We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took away from a special weekend...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were excited to have gotten a great 'deal' at a four star hotel and thought this would be the perfect end to our trip. In the end, the hotel was the biggest disappointment of our experience. Room was very small (no problem understand its the city), but the experience of customer service was where it was not a four star. Some at the hotel were very helpful with the trip, but we were told we would have free internet in the room as a 'thank you' for staying----after trying to log on throughout the night we called down and found out that the internet is only good if you are in the lobby. No problem. After, we need to make some food for our child---called down to ask for some silverware---first time was asked if we ordered room service---when I said no they said it was no possible. Tried to call down again and got no reply. If you choose the valet service for the car it takes 5-10 minutes to get your car brought to you----its more like 15-20 minutes so call way ahead. I have stayed in this hotel before and felt like the online hotel booking company we used inflated the price big time. As I thought I got a great deal, it turned in to one thing after another. I would recommend saving your money and going to another place that values customer service, wants your business, and willing to give you 4 star quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Showed up at 1 am after paying the most expensive cab fare ever coming from EWE, through Manhattan to Brooklyn...only to wait in long line and get told that they have a heating problem and will need to put us up in a midtown hotel. No call, no email, no communication...and now we wait for who knows how long for a taxi to take us back through manhattan. And the night manager apparently has zero authority to compensate at all. Very annoying and depending on how the day manager handles this, we may never stay here again...more to come.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank lisan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Usually I don't have the opportunity to stay at Sheraton hotels in the Starwood lineup due to company restraints and events planned by others. However, I found this hotel to be a nice break in the tradition of a couple of old Sheraton hotels I've been at the long ago past.

Glad there is a restaurant in the hotel. Convenient, with normal kind of bar fare and pricing for New York.

Hotel does have a member lounge, but that cost was going to be an additional $25.00 a day which I don't have to have, and I'm a gold member with Starwood. I wouldn't call that great at all.

Room Tip: Check your room rates each week because they do change quite frequently. Let them know if you can g...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slowhand1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise L, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the public. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and for also writing this great review. Thank you and we hope you have reached your destination safely.

Denise Luna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel very much. We paid an extra $25 a day for access to the business/club lounge, and it was absolutely worth it. It included breakfast, evening appetizers, and round the clock sodas, water, coffee, and hot chocolate. There is also a large TV and plenty of seating. We made liberal use of all of the above. The kids also enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The fitness center is well equipped and above average. The restaurant at the hotel is very convenient, although we had mixed results with the menu. It was certainly nice on a few occasions not having to go out in the snow searching for food. The rooms were not huge, but we visited Brooklyn for a vacation, not to hang out in a room. One note, the electrical outlets in the room were strangely wide, and it wasn't easy to charge our phones in a few of them. No other complaints about the room, the bathroom/shower/beds/TV, etc. were all fine. Not luxury, but completely acceptable. The location is terrific, and it's just a short walk to a number of subway stops. We had a room on one of the top few floors with a terrific view. The staff were almost uniformly polite and helpful (one morning the breakfast lady was in a baaaad mood), and assisted us whenever we had questions. Not much to say bad. We didn't like that Internet access was not free (so we didn't use it), and we felt 9am was too early to stop breakfast, especially for families with kids up late the night before. Some mornings you had to get there before 8:30 to make sure there was enough food left. Looking at some of the negative reviews, I can't help but ask what some of these people expected. If you're a prima donna, spend more money and look elsewhere. For a good hotel with good value, this is the place for you. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel, and will stay there again the next time I am in Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDK400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise L, Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Brooklyn Hotel, we appreciate you sharing your great experience with the public. I am pleased to learn that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay. We look forward to having you stay here again in the near future. Please take the time to visit us on our website and share your review on our site.
Thank you and we wish you a safe travel.

Sheraton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I was here the night before a trial. The bellman and valet parker were prompt and helpful. The desk staff was efficient and pleasant. The room was clean and serviceable. A little small. A little light on desk space. It was quiet and the internet worked well. A quick walk to Court. Not a boutique spot. Kinda generic. But perfect for getting work done and then getting a good nights sleep.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Leonardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise L, Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Brooklyn Hotel, we appreciate you sharing your great experience with the public. I am pleased to learn that you had a beautiful, relaxing and stress-free time during your recent stay. We look forward to having you stay here again in the near future. Please take the time to visit us on our website and share your review on our site.
Thank you and we wish you a safe travel.

Sheraton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have stayed at the Sheraton Brooklyn for over a year now, week to week. I enjoy staying here because of the amazing customer service I receive. Specifically, the Club Lounge Manager, Wanda, exceeds my expectations every day. I refer to Wanda as "Mama" because she always makes sure I have everything I need to get my day off to a great start. She is incredible! I don't know how she deals with all of us demanding business travelers, but she does it every day with such a caring attitude.

Room Tip: Rooms on the odd side of the hotel on a high floor (17 or higher) (e.g., 1701, 1703, 1705) have a vi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise L, Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Brooklyn Hotel, we appreciate you sharing your great experience with the public. I am pleased to learn that you are very loyal and have an awesome time during your visits. We strive for our associates to exceed our guests' expectations and I am so happy that Wanda manages to do that for you at all times. We look forward to having you stay here again in the near future. Please take the time to visit us on our website and share your review on our site.
Thank you and we wish you a safe travel.

Sheraton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I came here with my fiancé for an extended weekend and I don't even know where to begin. The room had a noise in it coming from the heater that did not go away even when we shut it off. The staff was extremely rude. When we called in for room service they would barely let you finish your sentence and they would never bring enough silverware for two! They did not bring salt and pepper and when I called to ask them to bring it up they hung up on my face without giving me a chance to explain that they forgot to give us spoons for our soup either. The power outlets are too big to fit normal US electronic devices in them. In order to charge my iPhone and Macbook Pro I had to prop up books underneath and manage a juggling act so that the chargers would not fall out as the outlets are way too big. The internet was extremely slow and it was extremely hard for me to take care of my business needs. The business / club lounge is a joke. The coffee was cold and I had to call down to the front desk to have them bring milk or creamer for it as there was none in the fridge. They had just one type of granola bar (some off brand) and no other refreshments / snack. They put out quesadillas in the evening with some guacamole and chips which was enough to feed 10 people max and that was it. I have stayed at many SPG properties but this makes me rethink my future stays at all Sheratons.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#23 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,040 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#27 of 72 in Brooklyn
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $168 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Starwood, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing