We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC best and finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed October 29, 2012

THANK YOU Sheraton Brooklyn. This is truly a place to stay if you want to avoid the crowd of downtown NYC, your still accessable to transportation such as buses and the subway, shops, retail, restaurants and cafe's in this area of brooklyn.

The beds here are the best, so comfortable, i should of asked them the brand and where i could buy them from lol
I also have worked in the hotel industry and it is always good to see staff that are friendly, polite, professional, and always willing to assist, from another brand hotel. At check in the the lady receptionist couldn't find my reservation but the other night employee reno or leno, sorry i forgot his name but its something like that was very helpful and in the end he found reservation, please thank him for me.

It is also good to see and thank there hotel GM for being out and about and engaging with her guests, as not many GM's out there wouldn't do that with there customers. It goes to show the management of this hotel care about there guests.

I will be back for sure in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opinion_teller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Now were talking....thank you so much for your gracious comments. Be sure to come and visit us soon

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here recently for 3 nights while visiting family who live close by. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, offering us free wifi since the hotel was not very busy. The rooms are freshly decorated (the hotel is fairly new), somewhat small, but, hey, you're in New York. We have stayed at the New York Marriott Brooklyn Bridge before and liked it but the Sheraton was almost $100 cheaper. Still, with taxes, we were shelling out around $300 a night. A bit pricey.
The area is not as sketchy as most people have mentioned. if you are not used to an urban area then you may be a bit uncomfortable. My daughter and I walked a few blocks at night with no issues. There is a lot of construction going on nearby so I imagine the area will continue to build up and continue to improve.
Don't bother springing for the club level. The complimentary continental breakfast was very limited. There were also supposed to be beverages available but I only saw a few soda options, no bottled water. There was a complimentary bottled water in your room however which was nice.
Two complaints: Maybe it's just me, but when I am spending $300 per night, I would really appreciate real glasses in the room instead of plastic ones. C'mon Sheraton, you can do better. The other problem with the hotel is the excruciatingly slow elevators. There are 4 of them but they are extremely small and during the weekend we had to wait sometimes 10 minutes for one. Sometimes we took the stairs. But even the stairwells were confusing and we needed help from an employee to find the very small main lobby.
Would I stay again? Yes, as it is a better value than the Marriott and the rooms were nice and clean. But, someone please take a look at the elevator issue.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationbound22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thanks for mentioning all the attributes of the Sheraton and what a great value it is as compared to other full service hotels in the Brooklyn area. I will do some checking on the elevator speed. Perhaps there is an opportunity to increase the speed.

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

As I was planning for my wedding in Brooklyn, I wanted to make sure my fiancé, her mother, and best friend/maid of honor could have a pleasant, relaxing evening and morning before the wedding and be able to get ready for the wedding in comfort. I decided to splurge a little bit and reserve a suite at the Sheraton Brooklyn. It was pricey, but I figured this was a once in a lifetime thing and I wanted it to be absolutely perfect.

Months before the wedding, I went onto Sheraton.com and reserved a suite. The email confirmation said very clearly:

Room Description
2 Doubles + Double Sofa Bed
* Suite Non-smoking, Smoke-free
* 41 Sq.m/440 Sq.ft - 45 Sq.m/487 Sq.ft
* 42 Inch Flat Screen Lcd Tv
* Sweet Sleeper Bed
* Combined Shower/bath
* Separate Living Room

Your room is guaranteed with a(n) AMEX / OPTIMA card

I made sure to get to the Sheraton early the day before our wedding to check-in. I pulled my car to the curb and was greeted by an attendant. I told him I was checking in, but he warned me that if I left the car at the curb too long I'd get a ticket. That struck me as an odd thing to say to a guest checking in to your hotel.

I rushed to the front desk and gave my name to the young man there. He typed a few things in his computer and then said to me matter-of-factly that they had no suites available, but that he'd be happy to put me into a room with two double beds, and that he'd "only charge me the rate for the room and not for the suite".

My jaw dropped. What did he just say?

He then said something about there being a woman in my suite who decided she didn't want to check out. I was dumbfounded. I showed him the part of the reservation that said that my room was guaranteed. He went back to the manager for what seemed like an eternity. Finally, he came back and told me again that there were no suites available, but offered me my choice of compensation: a bottle of champagne, free Wifi, or Starwoods Points.

Again, I was dumbfounded. They were on the verge of ruining the night before the more important day of my life, and a $7 bottle of champagne would make up for it?

I took a deep breath and went up to check the room. Problem is, there was a party going on at the roof and they actually shut down all their elevators to guests so they could transport party guests to the roof. So I stood waiting 10 minutes for the elevator.

I finally got to the room. It was like a closet. Two double beds pushed right next to each other, a tiny desk, and a tiny, old-looking bathroom. I was furious. I went to the elevator and, you guessed it, waited 15 minutes before I decided to take ten flights of stairs down.

I asked to talk to the manager, but she was too busy for me. The guys at the desk wrote down my cell number so she could call me back that night. I waited all night for her to call and she never did.

So I had no choice but to give Lisa the dingy, cramped room. Thankfully, even though my car was at the curb for an hour by now I didn't get a ticket.

I asked her on our wedding day how her stay was. She told me the HVAC unit in her room was broken, so the room was freezing cold all night. They sent engineers to the room at all hours of the night to try to fix it but they couldn't. Not exactly a very relaxing way to spend the night before your wedding. To their credit, the staff was very professional and tried hard to make the best of a bad situation. So I do not fault them. I completely fault the management of this hotel.

Then, what should have been a wonderful morning was spent navigating the cramped space while trying to accommodate the makeup artist and photographers. Everyone was very understanding and didn't blame me, but I still felt horrible. I'd planned everything so carefully but thanks to the Sheraton I felt like a heel.

To add insult to insult, we never even received the bottle of champagne in her room that was promised.

I thought that was the end of the nightmare. But a few days later I checked my credit card bill and I saw a charge for $661.70. That's right, the FULL price of the suite.

After days of email back and forth, the Sheraton finally offered me a canned apology and refunded me. To be honest, after all they put us through I was expecting a little something else to make up for all they did (refunding the price of the room was akin to a restaurant giving me food poisoning and then saying "we're giving your meal to you for free"). But that never came.

I have stayed in many hotels, but I have never seen one so completely mismanaged as this one. If you're planning a wedding or any other important function, I would think twice before entrusting it with the Sheraton Brooklyn.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Steve

Without a doubt this was a terribly disappointing experience for you and an embarrassing one for us. I will again extend my apologies to you via email and would like to one day do so in person.

I am also extending a complimentary revisit to our hotel for one night. I would hope you would take us up on this offer so we might extend the genuine hospitality that truly is the norm at the Sheraton

Again my apologies and we look forward to being your host one day soon.

Regards

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed two nights with my wife and kids and it was an excellent hotel. A little hard to find if driving by car but it is close to subway lines and you can be in midtown pretty quickly. Staff was amazing from start to finish. While the rooms are a little small I chalked this up to being in the city. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuprDadOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

How very kind of you to recognize our staff. It was our pleasure to make you and your family feel right at home and we look forward to being your host in the near future.

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed here many of times and needless to say, I never experienced such nonsense. Upon check in my bestfriend and I were told that we would be charged for incidental fees (held until departure) which was no problem however, they never had a room available for us. We waited for about 45 minutes for one to be avilable and the current time was 4pm...Moving forward, EVERYDAY were were charged 150.00 for incidental fees which was only supposed to be held once and released during departure. So every morning I was looking into my account and surly enouch I was charged. The 5 days we were there was like dejavu. Wake up, look at account that's been charged, talk to manager. We were told that it would stop daily. IT DIDNT! they said it was a glich was in the system. I cancled my card, thats the only way it stopped.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Just a quick note of apology for the credit card confusion. We are continually striving to exceed guest expectations and clearly fell short during your visit.

We do look forward to an opportunity to be your host again. Kindly contact my office directly when your travels bring you back to the Brooklyn area. I'd like to personally oversee your visit..

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is one of the cleanest, most comfortable and friendly hotels I have ever stayed in Although it is not in central New York, it takes no longer than 10 minutes on the Subway to reach downtown Manhatten. The bes was amazing, HUGE and so comfortable. The shower was also a generous size. Room very well equipped. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. I asked for travel information on a number of occasions and they were more than happy to find details for me.
The restaurant is a bit on the pricey side, but most hotels are. There are many places nearby offering good quality food, and after all this is New York, so eating out should be part of the experience.
I would use this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainy130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thanks so much for your great review and of course for being Starwood loyal

Be sure to come back and visit soon

Regards

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here this past weekend on the "birthday year" special where the 2nd night's price is the year you are born - so, a pretty good deal. The good things about this hotel are the comfy bed and comforters, and the proximity to the Hoyt Ave Subway stop just a couple of blocks away. Unfortunately, the bad things are more numerous. First, the neighborhood is not as great as Brooklyn Heights, and there are not many decent places to eat in the immediate area around the hotel, which is surprisingly desolate after dark. There is no complimentary coffee in the morning, but there is a coffee maker in the room. Wireless internet is not included unless you are sitting in the lobby, which at all hours of the day and night, has 5 (FIVE!) TVs blasting. The room had 2 bottles of water, one of which has a tag that says "FREE" and the other costs $3.50. Each day I took the one that said "FREE". Nevertheless I was charged. Now who in their right mind would pay $3.50 for a bottle of filtered water? Obviously someone desperate, but not me. Now the most egregious thing: Since it was my birthday over the weekend, my wife sent me an Edible Arrangement thing with a balloon, to be delivered on Saturday. She asked me Saturday night if I got anything, which I didn't, so I asked the front desk, where the very nice lady did a thorough search twice but found nothing, and there was no entry on their delivery log. Today, it turns out that the Edible Arrangement place actually did deliver it to the hotel, where someone actually signed my name! I called today to talk to the manager, but of course he or she "isn't available", and while the person on the phone put me on hold to find out what to do (after crediting my $3.50), she hung up on me. No call back either. So, all in all, I guess you get what you pay for, but I'd rather spend more to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajlcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding the Sheraton Brooklyn and for mentioning what a great deal the birth year rate plan is. Would you be so kind to contact my office directly so I might assist in tracking down the edible arrangement

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to being your host in the near future

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 75 in Brooklyn
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 75 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 75 in Brooklyn
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 75 in Brooklyn
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $147 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing