We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall very comfortable stay”
Review of Avenue Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall very comfortable stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a July weekend for a wedding. We wanted to stay somewhere not far from where the wedding was held and were pleasantly surprised with Avenue Plaza.

By recommendation of a customer from TripAdvisor, we requested a room on one of the top floors with a balcony. Our room was facing the main street and, as long as we shut the balcony door, we slept peacefully in a quiet room. The balcony was pretty small, but not a problem for us since it was just the two of us. There was a large, functioning, flat-screen tv with cable channels. There is a mini-fridge and a coffee-maker. My only issue with the room was the way the towels felt. They felt stiff and uncomfortable so you might want to bring your own. We didn't get to experience the continental breakfast. We were told it started at 7:30 AM. However, when we got downstairs on our last morning, the doors to the dining room were locked. They probably would've opened for us if I had said something but I left it alone. The hotel is in a Jewish community, just so you know, so there's no alcohol nearby (that was my husband's only complaint).

The staff at the desk were very friendly and warm. I'm probably butchering the names but Lucasz and Ikram were helpful to us in checking in and out of the hotel (even though our check-out was out of the norm through no fault of the hotel).

Overall, we had a very nice stay. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family, and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curiouser N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
6
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we loved our room especially the comfortable duvets. the room was well equipped with everything you need. if you come friday pm, you can stay until saturday night for only $20 more than during the week. only problem- the hotel rented their front entrance on 13th avenue to Investors Bank, and now you need to come in on 47th st. there is no sign in the front where the hotel states that its their address.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Avenue Plaza multiple times each year for the past 10 yrs. Year in and year out, I have come to rely on the friendly, professional staff and the comfortable, cozy rooms for a consistently pleasant place to stay while in NYC. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neptune318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed last month for a family gathering. I'll start with the good:-

The good: nice helpful staff on reception and in the breakfast room. The room itself was large and the beds were reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was large, clean and with complimentary toiletries. Staff facilitated storage of luggage for a late departure and were happy to give directions, recommendations, and deal with any issues.

The not-so-good: Had a double room at the front of the hotel, and the noise from the street started early in the morning and continued late into the night. Not the fault of the hotel, but perhaps something to be aware of if you can pick a room that isn't facing the main road or the front of the hotel.

We also struggled between the room being freezing and boiling hot if we put the heating on when we went to bed.

There is a coffee machine in the room but you need your own fresh milk to make it truly tasty.

Don't know why, but the lighting in the room is very dim, and we couldn't get the curtains to shut properly. Minor things, but can be irritating.

I think the most disappointing thing for us about this hotel, and the reason I give it a 3 not a 4 rating, was the breakfast. We are probably used to continental style. but we got two trays of cooked eggs (not sure if they were supposed to be omelette or scrambled?), french toast, some plain white and brown bread slices to toast, fresh salad bar and a choice of four cereals (no bran/fibre). There was a bowl of fruit that changed daily, porridge and a waffle maker, but this came without any instructions and invariably people made a mess and wasted a lot of batter (from a bottle) attempted to make a Belgian waffle. It was plentiful but I think we are used to being able to order our eggs and toast to order, and maybe some croissants/bagels/danish. Some pancakes would have been great too, as would a coffee machine offering more than just filter coffee. As breakfast sets you up for the day, and it was included in the price, it could have been so much better, and other guests told me that on previous stays it used to offer more pastries/doughnuts etc.

Breakfast aside, if you need a kosher hotel, this is the place to go. It is conveniently located near the shops and just a few blocks from the subway if you want to go into Manhattan.

Room Tip: Avoid the main road/front of hotel for traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and was very happy with my stay!

The parking is first come first serve but once you are in you are aloud to go in and out as many times as you want. Daily fee of $20.

The room is very clean and spacious. We had a luxury room for three people. The bathroom was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. It does the trick.

The tv has the basic American channels and does the trick. It's a decent flat screen.

The hotel has free wifi and works really well.

The hotel also has a business centre which is FREE.

This hotel is a 100% certified kosher. They have non electric keys for the Shabbat and you can also check out after the sabbath.

The front desk people were very nice as well as all the workers in the hotel.

The hotel offers free breakfast. 8:30-10am. A lot of choices such as two types of scrambled eggs, French toast, make your own waffle stations, salad bar, toast, pasta, potatoes ect. On the sabbath they offer coffee and cake.

You can only light your sabbath candles in the hotel lobby.

Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony because the rooms on the lower floors have very small windows.

Also, beware of the honking cars. They only stop late at night!

I was very satisfied with my stay and would stay here again. Very clean and comfortable. I slept really well. Great neighbourhood!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we stayed 3 nights and got a 10% as my family have stayed in this hotel
large rooms very comfy outsized beds and a large bathroom with all extras
small kitchenette with sink and fridge and a real coffee maker
for new york the price per night for a couple was fair approx $175
THEY HAVE THEIR OWN CARPARK BUT AT $20 PER DAY ITS A LOT OF MONEY
Some rooms have balconies so be sure to ask for one if you are a smoker
breakfast is A!1 typical american with hash browns etc
stayed 7-10 august2012

Room Tip: book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topola42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The comfortable beds, feather pillows, even a toothbrush and toothpaste in case you forgot yours made this hotel a very special place to be in. Not to mention the cleanliness, the amazing breakfast that kept us full until late afternoon, the car service provided by the front desk, forgetting my gold rings and finding them in the same place after the room was cleaned. This hotel beat all the Sheraton hotels I've been to. The caring front desk personnel that helped us meet all our needs and the area--shopping for almost everything. Cheap and tasty pizza nearby. This hotel deserves a ten.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
#29 of 71 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midwood Suites
Midwood Suites
#55 of 71 in Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklyn Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Hotel

Property: Avenue Plaza Hotel
Address: 4624 13th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11219-2630
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Avenue Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing