We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Step back in time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The women in the breakfast service was rude and not helpful if you where looking for something....with this attitude she needs to find a job that does not involve customer service....Discrace.....

There was no fridge in the room....the decor was outdated.... Looked like we stepped back in time .... The pool was full of rubbish ..... Very poor indeed.....

The location however is probably next to none as you walk around the corner and you are on Hollywoods strip.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    46
    30
    11
    16
See reviews for
18
47
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This four year old, five floor facility towers above its low rise neighbors in a mixed residential, mostly industrial neighborhood. Outside and inside its bright lighting and highly polished hard surfaces and floors all announce its preserved newness by way of cleanliness and good maintenance.

Otherwise, it's an adequate, cheap motel with cheezey fixtures and thin bedding. Car parking is eight very tight, first come first served garage spaces. Public transport is a City bus running by or a long two block walk to to City elevated/subway. Included breakfast is good if you like OK coffee, apples, bananas, yogurt, and carbs, carbs, carbs.

Cleanliness is what sells this place, and we would consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Squarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for four nights recently and were really pleased with the hotel. We were given a room on the forth floor, so no problem with noise etc (as there is a pub / night club attached to the hotel which goes on into the very early hours.)
The subway was literally at the end of the street, we took the subway from Manhattan back to the hotel every night at about 11pm / 12 midnight and didn't feel unsafe in the area at all. It takes about 20 or 30 minutes to get into the city on the subway.
We only had breakfast one of the mornings, it was basic but filled a gap! There's a pretty good deli at the end of the street too.
Wifi access is pretty good and there's a pc that guests can use free of charge in the lobby.
The staff on the front desk (especially a young asian girl) were helpful and friendly. I was wary booking Kings hotel as there aren't too many reviews on it but would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend & would stay again.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room higher than the third or forth floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very Good, Helpfull and Friendly Staff.
The room was nice and clean.
The location is near to a subwaystation.
ery recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Good location nearby the subway station that takes you right into Manhattan. Checking in early was no problem, all it took was a phone call to housekeeping and ten minutes later our room was ready. Breakfast was too early for us, so no comment on that.
Summary: Good location, friendly people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#35 of 68 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Prospect Park South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
#28 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
2.4 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#44 of 68 in Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 820 39th St, Brooklyn, NY 11232-3230
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing