We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Brooklyn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
A TripAdvisor Member
Deerfield, Illinois
13
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great hotel for the area and what we paid. Rooms were very clean, small but not by NY standards. Beds and pillows were comfortable which is very important. Breakfast was what you would expect and just what you need to get the day going. We stayed a couple nights over Christmas to see family near by perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 411 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
5  Thank 54GiudittaG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LQ6328, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ardmore, Tennessee
12
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights while visiting our daughter who lives nearby. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I called ahead to try to locate a good restaurant for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and the young man made calls and gave several suggestions The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed five nights at La Quinta (11-12-13 to 15-12-13) and found it to be an ideal location. The reception staff were all very helpful and polite and gave good advice regarding local amenities and travel hints. The rooms were well appointed, four of us in one room each with two bags of luggage and we never felt cramped, despite some comments regarding the size of the rooms. Beds and linen were very comfortable and were cleaned daily to a very high standard. Yeah, its not downtown Manhattan but the subway is only a five to ten minute walk and you are in midtown Manhattan in twenty five minutes. This small inconvenience is well worth it when considering the cost of accommodation in Manhattan, throw in a hearty breakfast regularly restocked to start your day and you can't go wrong. To be honest it was a relief to escape the pandemonium of Manhattan get back to Brooklyn and chill in one of the local bars and chat with the very friendly locals. Would highly recommend this little gem and I know where I will be heading next time I visit NYC. Thanks so much from Liverpool, England to all the staff who made our stay so welcoming, pleasurable and home from home.

Room Tip: Travellers have stated rooms at the rear are preferable. Our room was on the front 3rd floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Granbybuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel definitely did the trick for a little 3 day getaway to the city. The price could not be beat. The location was great- just a few blocks from the subway. My husband and I enjoyed staying in Brooklyn, as we've previously always stayed in Manhattan. I have no major complaints about the experience. It's not as fancy as other more expensive places, so if that's what you're looking for, you will be disappointed. But I would definitely recommend this for people (like me) who aren't going to be spending a great deal of time in the hotel and need a comfy place to sleep after a long day in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I agree with most of the reviewers: The room was clean, with a comfortable bed, and the staff was pleasant. The location is good - decent neighborhood, with more than a few eating and drinking establishments within a 10 minute walk, from breakfast diners to upscale dining.

It's about a 5-10 minute walk from the subway station. Depending on where in Manhattan you're going, and at a busy time of day, it can be a long ride. I didn't check out cab fares into Manhattan from this property. The $2.75 subway fare was much cheaper, in any case.

The room was small, but that's typical for NYC. I've stayed in smaller places there with a higher rate, so the price was excellent.

We were very lucky to grab one of the last two spots - at 3:00 in the afternoon upon checking in. This was free, and was a great deal, but I think the website makes too much of the free parking, when the number of rooms exceeds the number of available free spots by four times, I'm guessing. On-street parking didn't look to be a big problem, though.

The only reason I didn't go out to 5 stars was because we had one of the "first floor" rooms, which is actually partially subgrade. Although the AC worked OK, it was still very stuffy and we couldn't wait to go outside for fresh air, even when it was cold.

But all in all, we will book here again.

Room Tip: Try not to take rooms on the first floor. You'll be partially underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortysnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed four nights at this Inn. I really did not expect it to meet the usual standards I anticipatet at this brand's inns.It was a pleasant surprise. Rooms are considerably smaller than I am used to, but, face it, it is NY. The whole place was very clean.
I had expected an old building, which it may have been, but it was nicely done with current decor. We had two dogs with us, and they do not charge extra for pets. There is some parking for first come first serve, which we were lucky to access, as many hotels there do not include parking, and that can be very expensive. There is no place special to walk your dogs, so just take your bags and do as the natives do, sidewalks. The neighborhood seemed good and I did not feel intimidated taking dogs out at night. Cost much higher than I usually expect, but seemed in line with the local competitors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.7 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#17 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,068 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Central
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown

Address: 533 3rd Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11215-4623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range: $124 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Brooklyn is located just 5 blocks from a subway station with easy access to Brooklyn sites as well as Manhattan. The Brooklyn Museum, Statue of Liberty, Times Square, and many more famous attractions are easily and affordably accessible from our hotel. Our people first service and clean comfortable accommodations complement our great location, making La Quinta Inn the perfect blend of affordability and comfort for your next trip to NYC. We provide a free continental breakfast, free wifi, and Limited Parking spaces at hotel at $30 a day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Brooklyn Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing