We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, homely b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 59 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the Blue Porch for 3 nights. It was right after the hurricane and even though Trudy & Paul must have had a particularly stressful week in the run up to our stay they were excellent hosts and made us feel right at home.
The breakfasts are delicious and they're more than happy to help out with maps and recommendations for the local area.
Both Trudy and Paul are interested and interesting, we would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone looking for a more homely NYC stay.
The room we had was a great size and way more than we could have afforded if staying at a bland hotel in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed with Trudy and Paul for 6 nights. They are the ultimate New York ambassadors, from Trudy's breakfasts which were a work of art to their advice on local restaurants events and local knowledge. Paul would magically appear each morning with maps and information for us. Staying with Trudy and Paul was a highlight of our trip. The area is peaceful, pretty and very easy to access by subway. Why would you stay in a hotel when you could stay here?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenMartinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first trip to New York and we were ever so grateful that we chose Trudy & Pauls excellent Bed and breakfast instead of choosing an anonymous hotel in downtown Manhattan. Everything was exactly as described below: the wonderful room and the outstanding breakfast - nothing more to add. Manhattan was easily reachable by express metro b and local train q. But also the direct neighbourhood and Brooklyn itself are really worth seeing. Your hospitality really made the difference to our trip, as well as your insights to the cities places. Thanks to the music at breakfasts we finally ended up listening to a concert in Avery Fisher Hall :). Thanks so much, we hope to come back! We wish you all the best and all future guests a wonderful stay at the Blue Porch B&B

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our gracous hosts Paul & Trudy gave us a most memorable New York / Brooklyn visit that we will not forget.The delectable breakfasts and directions given to us daily during our stay were most helpful to getting us around. Their beautifully kept victorian home is a bit squeaky and a little crooked adding to its charm and antiquity and we loved the the old well used brissled broom in the front blue porch.
John & Helen.

Room Tip: sunny airy large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnm255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at The Blue Porch B&B for 8 nights, and can only echo other reviews and recommend it without hesitation. The accommodation is superb, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfasts are generous and delicious, and Trudy and Paul are wonderful hosts. The subway is very close to the B&B and I walked there and back, on my own, at all times of the day / night. Manhattan (midtown) is approximately 30-40minutes - extremely convenient. Paul's 'off the beaten track' recommendations are real gems. Nothing is too much trouble for Trudy and Paul - they went out of their way to make my holiday memorable and special.

Room Tip: As there are only 2 rooms, book early,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Ah, what can I say. Go there. Stay there. Have a great time. If you want an unpersonal corporate anonymous hotel in uptown Manhattan, you will be bitterly disappointed here ;-)

It's a lovely, peaceful yet mixed area with good amenties. Subway literally 5 minutes away.

As others have written, our room was very roomy, clean and the bathroom first-rate. And the breakfasts the stuff of legends.

Note to Europeans: B&B in the USA is more of an upmarket thing than e.g. in the UK. And it's worth every penny.

Thank you Trudy and Paul for a marvellous welcome and a great start to our holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Trudy and Paul were lovely hosts in this beautiful bed and breakfast nestled in Brooklyn. The rooms were lovely...we had a bay window that overlooked beautiful DeKoven Court. The breakfasts were wonderful...Trudy's puree, scones, and apple dish were superb. What made the breakfast even better was music that was playing in the background. The Blue Porch is also conveniently located near subway lines that take you into the city. Overall, it was such a wonderful place to stay, and Trudy and Paul were a delight to have met. I plan on staying there again when in Brooklyn. Trudy & Paul, thank you for letting us share in your hospitality and warmth...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aamaris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.6 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.1 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
300 reviews
6.6 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#22 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,044 reviews
4.1 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 72 in Brooklyn
932 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#25 of 72 in Brooklyn
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 DeKoven Court, Brooklyn, NY 11230-1707
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range: $125 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast is owner occupied and run in a home built in 1904 in Victorian Brooklyn. Our two bright and airy guestrooms are located on the second floor. The bathroom is private for you and your party, whether you choose one or both bedrooms. One of our guests said it best: Your hospitality is the best in NY! On future trips, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing