We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful intimate dining experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petite Crevette

Petite Crevette
Ranked #1,077 of 5,292 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
161 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Delightful intimate dining experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have loved dining at this charming, intimate restaurant since the day it opened. The personable chef/owner is always on hand for friendly conversation. The food is delicious. The fish is fresh. There are always wonderful choices. With restaurant wine prices so high these days, the BYOB policy is definitely a plus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynBubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“French dissapoitment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were very excited about trying this place because of the reviews. Restaurant was extremely hot cause the place is extremely tight if you are claustrophobic this is not your place, the menus are in the walls written very small and almost impossible to read we have to go online to read it. We had the fried oysters and they were just ok bland no taste, my husband had the branzino fresh but nothing special and I got the ciopino was ok but if you hungry this will luke like an appetizer. The only out of the ordinary and really delicious was the olive oil with the bread. We will not be back.

Helpful?
Thank Marelisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Fish Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This cozy and casual restaurant, in Brooklyn, is one of the best Fish dishes ever.
Is all about the Provencale fish experience, with delicious seafood, whole grilled branzino fish, cioppino with an amazing suculent wine broth to lick your fingers.
And much more divine dishes.
Try the famous fried oysters with the spicy mustard dash on the side.
Best of all, is that you bring your wine!
Friendly staff and when the owner, Neil Ganic, is in the kitchen, you are in for a culinary experience.
I highly recomend this spot!
And when you are done dining, check out the corner bar Flying Lobster, with great atmosphere, serving great wine and beer.
And saturday nite they have live jazz band!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myrapisarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“One of the best deals in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Why? Besides the excellent food, BYOB! It's easy to overlook just how much a decent bottle of wine purchased at restaurant prices can empty your wallet. I'm particular about my wines so I have my own small "cellar". Being able to bring a bottle or two to a restaurant can save me fifty bucks or more off the tab.

I've been to Petite several times and will endorse all the positive comments here about its usual fare. I've got nothing to add to it. However last week, the hostess said they had swordfish steak as a special. That was my all-time favorite food as a kid so I had to order it. Together with fried oysters, it describes at least five of my childhood birthday dinners. Along with our bottle of La Rioja Alta Vina Alberdi 2006, I was in heaven. Alas, no German chocolate cake at Petite though, but I would have needed 62 candles anyway.

I've been dining in chef Neil Ganic's restaurants since 1993 and the original La Bouillabaisse on Atlantic Avenue. I've eaten at least 50 meals in his various establishments and he has never used anything other than fresh seafood delivered that day, including live lobsters. That's one of the reasons why Petite keeps bringing me back. Six large (they aren't small at all) oysters for $12 is a steal in this part of Brooklyn too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday girl made the right choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We would recommend this restaurant and will definitely return. Went early saturday and made our selections then relaxed with our wine, bread and dip. Totally enjoyed my corn and crab chowder then the scallops entree. Because the restaurant filled up soon after, we waited a bit ...no prob. as the wait staff and Neil came and advised us. Other 3 cleared their plates then coffee and fruit tart. We were not rushed as more customers arrived. Neil came by to advise of live jazz in the other part of the bldg. and glasses of wine (on him). The band was very youthful and kept our feet tapping.
Will definitely return to try other items on the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petite Crevette also viewed

 

Been to Petite Crevette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing