We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burger, love the cocktails, good crowd, hot bartenders”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Leaves

Five Leaves
Ranked #10 of 5,322 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great burger, love the cocktails, good crowd, hot bartenders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

If you like being served by unconventionally beautiful young Brooklyn folks and eating amongst the same type, come here. Burger was good with truffle fries. Lamb shepherds pie was just gorgeous and comforting and real homecooking in style. The ricotta stole the show with the fruit toast accompaniment. Liked the cocktail list. Like the atmosphere. Have been several times and always have to queue. Be prepared to bang elbows with your dining neighbours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimSP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    142
    19
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I grew up in Brooklyn and was skeptical about heading to this restaurant in Williamsburg/Greenpoint section. When I lived there, it was a rough part of town. Now it is on the edge, trendy, hip and apparently the place to be.

Now to the restaurant. Went for Sunday morning breakfast and the my wife and I shared the pancakes with fresh fruit. The ricotta pancakes were simply the best that we ever had. Now only were they delicious, the two of us could not even finish them. We also had fresh squeezed OJ, which was superb.

The restaurant was buzzing with people and all tables were filled (inside and outside). The crowd was a combination of local families (some with young children) and the early 20's crowd. Very tight seating arrangements but that seems to help with the vibe.

All good and I am so happy to see this part of Brooklyn making a comeback. Will be back for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eppyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The best place in Williamsburg - I go back here every time I visit NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This really is the business. It does get busy, but it's worth the wait.
Great food, great cocktails, great service, great great great.
Great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“If you’re looking for a brunch place in Greenpoint, look no further ;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I almost want to tell you that this place is terrible and to stay away so that it won’t get overly crowded on the weekends, but I don’t want to be selfish. This corner restaurant has ‘brilliant’ written all over it. The décor is simple, vintage-looking, cozy, and the tables are beautifully decorated with wildflowers inside mason-like jars. The service is attentive. I have to admit, I’ve only had dinner once here, and it was pretty good. I have visited the place a couple of times for brunch, and it’s amazing. I love the menu, because they offer a limited amount of dishes, all sound gourmet, but have that comfort food-taste to it. From the options that I have tried, I strongly recommend the Moroccan Scramble. It’s an egg omelet, with grinded merguez sausage (combination of both lamb and beef), topped with spicy chickpeas, above a bed of avocado, and all served over a loaf of sour dough bread. Do not miss this place if you’re around the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NofSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been here several times while visiting my friend in Brooklyn, the food never disappoints! I usually order the BLAT (bacon, lettuce, AVOCADO!, and tomato) and my friend orders the ricotta pancakes! Both are fantastic! The BLAT has a cumin-lime mayo on it which is to die for. I always try to replicate this when I make them at home! And for not being a pancake person, I always end up eating off my friend's plate because the pancakes are insanely good and topped with tons of fruit.

Brunching on weekends here can definitely be quite a wait but if the weather's nice you can stand outside and people watch, always interesting. Definitely one of my favorite brunches in Brooklyn and I always beg to go when I'm visiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Leaves also viewed

 

Been to Five Leaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing