We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best breakfast in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Leaves

Five Leaves
Ranked #12 of 5,292 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant was worth the trip to Brooklyn from Manhattan. I had the scrambled eggs with chickpeas and moroccan sausage over a crunchy sour dough slice of bread. My husband had the pancakes with fresh fruit. This was the second time visiting this restaurant and I would definitely go again. I loved the vintage vibe with the vinyl turntable playing old school music, certainly adds to the atmosphere. The only negative was the bartenders attitude as we sat at the bar to have our breakfast. He didnt acknowledge us and even when we asked for the bill he rolled his eyes. I cant say I was happy about it but then again the food was justification enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    141
    18
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We got there on a chilly Saturday (very late) morning and had to wait maybe 20 minutes. But it was worth it. I chickened out and did not have the Bloody Mary (too early for me) or any other cocktail (the bison vodka one sounded very enticing) settling lamely for hot tea. Not so my companions. In any case, the Moroccan Scramble, the Gravelax and the Muesli were all breakfast and lunch wrapped in one. We watched in awe as tables around us were served and would have gladly sampled everything. The place is small, fun, laid-back. Service is great. Definitely wirth the trip and the wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food, awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place rocks! The food is super, you get it fast and the prices are good. I ate a veggie burger and had their delicious truffel fries with it. Both awesome! The service was very nice and fast even though the place was packed. The restaurant is on a nice area and the atmosphere of the place cool and relaxed. They don't take table reservations and since the place is very very popular it's better to go during not popular times. I highly recommend Five Leaves!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was a nice place where you can sit and eat a good meal without pushiness.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was very good. The meat and cheese plate were very good and filling ad a meal for two people. The poplova for dessert was very good. The cream, flaky crust and were very good.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always packed!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This little neighbourhood gem is always packed, tried scoring a table for brunch on a sunday but the wait was more than a hour...couldn't wait too hungry. Came back for lunch on a Monday and it was still packed...almost like their Brunch from sunday was still in full swing!! Anyway managed to squeeze in with a minimal 10 min. wait, and when I say squeeze I mean literaly, the tables are packed so tight next to each other that you have to slide in sideways and pray your behind dosn't swipe your neighbours drink all over their lap!! Once precariously seated we settled down to a very good meal, their beer selection is not bad with a few good craft beers on tap. All the usual suspects great selection of all day breakfast with some interesting sounding eggs...I had the cheese burger which was done right, although I would have personaly prefered a toasted brioche bun rather than the bun they used which did not hold the burger and it disintegrated all over my plate..but the burger was flavoured well. My Wife had a Tomato Soup which was average but her Salad with Quinoa was just fine. Would definitly come back to try the Brunch or all day breakfast....seems like thats the hot ticket here. All in all the food is very fresh and the service fast but be prepared for a tight squeeze....p.s. if you are super skinny like most of the hip people in Greenpoint / Williamsburg invariably are dont bother with the squeeze!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Leaves also viewed

 

Been to Five Leaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing