We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel due to construction. Avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel due to construction. Avoid.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pros: clean room. Nice front desk staff. Quick walk to train/subway.

Cons: not in manhattan but still paying manhattan prices. Pay a bit more and just stay in manhattan. NOISE NOISE NOISE....jackhammer drilling noise starting at 7am due to construction nearby. Elevator shaft noise. If you want sleep you will not get it. Would never stay here again. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelookforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    446
    229
    54
    72
See reviews for
324
276
94
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. The bed is the best I have ever slept. Nice size room for a hotel in NY. Hotel was beautifully decorated. I really only have two complaints. 1) The front desk staff may need some customer service training. Most were rude. For example I called for a taxi early Saturday morning. I was told to check with the person out front for a taxi. I asked, "You cannot arrange for a taxi?" The staff replied, "I do not arrange taxi's. Get them outside." 2) As it relates to a taxi I think the Sheraton should communicate clearly to their guest the "Black cars". In some areas of the US "Black cars" are known for escort services and human trafficking. A female or females traveling alone may not be comfortable with these sort of cars. May want to have regular taxi's out front as well. Nice place, but they have some work to do as well.

Room Tip: Until construction has slowed do not get a room on the front side of the hotel. Construction begins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We checked into the Sheraton after booking with the national desk to be in New York for a funeral. We prepaid for a two-bedroom suite for 3. When we arrived, we were told there is no two-bedroom suite, and that the room had only been reserved for two. This was terrible, for we distinctly told the reservation person that we were arriving as a couple with our 83-year-old matriarch and needed two bedrooms. We were given a king suite with a sleeper couch for an octagenarian!

I noticed after being in the room, we were not hearing anything next door, even though I saw a door to an adjoining bedroom. I called the front desk and asked if the bedroom was occupied. I was told, "No." I then asked, "Then why wasn't our two-bedroom suite honored?" I was never given a satisfactory answer, but told I could book the room separately for an additional $200 plus dollars!

I wish I could say the nightmare ended there. The room lacked many of the basic amenities---cups, coffee, free bottled water (promised with the suite). We had to call housekeeping several times to get blankets, pillows and linen for the sofa bed forced upon us. We never got enough coffee or tea for everyone.

The next day, we had been given complimentary breakfasts at the hotel's restaurant. Servers were not available and we were going to be late for the funeral. The maitre'd advised us that we could eat at the Sheraton Club, since we were SPGs (Starwood Preferred Guests) and entitled to breakfast there and the use of the club. This was a shock to me, for when I checked in, I asked about club privileges and was told I was not entitled to them, even though I had booked a suite, consistent with SPG policy.

The invitation to the clubroom for breakfast was a bust. They ran out of food and hot coffee to serve the guests. Can you imagine? Not having enough breakfast in NYC at 8:00 in the morning during a workweek?

We decided to give up and try to just check out and head to the funeral services. The parking---which is $34 per night forced valet---was the worst. They lost our car and took at least a half-hour to find it, almost making us late. The road in front of the hotel was blocked by trucks and construction, whose loud noise had already kept us awake for most of the night.

I shared the trials with the front desk and they offered me a free room. I felt like they had to be kidding. I asked for an adjustment to my bill, which has yet to arrive, even though the assistant manager promised to have the GM get in touch with me.

Stay away from this hotel. It is like a pig with lipstick---all dressed up but still a pig.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely staff, super rooms and gorgeous views.
After twelve hours, trans-Atlantic travelling, the lady on check-in was lovely and helpful.
We had trouble setting up (cheap) the wi-fi but the lady on front desk helped us sort it out in no time.
The beds were amazingly comfy and the TV had lots and lots of channels. The bathroom was clean and modern, and the whole hotel was just wonderful.
The area - Fulton - is safe and the people are lovely with lots of authentic, not-too-pricey dining opportunities. You're a two minute walk from the subway (Jay St MetroTech) or you could get the bus and explore the rest of Brooklyn, which in five years time will be the new Manhattan.
Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: There's a neighboring nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmydougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima,peru
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed just one night. The rooms were very nice. Extremely Clean- Super comfy bed and GREAT thick oversized pillows--our sheets were like new and not thin and dingy. The room was small, but I think it was pretty standard for NY. We were on the club level so we had a decent continental breakfast and free water in the room. The only negative was there was no free in-room wi-fi. The neighborhood was not the best but not bad. We walked everywhere and never felt uncomfortable. Lobby was very small and the computers were in the open with no privacy at all.

Room Tip: No free in-room wifi. The upgrade to club level is worth it since you can use wifi in the club area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limaLima_peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Sheraton Brooklyn is a very well run hotel of high quality. Two days prior, I was staying at Hotel Indigo across the street. The Sheraton is another class of hotel; way above the Indigo. The Sheraton has great rooms, pleasant staff, fantastic air condition, a wide selection of TV- and movie options, great interiors, a really good club lounge with free drinks and great location in the middle of downtown Brooklyn.

However, it also has a few drawbacks:

1. The hotel restaurant lacks style. It is located in the lobby and nearly feels like a part of it; instead of being a separate restaurant. I don't want to eat and drink fine wine in a lobby where people are bustling in and out. The Sheraton would be smart to separate the two further; for example using dark drapes or similar. It was very hard to get a relaxed, intimate feeling in the restaurant with so many people going in and out - and with so little privacy (all the walls are made of glass).

2. The fitness center is horrible and should be refurnished. Sheraton has partnered with some high-flying concept to "upgrade" their fitness centers; but in reality, it doesn't work. The fitness center is basicly one small room. It has a decent selection of dumbells, but the only manual weight machine is broken - and tries to do every exercise at once. Sheraton should invest in 3-4 manual weight machines; for example one for breast, one for the back, one for shoulders and one for arms. The fitness center certainly has enough room. If you like running, the fitness center is okay; it has 3-4 treadmills that do the job.

3. There is no free wifi in the actual rooms. At first I was surprised; surely this had to be a mistake? When I pay top dollar for a hotel room, surely the wifi is included - just like running water from the tap; or the air in the air condition? No, instead you have to choose one of several expensive wifi packages, just to be connected to the internet. This is a deplorable practise and should be banned from all hotels that wants to attract business travellers. My job is my life; and at Sheraton, apparently I have to pay extra if I want to practice my job in my hotel room - despite already having paid for the accommodation. I think it's a nuisance and I think Sheraton would do well to abolish this practice. I know it's a "Sheraton-wide" practice, but that doesn't really excuse it - it just makes it worse.

4. Another thing that annoyed me was that the Sheraton had put up posters for wine tastings by Wine Spectator, promising "90+ points" wine. However, when I enquired about this, I was told the event(s) wasn't anytime soon - which was a letdown. Why advertise a good event when it's not happening when people are actually staying at the hotel? You except me to check in later just to do a wine tasting? Or are you just too lazy to take down the posters?

5. Pillows. My god, the pillows at Sheraton. I'm a bigger than the average guy, and when I sleep, I like pillows with some support. There were 4 pillows in my hotel room, and combined, they nearly made up one ordinary pillow - but only nearly. They were far too thin and fluffy to offer any kind of support for my neck and head, making me sleep uneasy. Ideally Sheraton would offer a selection of pillows, like the Affinia Manhattan and several other good hotels does.

All in all though, these are all minor grievances; and I include them only as a source of inspiration for Sheraton to became an even better hotel... Except the wifi of course, which really has to be fixed immediately.

Room Tip: Go for the Club rooms, these are bigger and better than the ordinary rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voiron
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

by the end of august, Air France booked 2 rooms for our family at the Sheraton hotel, because of flight troubles. Our stay was taken in charge by the flight company (bed & breakfast + lunch) and, when we checked out at 3:30 pm, the reception said that everything was ok and there wasn't any charge to be settled. 2 days later, a debit of 80,09 € appears on our bank account, coming fro the Sheraton. After 2 international calls, 3 mails, 1 chat on Sheraton website, we still don't know why the hotel used our credit card number, given as a guarantee at check in time. Nobody answered to our mails (sent to 2 different addresses) and, on the phone, the persons we got in touch cannot explain this debit. We are one month later and still no news. It is very difficult to consider the Sheraton as a 4 star quality hotel and pretty worrying to give them our credit cards !!! we are really disappointed to finish our wonderful stay in the US with such a poor experience :-(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise L, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent travels to Brooklyn New York. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience encountered during your stay. If possible can you please contact the hotel and ask for myself to further research this matter and ensure your final invoice is accurate.

Thank you
Denise Luna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 71 in Brooklyn
1,011 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#25 of 71 in Brooklyn
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Property: Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing