We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located in the heart of downtown Brooklyn is this nice, relatively new looking hotel. It was not easy to find due to all the construction going on that street directions have been changed giving my GPS and Google maps app fits. A very helpful front desk staff member talked me through it though. Great staff. All were helpful and friendly. The NFL experts and especially the Nightlife expert from Madison NJ rocked. Beautiful room with view of State of Liberty ( disclaimer - it was far away and you had to look between 2 buildings). Even though a NYC hotel the room wasn't closet sized with a comfortable king sized bed. Had a crummy breakfast experience but the GM fixed that immediately so thumbs up for quick and happy resolution.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for the review and I was happy to resolve your breakfast issue yesterday morning.

I look forward to being your host in the near future

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in Brooklyn for a flying visit and so as I didn't use the hotel other than to sleep and shower i'm not in a position to review its facilities. It is however in a fantastic location and the customer service was really very very good. I received one of the most genuine welcomes i've had in a while.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris10Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

How very nice to read " you received one of the warmest welcomes ever." That really is what hospitality is all about Thank you for your review and for your Starwood loyalty

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just spent two night at the Sheraton Brooklyn. It's a very friendly place to stay. All the staff are more than willing to help. The room was very clean and comfortable. It's close to a subway stop so convenient for getting around, and also close to the Fulton Street Mall so there are plenty of restaurants and stores in the area. The only negative I could see is that there is no free wi-fi in the rooms. It is free in the lobby where there's also free printing. Definitely a very good option for Downtown Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Five stars. Wow. You just made my day. Thank you so much for your Starwood loyalty and be sure to come back and visit soon

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there recently 4-5 days - customer service in this hotel can be really superb but can also show dramatic lack of experience in dealing with customers. Couple of misses I pointed out to the desk staff and the manager (Marie) approached me when she heard about them and apologized, then followed up with a phone call. A nice touch and clearly someone working to up the game at this hotel. Kudos to her and the front desk staff (especially the young guy with glasses from Astoria Queens whose name I did not get - he was a customer service star).

Restaurant is just ok. Neighborhood is downtown Brooklyn - nothing quaint or artisanal here, but regular storefronts and chain restaurants. Hotel is on a street that is in transition, subway a few blocks away. Safe but not obviously so yet....would probably stay here again - sadly the rooms are super super small, typical of the Sheraton with way too much big furniture, and in this case dingy carpets in the rooms and hallway. If they change this (update carpetting) its a winner.
Overall a good option trying really hard to get better.

Room Tip: On most floors there are two rooms that face the elevator doors.....so these might be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank velo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for recognizing our efforts to get service over the top, providing a rating of 4 and stating you would come back when your travels bring you to the Brooklyn area. There is nothing that makes a manager happier than hearing those words.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I just would like to keep it short and brief and say I will be returning to stay at this hotel , I attended my friends wedding reception that was held in Brooklyn and we drove all the way from Maryland to stay here to receive a memorable experience the staff is very pleasant especially the tall young lady who check us out today by the name sakiyma very very very sweet amazing young lady the beds was so comfortable I ask for a late check out because me and my husband just couldn't seem to get up I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

OK Ill admit it...two of my favoritsest words...DEFINATELY RETURNING!!!

Thank you so very much for your review and for recognizing the great work of our team...I will be certain to pass your comments along to Zakema

Thank you also for being Starwood loyal and we lok forward to being your host in the near future.

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here back in january. Dead of winter. And it was a pleasant stay. You are literally steps away from the subway. There's a macy's down the street. And several restaurants in walking distance including applebees, juniors, Dallas bbq. Brooklyn Terrace lounge is on a different floor in this hotel. The hotel has a lounge and restaurant on its main floor which we went for drinks. We went into the heated (yes heated pool)...and jacuzzi. the gym looked really maintained as well.

Some people said the neighborhood is sketchy. Uhhh i guess that depends on what you're used to. I've lived in NYC for years...and that is NOT my definition of a sketchy neighborhood. If you're coming to BKLYN...You're not in the suburbs anymore

Now the rooms are gorgeous. I can't believe some people complain about the size of these rooms in NYC!!? really. This room was pretty spacious compared to the closets I have seen in manhattan. And the fact that everything is modern and updated makes it better. The service here could be better....and the lobby is not as small as some people complained about either. I was expecting some kinda roach motel lobby but it was super chic inside. I would come back here again and again and again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poochie167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Glad to here you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back. Come visit during the week as well.


Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is our second trip to the Sheraton in Brooklyn. We love it here. The staff are welcoming, helpful and courteous. We have now dubbed it "home away from home" in NYC. The manager is very nice and takes an interest the hotel guests. We were sorry to miss her this time, but that is our fault with a busy schedule and short trip.

We enjoyed the Club Lounge again and it made our stay so much more relaxing. The pool was fun for our son and daughter.

The SUBWAY IS SO CLOSE to anywhere you want to go. The 2-3 line into Manhattan is less than a block away! We went all over - from the High-Line Park to the Botanical Gardens, from all over Manhattan to DUMBO - with ease. This is our favorite and only go-to hotel when we stay in these parts.

If you stay here, and we hope you do, you won't be disappointed - and bring the kids - they are very family friendly here.

Thanks again, Marie!

The Randall Family

Room Tip: We like having access to the Club Room, especially with kids. It makes breakfast, snacks and a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClanRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Ahhhh the Randall Family ...Even before this review, you were on my official list of FAVORITE GUESTS...You have now risen to the very top.

:)

Let me know when you will be back in Brooklyn

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 74 in Brooklyn
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $147 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing