We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel during my weekly business visits for the last 2 years. The hotel has consistently met my expectations as a business traveller, however, the overall service and especially the club lounge manager Wanda has exceeded my expectations. Wanda makes a point to make sure all her guests are made to comfortable and goes out of her way to help any way she can.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have stayed at this Sheraton two times (four nights) in the past few months. Both stays have been less than expected. I usually book the two budget hotels on this same street (Aloft and Hotel Indigo) but they were full on the nights I needed to visit NYC.

Sheraton Brooklyn advertises (on multiple sites) that they have free Wifi but then charge for its use. When both of the budget hotels can provide free, high-quality Wifi, I find it odd that the Sheraton cannot even though they advertise it. When I mentioned to the front desk that their website and the site I booked on said "Free Internet," I was literally laughed at and the front desk agent said "No, Sir, can you not afford the fee?" I could afford the fee and it would have even been reimbursed by my employed but I make a note to not pay for Wifi fees unless absolutely necessary. Instead, I went to the restaurant across the street and the Aloft bar and they let me use their Wifi for free.

The rooms were fine and as expected for Brooklyn. They are a bit smaller than the standard Sheraton rooms.

During one stay, I never received any room cleaning service. When I mentioned this, I was told that I had requested to not have service, this was not accurate.

My biggest issue is that I made multiple attempts to reach out to this hotel but received no response about my bad experiences. I am willing to believe that I just had two bad experiences and this hotel is usually great. However, I would have liked a response from the hotel's administration to inform me of that and try to make it right. I did not even receive a quick e-mail response. I would not stay here again - go to Aloft (another SPG property) or Hotel Indigo which are both within 100 feet of this hotel on Duffield Street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Brooklyn with convenient access to many subways (2, 3, B, D, N, Q, R, A, C and F within a few minutes’ walk), which allow you access to Manhattan within minutes. This neighborhood is in the process of becoming safer and friendlier, efforts since the Giuliani administration, though there is still quite a bit of crime here at night. You don’t want to wander too far from your hotel in the evening; if you do, make sure you are not alone. There are a few restaurants in the area, more popping up every year, though your best bet is to get food elsewhere. There are a lot of shops along the Fulton Street Mall, though you’re best doing your shopping elsewhere.

The size of the room will vary depending on where you stay on the floor, and what floor you are on based on status. The rooms I experienced were very nice, exceeding most of my expectations for that price point. The bed was super comfortable, everything from the mattress to the pillows. Nice LCD TV with a good variety of channels. Two new water bottles delivered to the room daily. The bathrooms were very large. My favorite part of this hotel, after the comfortable beds, are the views. Depending on the floor, and the direction your room faces, you may have a spectacular view of either Brooklyn, Manhattan or the Status of Liberty.

The staff is friendly enough, there are free papers in the lobby, which is also connected to a Starbucks. There is also Wi-Fi (free if included in your rate) in the room and the lobby. There is a nice sized gym for a hotel, which is across the hall from a decent sized pool and a hot tub. They also have a lounge for their preferred guests, which is stocked with tea and granola bars and has a computer for shared use.

It’s a nice hotel; if you are a Sheraton person, go for it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IchBesorgeDasBier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Last night, I asked Miguel at the front desk to have some coffee supplies delivered to my room. Exceeding my expectations....he called and followed up with me in about 10 minutes to make sure that my request was delivered! Awesome!

Tonight, after returning from work, I went to the second floor to see what was being provided for dinner. Caesar salad, pasta and teriyaki chicken wings! Great! Exceeding my expectations...providing wrapped 'real' silverware! Even more awesome! Definitely added a touch of class to the meal! Thanks Wanda for all you do to make our stay even better.

Room Tip: If you don't like a warm room, ask for one on the lower floors. If it's summertime, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've been here for business every other week for 2 months and really got taken care by staff. Victor at the front desk and Wanda the club manager as we'll as other staff really go out of there way to make sure room is set up and club is fully stocked. Special requests for food and room amenities were quickly resolved. Thanks guys!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank pbj9894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you love hailing a cab in New York, then don't stay here! Unlike many hotels in Manhattan, this Brookyln hotel is well suited in Brooklyn (near a big street with lots of shops) but if you want to get out of there, it's hard to get a cab. Otherwise, the hotel is comfortable, the breakfast is average and the staff need to be more customer orientated!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProudlyNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Located in downtown Brooklyn and convenient to mass transit. Pleasant front desk staff and let us check in early. Our standard king bed room, was comfortable and well equipped. Nice new bathroom with ample amenities. A few blocks to Juniors Restaurant which serves a great breakfast. Easy several block walk to Musuem of Mass Transit, which was surprisingly interesting.

Room Tip: Club level rooms include sodas and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseyguy314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#22 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 72 in Brooklyn
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 72 in Brooklyn
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $159 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing