a continenta breakfast, with a lot of variety, in the same place theres one computer with free internet access and a printer for the visitors to use it.
the parking space is free, but limited to maybe 20 cars, so you park around the hotel, this is not problem as the hotel is in the end of a death street, so the only ones going there are the ones staying in the hotel.

the location was convenient, is 10 minutes from manhattan if you have a car, and 390 minutes by train, the train station is 4 blocks from the hotel.
this place was a nice surprise for me, i will stay there again.

Room Tip: i stayed on the 4th floor, middle rooms and was perfect,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t2ma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#41 of 73 in Brooklyn
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
#40 of 73 in Brooklyn
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Central
4.1 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown

Address: 134 22nd St, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $145 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing