We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs in this Hotel”
Review of Sleep Inn Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn Brooklyn
Ranked #50 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Hi guys
This October, I spent two night in this hotel and noe i'm totally covered in bedbugs bite. I suggest to you " don't go there".

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

This place was disgusting. It looked nothing like the pictures posted on the site, and after reading the reviews it seems that most of the people that are happy with this place are smokers. Maybe the smoke covers the smell of body odor, urine and trash.
When we checked in our hotel room smelled like a homeless man, literally. The bed area smelled like a trash can, the bathroom smelled of urine (because there was urine in the tile and all around the base of the toilet) and the shower curtain smelled like someone had used it as towel to dry their nasty sweaty body.
The floor had not been properly vacuumed, there were toenail clippings at the bedside. There were 3 rooms total for our party and all 3 stunk, we had to open the windows to air it out enough to be able to sleep.
I called the desk the first night to ask to chnge room, there were none others available. The second night the manager came in, after complaining again) and watched over the 2 housekeepers as they " recleaned" the room. They put down and odor removing carpet powder and cleaned up the bathroom ( I had already cleaned it w/ lysol wipes) and they replaced the shower curtain. This did help, but we still had to keep the window open so that it didn't smell like a homeless man. The male housekeeper had Body Odor so bad that he literally stunk up the whole floor. When he walked down the hall he took everyone out in his path. It was disgusting, not to mention the malodorous smell he left behind in each room. I don't know how in the world the manager of a hotel wouldnt/cldnt pick up on this when she was right here beside him!
The hotel staff was honest, we left a camera behind and with a prepaid return pickup, it was returned to us.
I would definitely spend a few xtra $s and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank me4meye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were impressed with how clean this hotel was. Don't be turned off by the fact that it's in an Industrial neighbourhood. It was very quiet, both night and day. The only downside is that it's a bit of a walk to the nearest subway (4 blocks) or restaurants (2 blocks). You can ask the front desk to call their car service for you, and they're reasonably priced. The breakfasts are a little scanty: boiled eggs, 2 kinds of cold cereal, bagels, bread, donuts, apples and oranges, as well as coffee, tea and an assortment of very good juices. We were promised that there would be sausages but that didn't happen. Yogourt would have been nice, as well as a wider assortment of breakfast fruit like bananas.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcelonabren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

after reading the remarks left by other people i was a little bit scared of staying here . we booked 2 rooms and had to small children with us. first impressions the hotel was in a very poor looking area. we checked in within 5 minutes no problem. went to our room to find it very clean and tidy yes the hall smelt of smoke but we chose to stay in smoking room so that was expected inside there was no smell at all except of cleaning fluids. the beds was comfy and there was plenty of room for 4 of us. only problem was when the doors closed it was loud. the breakfast was okay. a small area but we seemed to get a table everyday. plenty on offer to. the staff was friendly and helpful and they arranged our taxis and at a reasonable price. It took ten minute walk to subway.then an 40 minute ride to get to time square but we was prepared for that. we saved alot of money staying here and to be truthful you people are to fussy and want the best for the fraction of the price. the area was run down but we didn't once have a problem. i didnt see any hookers or bikers and we stopped a week. its a great base to stop if you are on a budget. while it was for us.

Room Tip: smoking rooms are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank anna904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

What? Does Sleep Inn erase all of their bad reviews? There are plenty of them! First of all, stay here if you like hookers on the corner, bikers surrounding the hotel, and filthy accomadations! PLEASE read some of the comments on their website....one man arrived to find a naked couple in his room and saw a woman wearing bloody pajamas wandering down the hall. Another said he found dirty trash in the room and it smelled of dirty feet! Any complaint to the hotel manager has been dismissed with,"The bikers help us with the OTHER people".....whoever the other people are. Horrible area surroundings. My husband was propositioned as he exited the car by a hooker in front of the "no-tell motel".....Under ANY set of circumstances...PLEASE do not stay here. I made a terrible mistake by booking online, without seeing the reviews. The hotel doesn't even LOOK like the picture in the website. Don't be fooled!!

Room Tip: Go Somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank cyndilynn1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Its a LONG way from manhattan.
The rooms are tiny.
The rooms STINK, shower curtains are moldy.
Staff are useless
Enjoy your breakfast while you breathe in bleach as the cleaner cleans the lobby.
Spend a few $$$ extra and stay somewhere ALOT nicer

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farsideoftheearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I was doing a stop over in NY due to hurricane. I found this hotel to be very clean upon entrance. Front desk staff was very friendly. Room was clean. Checked sheets, towels, tub and comode and it passed with flying colors. Neighborhood as run down and parking although available is limited to space. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
#29 of 72 in Brooklyn
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklyn Bay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn

Address: 247 49th St, Brooklyn, NY 11220-1708
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sleep Inn Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing