We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #34 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would Stay Again”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Arrived off an early flight, as our room was ready booked straight in.This is an old hotel, quirky in its décor, but very clean and comfortable for our needs.Excellent housekeeping, always had clean bathroom and plenty of towels.The reception staff we felt went over and above, as the subway was only 5 minutes away, enquiries as to where we wanted to go were always accompanied with pamphlets and written instructions to the train changes needed, so never got lost. Although located in a semi industrial area, did not find noise an issue, and even the Kareoke bar next to the hotel was not bothersome and our room was several floors above it. The free breakfast provided was a plus. Value for money, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeanandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    48
    30
    11
    18
See reviews for
19
49
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The location was great, the a/c was cold and the the room was clean. I only stayed for one night. I came in late at night and the clerk was nice and helpful. When I checked out in the morning the lady at the front desk was nice an helpful and geve me good directions to the subway that was right around the block.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simchafirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've struggled to find something good to say about this place, but it is only five minutes walk from the Metro. The previous two nights We'd stayed in a hotel a similar distance from the centre of Washington DC and that was excellent, so as this place was $10 a night more we were hoping for similar.
Firstly the neighbourhood, which I know they can't change, was Rough and Scary. We walked home after dark and my wife was petrified. It's surrounded by industrial premises.
The things they did have control of; the decor was bleak dated and tatty in the communal areas and rooms. Facilities Nil. Rooms basic and tatty. No tea/coffee making facilities. Bed uncomfortable and needed a thorough clean. Spent the whole time there scratching. Breakfast, which they highlight as being Free, should be. The worst I've encountered anywhere in the world. Bread and preserves, with coffee and juice. My wife drinks tea and even has her own tea bags but no hot water and no staff to ask. Everything awful!
This place may be appealing because of its proximity to the Metro, but don't bother, you'll regret it.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fatfunfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel was very close to the Subway station, an all night deli and was also very clean. The rooms were a little small and we felt a little cramped with both our cases on the floor. The only criticism I have about this hotel is that it is quite noisy. The walls are quite thin and you can hear almost everything. It was quite hard to sleep a whole night. If staying here you need to invest in some ear plugs.

Room Tip: You desperately need to sound proof the rooms. We could hear everything, the lift cables, the cleane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Shella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANILA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We were apprehensive at first to
book, since we will be staying in NYC for 1 week, But we did, and NO regretsThe location was perfect, just one block fr 9th ave staion on line D subway. And its sp easy to transfer to line D. Coming fr JFK airport, we just took the airtrain, transfered to subway line A going to Howard Beach up to 59 th St them transferred to Line D downtown Brooklyn to Coney Island. Got off at 9th Ave. And the breakfast was superb. The place was quiet and safe. Oh and they have an icemaker, in case one needs some ice and hot water dispenser, What else can one ask for . Will be staying here again if I do come back to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MANILAROSE59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here early March to visit our granddaughter on her 1st birthday. The hotel was nice and the staff was extremely nice. There were a couple small items however that i will note.....the bathroom lighting was dark. I had to go to the window to apply my makeup. Not sure if the other rooms were like that. Also had issues with our tv, but they did send someone up right away to fix. Other than that, it was a very nice place to stay. I wanted to peek at the upper patio area on the top floor and it indeed has a wonderful view. They keep it closed during the winter time. There was a city park across the street which was nice. We heard the breakfast was excellent, but they do not serve everyday and we missed our chance to eat there. I would recommend Toby's coffee for their excellent coffee and breakfast sandwiches. It was about five blocks away, within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
#29 of 72 in Brooklyn
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
2.5 mi away
Midwood Suites
Midwood Suites
#59 of 72 in Brooklyn
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 820 39th St, Brooklyn, NY 11232-3230
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing