We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Brooklyn Sheraton was a great discovery. The area is being renovated but the hotel is on the subway line into Manhattan, it takes just minutes to be in Lower Manhattan. Way better hotel prices than in the city! The rooms are small but nicely furnished, new, and clean. This hotel is really a hidden little gem. The DUMBO area is nearby and loved walking the Brooklyn Promenade and nearby streets with their charming brownstones. The Park Slope area with it's restaurants is a short subway hop east.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Henlely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

So glad to hear you had a wonderful time while at the Sheraton Brooklyn Hotel. I will be certain to pass your comments along to our staff.

Please be certain to let me know when your travels bring you back this way. I would like to personally make your reservation and oversee your stay.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

I was here on business and asked to upgrade to a terrace room so I could work outside and enjoy the nice summer weather. The terrace was large, but had NO patio furniture. I asked 4 times for patio furniture and never received it. The room is nice, but very small. The wait staff in the dining areas are nice. NO taxi's knew how to get to the hotel and it's not the best neighborhood. Maybe in another couple of years the area will pick up. The ALoft hotel shares the same building.

Room Tip: There is no patio furniture for Terrace rooms. Waste of money. Free wi-fi in public areas, but not i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Thanks so much for your review on the Sheraton Brooklyn. We have made certain that all our terrace rooms now have outdoor furniture so you might enjoy the weather outside. As for the immediate area, thankfully the major construction on adjacent buildings have been coimpleted.

Looking forward to being your host in the near future.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

After a 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel, with very nice staff, sad to say, I would seriously consider trying to find a different hotel if I were to return. This is even after we were given a free upgrade to a very large, modern, sleek, comfortable room. As many have posted, this is a very sketchy area, especially at night. We definately were freaked out trying to navigate our way back to our hotel from the subway each night. We would take the subway into Manhattan each morning, to visit the tourist attractions (statue of liberty, top of the rock, central park, etc.) and return to the hotel in the evening. By the time we would return it would be dark and we had to try and make our way back with our map... the looks we got from the locals were very scary. I prayed we would not get mugged. The hotel staff originally instructed us to exit the subway on Jay. On the last night of our stay, before getting back on the subway, to return to our hotel we decided to call the hotel to explain our concern returning each night, and they explained to us to instead exit on Hoyt. This subway exit ended up to be a lot closer (less walking in the dark). I was a little upset that we were not given these original instructions. My daughter and I were very nervous even with my 6 foot husband by our side. The hotel should consider a shuttle to and from this subway stop, 24 hours. Additionally, if you want to stay in a hotel, centrally located in NYC, where you can return to your room during the afternoon, this is not it. For example (we had very busy days), one day, we did not have time to navigate the subway to return to shower and change at the hotel, in between the statue of liberty tour and a Broadway performance. So we ended up being the most casually dressed family at the Broadway show. Final note, the upgrade (I mentioned above) was great, except it moved us down from a top floor to the fourth floor. This made Friday morning between 2 am & 6 am really NOISY!! The dump trucks came through and we all were woken up and could not get back to sleep. I am a very deep sleeper, I can usually sleep through everything, but, seriously it was that noisy. The trucks, and the guys working the trucks were extremeley loud. This is just not a hotel for newbies to NY. We were there for the first time from California. It is hard enough trying to navigate the subway system so if you are visiting for the first time I highly recommend you do not stay here. If you are thinking you will just take cabs instead to avoid subway /walking confusion... that will not work either. We jumped in a few cabs after getting turned around in Brooklyn, and 2 out of 3 of them did not even know were the hotel was. I had to show them on google maps on my iphone and navigate the cab driver to our hotel. It was ridiculous. Then we would get charged for the cab driver getting lost (the meter was still running!) As for, the "nice street around the corner" that everyone mentions in this review, we never saw it. We were never even informed of this "nicer near by street." Additionally, there is not free coffee in the morning in the lobby (most hotels offer this). I also wanted to speak with someone about tours, sights, etc. and there was not a concierge or anyone available to speak with. I finally found discount coupons for all the sights we went to on the very last day! Bummer, could have saved a lot of money, if the hotel staff had just pointed out the coupons in the lobby during check in. Finally, internet use is $15 dollars a day, unless you use the main lobby computers. I didn't mind that so much....except when I went down to the lobby on Saturday morning and all of the computers were taken by one big group (there was a large family reunion going on). I had to wait 20 minutes to jump online. So bottom line, if you are a tourist or with your family, this is not the place to stay. On the other hand, if you are going on business and know the subway system very well, or just want to stay in the Brooklyn area... and are not going to venture out, this would be a good option.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfamsucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in late June, after spending a week at the Sheraton in Boston. The Sheraton in Brooklyn is more a Four Points by Sheraton than a Sheraton.
Rooms are very small, and we didn't even have anywhere to put our clothes away. The foyer is small, and the (small) pool is only open for a limited time in the late afternoon - evening, due to the requirement to have a lifeguard on duty.

One of the reasons I selected this hotel was that I thought it would be great to enjoy a swin during the day, or after returning for a morning in Manhattan. The lifts were small and there was often a wait for a lift.. The area equipped with computers in the foyer was small.

It is really like a little minuture version of a Sheraton Hotel.

Having said that we got a great deal on Hotwire, and the hotel is located near a number of subways stops to get into Mnahattan, or Brighton Beach or other areas.

I loved the surrounding area, and really enjoyed walking around the local streets and shops. We always felt safe walking around at night, and there are lots of restraunts and shops just a short stroll away.

I woulkd have been very dissappointed if i had paid the rack rate, however I had reserached the property on TA and knew the rooms were small and the room was accptable at a discounted rate.

Jodi

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We got a great rate on Travelzoo, and this hotel was worth every penny. We stayed on a club level floor and with a family of four the extra price was worth it! We took advantage of both the evening reception and morning breakfast and everything was very tasty and fresh.
Cannot say enough about the staff. They very so pleasant, cheerful and helpful!
The Brooklyn location was actually quite interesting and my girls enjoyed the nearby shopping, very different than our typical suburban mall for sure!!
Of course we were visiting the one day the subway broke down, while we were on it, and despite the pouring rain no cabs would agree to drive us to Brooklyn? Shame on you NYC cab drivers! Saw this happening to virtually every family trying to hail a cab. Shouldn't this be illegal? Oh well, rather that give in to a scam, we just walked around Manhattan until the subway came back on line.
We did not feel unsafe at all while walking around the hotel.
Juniors was a fun place for brunch too! Just a short walk away.
The subway is right across the street, but other stations and lines are nearby
The only problem with the location, is the one way streets have changed, so a GPS will send you in circles the wrong way, so a heads up to those driving in!
Our room was beautiful with a spectacular view of the River and Manhattan.
Hopefully the rates will stay lower here, we will definitely be back when visitng New York.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinfieldRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Wow what a wonderful review on the Sheraton Brooklyn. I couldn't have said it better myself.

Thank you so much and thank you for choosing Starwood Hotels.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The street the hotel is on is a little creepy. Most of the businesses and restaurants are closed or boarded up. However,all you have to do is go one block either way for stores and restaurants. The hotel itself was very nice. The rooms were very clean and roomy for N.Y. Most of the staff were attentive and helpful. The bar in the lobby was a nice addition and there is a restaurant in the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Sheraton Brooklyn New York. I will be certain to pass your kind words along to our staff.

I hope you were able to enjoy our suite sleeper mattress and a piece of cheescake from Juniors.

Safe travels


Marie Kupfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Sheraton Brooklyn is so new, it still has the smell of fresh paint in the lobby. It is very conveniently located in downtown Brooklyn--and the seemingly deserted feel of the block it is located on with change in a New York Minute. With convenient access to just about every major Subway line, the evolving Fulton Street Market and the service and comfort you expect from a Sheraton, this place will be popular very quickly. It's a full service establishment with a swimming pool, fitness facility, restaurant and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FourDayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

It was so nice to wake up to this review of the Sheraton Brooklyn. You are correct in saying this property has become very popular very quickly. Great property and staff help make it a cozy get away for the weekend or a nice place to stay for business.

Please be sure to come and visit us soon. I look forward to being your host in the near future.

Regards,
Marie Kupfer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 74 in Brooklyn
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $142 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing