We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Vinegar Hill House

Vinegar Hill House
Ranked #92 of 5,416 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Water & Front
Transit: York Street off of the F train
Ottawa Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had a bit of a hard time too find because we took the subway and then walked: not recommend! However what a nice surprise when we arrived. We loved the casual and friendly atmosphere. The food was amazing, especially the squash side dish. Had a great time and even met some interesting people.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BreeOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful for brunch.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a unique and remarkable spot. Our cabbie got lost about 3 times and finally turned the meter off. Still it's worth it - you walk in the door and you're taken back in time. The brunch menu was not extensive but it had it all - unique satisfying flavors, amazing bloody marys and a pancake main dish that defies description. We had all had lots of to eat, but we still almost ordered a third one to split - it is one of the best things you have ever eaten. The service was terrific - even stored our bags for us on the way to LaGuardia. The ambiance will make you melt with good memories...would love to try an evening meal here sometime. Be sure you have your GoogleMap app fired up if it's your first time. (Be sure to also drop into the Japanese importer's shop around the corner to the north. Amazing stuff)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just across the Brooklyn Bridge is a great little funky restaurant called the Vinegar Hill House located at 72 Hudson Avenue. We had eaten there once for Sunday brunch and were very pleased so we went back a couple of months later for dinner. It's not much to look at from the outside and a little rustic on the inside but the food is excellent. It's small so I would suggest reservation as it seems to turn but is always full at the 8:00 dinner hour. We ordered the chicken liver mousse topped with pistachios appetizer which was delicious! Could have eaten two with no problem. We ordered the veal short rib which would be my choice again as well as the Mezze Maniche/ pork ragu'. Both meals were outstanding. They do have a 8? Seat bar and a small outside area if you have to wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant after a friend's recommendation and we were really pleased we did. We had a simple pear salad to start, and then i had chicken and my partner had pork. Simple food beautifully cooked in wood oven, tender, fresh and tasty. We were warned of a 40 min wait for main course as everything cooked fresh which was fine by us. Booking on their website was really easy and service good. We paid around 100 dollars for 1 starter, 2 mains, 2 sides and two glasses of wine. Everything was excellent. Enjoyed walk before too along brooklyn heights to amazing view of manhattan skyline. Great evening and a highlight of our trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just delicious food with creative cocktail”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

3 times at vinegar hill. Creative cuisine amazingly well cooked duck, pork & veggies. Great cocktail. Long wait

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DamienBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinegar Hill House also viewed

 

Been to Vinegar Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing