We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in Brooklyn for a flying visit and so as I didn't use the hotel other than to sleep and shower i'm not in a position to review its facilities. It is however in a fantastic location and the customer service was really very very good. I received one of the most genuine welcomes i've had in a while.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris10Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
How very nice to read " you received one of the warmest welcomes ever." That really is what hospitality is all about Thank you for your review and for your Starwood loyalty

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    456
    237
    55
    76
See reviews for
333
280
101
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just spent two night at the Sheraton Brooklyn. It's a very friendly place to stay. All the staff are more than willing to help. The room was very clean and comfortable. It's close to a subway stop so convenient for getting around, and also close to the Fulton Street Mall so there are plenty of restaurants and stores in the area. The only negative I could see is that there is no free wi-fi in the rooms. It is free in the lobby where there's also free printing. Definitely a very good option for Downtown Brooklyn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Five stars. Wow. You just made my day. Thank you so much for your Starwood loyalty and be sure to come back and visit soon

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there recently 4-5 days - customer service in this hotel can be really superb but can also show dramatic lack of experience in dealing with customers. Couple of misses I pointed out to the desk staff and the manager (Marie) approached me when she heard about them and apologized, then followed up with a phone call. A nice touch and clearly someone working to up the game at this hotel. Kudos to her and the front desk staff (especially the young guy with glasses from Astoria Queens whose name I did not get - he was a customer service star).

Restaurant is just ok. Neighborhood is downtown Brooklyn - nothing quaint or artisanal here, but regular storefronts and chain restaurants. Hotel is on a street that is in transition, subway a few blocks away. Safe but not obviously so yet....would probably stay here again - sadly the rooms are super super small, typical of the Sheraton with way too much big furniture, and in this case dingy carpets in the rooms and hallway. If they change this (update carpetting) its a winner.
Overall a good option trying really hard to get better.

Room Tip: On most floors there are two rooms that face the elevator doors.....so these might be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for recognizing our efforts to get service over the top, providing a rating of 4 and stating you would come back when your travels bring you to the Brooklyn area. There is nothing that makes a manager happier than hearing those words.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I just would like to keep it short and brief and say I will be returning to stay at this hotel , I attended my friends wedding reception that was held in Brooklyn and we drove all the way from Maryland to stay here to receive a memorable experience the staff is very pleasant especially the tall young lady who check us out today by the name sakiyma very very very sweet amazing young lady the beds was so comfortable I ask for a late check out because me and my husband just couldn't seem to get up I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
OK Ill admit it...two of my favoritsest words...DEFINATELY RETURNING!!!

Thank you so very much for your review and for recognizing the great work of our team...I will be certain to pass your comments along to Zakema

Thank you also for being Starwood loyal and we lok forward to being your host in the near future.

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here back in january. Dead of winter. And it was a pleasant stay. You are literally steps away from the subway. There's a macy's down the street. And several restaurants in walking distance including applebees, juniors, Dallas bbq. Brooklyn Terrace lounge is on a different floor in this hotel. The hotel has a lounge and restaurant on its main floor which we went for drinks. We went into the heated (yes heated pool)...and jacuzzi. the gym looked really maintained as well.

Some people said the neighborhood is sketchy. Uhhh i guess that depends on what you're used to. I've lived in NYC for years...and that is NOT my definition of a sketchy neighborhood. If you're coming to BKLYN...You're not in the suburbs anymore

Now the rooms are gorgeous. I can't believe some people complain about the size of these rooms in NYC!!? really. This room was pretty spacious compared to the closets I have seen in manhattan. And the fact that everything is modern and updated makes it better. The service here could be better....and the lobby is not as small as some people complained about either. I was expecting some kinda roach motel lobby but it was super chic inside. I would come back here again and again and again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poochie167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Glad to here you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back. Come visit during the week as well.


Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is our second trip to the Sheraton in Brooklyn. We love it here. The staff are welcoming, helpful and courteous. We have now dubbed it "home away from home" in NYC. The manager is very nice and takes an interest the hotel guests. We were sorry to miss her this time, but that is our fault with a busy schedule and short trip.

We enjoyed the Club Lounge again and it made our stay so much more relaxing. The pool was fun for our son and daughter.

The SUBWAY IS SO CLOSE to anywhere you want to go. The 2-3 line into Manhattan is less than a block away! We went all over - from the High-Line Park to the Botanical Gardens, from all over Manhattan to DUMBO - with ease. This is our favorite and only go-to hotel when we stay in these parts.

If you stay here, and we hope you do, you won't be disappointed - and bring the kids - they are very family friendly here.

Thanks again, Marie!

The Randall Family

Room Tip: We like having access to the Club Room, especially with kids. It makes breakfast, snacks and a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClanRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Ahhhh the Randall Family ...Even before this review, you were on my official list of FAVORITE GUESTS...You have now risen to the very top.

:)

Let me know when you will be back in Brooklyn

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent there 1 night this weekend.
Clean! Looks newly renovated. Staff is helpful and very polite.
No smells (important for us, my wife is very sensitive to smells).
Comfortable beds! (I agree with lot of other reviewers saying that). Everything worked perfect in the room. What else to wish from hotel for short term?
We didn't check gym & pool.
We also didn't try the breakfast (for that price we found other option).
Parking is ~$30 on parallel street (if you park yourself. add few extra backs for valet parking).
Walking distance to Brooklyn bridge (~15 min, the-must attraction)! Walking distance to few subway station for Manhattan routes. Short ride to Manhattan.
For the price I managed to get online - that was a great deal!

Negative? Was none for us. But we used the place just to sleep and to go from here to Manhattan. The surroundings... well, we didn't feel it dangerous, but it also is not super-nice.
May be due to some constructions near by. We also didn't explore Brooklyn itself, so I don't know what's interesting is around.

I definitely consider staying here again while visiting NY.
Probably next time we'll devote some time to Brooklyn itself.

Some reviewers complained on street direction changing and GPS are not updated.
Well, on the hotel website there are directions. Follow them, and you easily find the hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for higher flow (hoping to get a view). We got rooms on floors 15 & 16. Well, the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Four words a GM loves to hear...

I Will Be Back!!

Great thank you so much for the great review

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#23 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,029 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Property: Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing