We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful atmosphere...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 55 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Opelika AL
Level Contributor
198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“wonderful atmosphere...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the time you enter the front door and are greeted by Paul and Trudy you will be glad you chose the Blue Porch for your stay . Trudy and Paul are talented conversationalists and are interested in so many subjects. Paul is an accomplished musician and they have a lovely grand piano in their front parlor. Trudy makes the most delicious breakfasts: homemade biscuits with herbs from her garden, caprese with fresh red tomatoes from the local farmer's market topped with fresh mozzarella and basil pesto...I could go on. We were with them 2 nights and it wasn't enough. We hated to say good-bye. We will definitely return if the fates allow.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a very large and beautiful bath available and then there is another smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailrunnerOpelikaAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
59
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Going to NYC to see our newest grandchild....where to stay? Let me say that we are not typically B&B travelers but we just might become one after the wonderful experience we had at The Blue Porch! Beautiful Victorian home, wonderful accommodations and best of all fascinating hosts have caused us to reconsider our travel preferences. I wish I had some criticism for Paul and Trudy so I could help them improve their accommodations but alas I have none. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I and our 20-year old daughter stayed at the Blue Porch for four nights this past August. As stimulating and entertaining as New York is, we count our time conversing with Paul and Trudy as among our most treasured memories. They opened up their beautiful home and personalities to us, treating us more as long-lost prodigal friends than paying guests. They combined to prepare an incredible breakfast table, guaranteeing that every day began well! When we needed advice or directions, Paul was "on it", anxious and able to provide whatever we needed. The neighborhood is lovely and access to the subway was convenient. New York City was approximately 25-30 minutes away. There is also much to do and see in Brooklyn and I highly recommend making time for Brooklyn Heights, DUMBO and Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Blue Porch. Trudy and Paul are the perfect hosts who made us feel like part of the family and were full of interesting and helpful information about New York. Their home is beautiful with lots of character and original features. Our huge bedroom was lovely and well-equipped whilst the bathroom with twin basins was luxurious. There were many special touches such as fresh garden flowers in the bedroom and bathroom and information cards with interesting walks, some of which we did.

The house is on a very quiet street, a 10 minute walk from the subway stop. There are some very good restaurants in the area and we would recommend Adderley Farm which has a great atmosphere and lovely food.

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at The Blue Porch. From the very warm welcome to a lovely, friendly send off we felt at home from start to finish and will always have very happy memories of our stay.

Jo and Louise, Leigh on Sea, UK.

Room Tip: We would recommend the bedroom with first floor bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast, and it our great pleasure to be able to add to all the wonderful reviews this bed and breakfast has received from its prior guests. Our accommodations were excellent, a spacious bedroom with large closets, a modern private bathroom with a double sink, bathtub and shower, and great breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit and excellent coffee. The Blue Porch is situated on a quiet street just a few short blocks from a subway stop. We particularly enjoyed the friendliness and hospitality of our hosts, and greatly appreciated our interesting and helpful conversations. When we left for home, we genuinely felt that we were leaving friends behind. We hope to be able to make the Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast our place of stay whenever we return to Brooklyn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We loved our time at the Blue Porch. Trudy and Paul were so helpful and kind. We not only enjoyed our rooms (and nice updated bathroom!) but visiting with them and hearing more about Brooklyn and other things to see and do near our destinations. I can't imagine finding a more spacious, quiet retreat in the city. A tip: allow plenty of time to enjoy breakfast--they go all out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetcarolinabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The family makes you feel right at home. Helps you with directions and tips of what to see and do. The breakfast is incredible both for the eye and stomach. Located in a nice quiet area. Comfortable spacious rooms with bath separately. If you are a social person and wants to get close to a genuine New York family, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraStina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
6.6 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#3 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#14 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#2 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
6.9 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.4 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 DeKoven Court, Brooklyn, NY 11230-1707
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast is owner occupied and run in a home built in 1904 in Victorian Brooklyn. Our two bright and airy guestrooms are located on the second floor. The bathroom is private for you and your party, whether you choose one or both bedrooms. One of our guests said it best: Your hospitality is the best in NY! On future trips, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing