We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. Not great. Fantastic Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good. Not great. Fantastic Staff.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The staff was fantastic. Ordered Room Service a few times and all of the people who helped were wonderful. They were polite, efficient and even fun.

I believe it was a woman named Nora who checked me in. She was great. When I approached the desk, she was starting to make a phone call, but opted to help me out instead. That was very nice of her and I'm really grateful.

The room was really clean and had what I needed.

I knocked off one star because the rooms next door at Aloft are better. If the rates are comparable, go with Aloft. Also, don't bother upgrading for club. Just isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading to club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    448
    229
    55
    73
See reviews for
325
278
96
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed for one night to attend a wedding in Brooklyn, and it was pleasant enough, although I was not able to check out any of the club amenities. I had booked a club room, and got a 1br suite on the 5th floor instead, probably because of my SPG status. The suite was large and modern, and felt genuinely luxurious. The bathroom was a standout among NYC bathrooms, with a superbly expansive counter. The bed was super huge and fluffy, and I loved every minute in it, plus the room was super quiet. Robes were provided, but I wished there were slippers as well.

Some nitpicks:
1. The closet is on the small side for hanging things, but there was ample drawer space.
2. The entrance/valet/parking situation is kind of a hot mess, as 3 hotels share this tiny street. It was very unclear upon arrival what to do with our car to unload, and there was nobody there to help.
3. The immediate surroundings are also kind of questionable. Parking on the street does not give you much confidence, and the lots/garages aren't that much better either (while being exorbitantly expensive) also. The residential area across Flatbush Ave is much nicer, but also means a longer walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Thank you Sheraton for a lovely stay. Me and my partner checked in for a week on the first of October, 2013. The welcome was warm, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the room a medium size. I got exactly what I paid for, no more but definitely no less. The pool is small but nice, if a touch too cold. Lovely gym. Great restaurant on site. Subways are just steps away from the hotel front so it's easy access to Manhattan and if I might say, being out of Manhattan is a welcome break on occasions! Would definitely stay again. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise L, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for staying here at the Sheraton Brooklyn Hotel, I am delighted you had a wonderful experience and I am confident that you will receive this level of service again but better.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the public.

Safe Travels

Denise Luna
General Manager
Sheraton Brooklyn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. For New York, it was a pretty nice room. The room is small for my taste, but then, in NY city you don't very much space in hotels. The room was immaculate. The staff where very friendly. I liked the option for "breakfast in bed." It was reasonably priced and very good. If you're a coffee lover, Starbucks coffee pods are available in the room for fresh coffee in the morning. The bed was the best! Comparable to sleep number beds at Radisson hotels. It was quiet at night. That is usually my complaint when I go visit, which makes it hard for me to sleep. Not the case at the Sheraton. This hotel is an excellent option for business travelers or those traveling on leisure. They actually handle checking your bags for your flight out of New York. The location is only 20 minutes from LaGuardia Airport. My only issue with this hotel is the Wi-fi was NOT free. This might be the case in most NY Hotels, I really don't know. But for $400 plus a night, they could at least offer free
wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nay743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pros: clean room. Nice front desk staff. Quick walk to train/subway.

Cons: not in manhattan but still paying manhattan prices. Pay a bit more and just stay in manhattan. NOISE NOISE NOISE....jackhammer drilling noise starting at 7am due to construction nearby. Elevator shaft noise. If you want sleep you will not get it. Would never stay here again. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelookforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. The bed is the best I have ever slept. Nice size room for a hotel in NY. Hotel was beautifully decorated. I really only have two complaints. 1) The front desk staff may need some customer service training. Most were rude. For example I called for a taxi early Saturday morning. I was told to check with the person out front for a taxi. I asked, "You cannot arrange for a taxi?" The staff replied, "I do not arrange taxi's. Get them outside." 2) As it relates to a taxi I think the Sheraton should communicate clearly to their guest the "Black cars". In some areas of the US "Black cars" are known for escort services and human trafficking. A female or females traveling alone may not be comfortable with these sort of cars. May want to have regular taxi's out front as well. Nice place, but they have some work to do as well.

Room Tip: Until construction has slowed do not get a room on the front side of the hotel. Construction begins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We checked into the Sheraton after booking with the national desk to be in New York for a funeral. We prepaid for a two-bedroom suite for 3. When we arrived, we were told there is no two-bedroom suite, and that the room had only been reserved for two. This was terrible, for we distinctly told the reservation person that we were arriving as a couple with our 83-year-old matriarch and needed two bedrooms. We were given a king suite with a sleeper couch for an octagenarian!

I noticed after being in the room, we were not hearing anything next door, even though I saw a door to an adjoining bedroom. I called the front desk and asked if the bedroom was occupied. I was told, "No." I then asked, "Then why wasn't our two-bedroom suite honored?" I was never given a satisfactory answer, but told I could book the room separately for an additional $200 plus dollars!

I wish I could say the nightmare ended there. The room lacked many of the basic amenities---cups, coffee, free bottled water (promised with the suite). We had to call housekeeping several times to get blankets, pillows and linen for the sofa bed forced upon us. We never got enough coffee or tea for everyone.

The next day, we had been given complimentary breakfasts at the hotel's restaurant. Servers were not available and we were going to be late for the funeral. The maitre'd advised us that we could eat at the Sheraton Club, since we were SPGs (Starwood Preferred Guests) and entitled to breakfast there and the use of the club. This was a shock to me, for when I checked in, I asked about club privileges and was told I was not entitled to them, even though I had booked a suite, consistent with SPG policy.

The invitation to the clubroom for breakfast was a bust. They ran out of food and hot coffee to serve the guests. Can you imagine? Not having enough breakfast in NYC at 8:00 in the morning during a workweek?

We decided to give up and try to just check out and head to the funeral services. The parking---which is $34 per night forced valet---was the worst. They lost our car and took at least a half-hour to find it, almost making us late. The road in front of the hotel was blocked by trucks and construction, whose loud noise had already kept us awake for most of the night.

I shared the trials with the front desk and they offered me a free room. I felt like they had to be kidding. I asked for an adjustment to my bill, which has yet to arrive, even though the assistant manager promised to have the GM get in touch with me.

Stay away from this hotel. It is like a pig with lipstick---all dressed up but still a pig.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,017 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#25 of 72 in Brooklyn
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Property: Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing