We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like living in New York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 55 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like living in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

First off, this review is about the accommodation in Clermont, not the B&B. Clermont is its own property, practically a studio apartment, on Clermont St. near Fort Greene.

The unit itself is lovely. It's tastefully and thoughtfully decorated to make the guests feel welcome, not a bland generic shell of a unit to house warm bodies. The door opens to a spacious bedroom, which has a comfortable bed for two, a cushy armchair and footstool, a small TV, and a faux fireplace with a mantel and mirror on top. The decor is of vintage style, I would say. The hallway that leads to the kitchen is where the closet and wall-mounted coat rack are, and the kitchen is huge, with all the necessary tools, appliances, and utensils for those who wish to cook and dine en suite. The bathroom at the end of the kitchen is small but does its job well. Between the kitchen and the bathroom is a door that leads to a patio. I wasn't expecting this, so it was a totally lovely surprise to open the door to a modest lawn blanketed in snow.

Because Clermont is a distance away from where the B&B and the owners/managers are, there is no breakfast and regular housekeeping (you have to call for maid service). But everything you need is in the property, including spare towels, blankets, and pillows.

The location is perfect(ish). To be honest, I chose to stay in Brooklyn only because our stay in New York coincided with the Super Bowl weekend, when rates in Manhattan were just crazy. It turned out to be a great idea--especially if your New York itinerary includes Brooklyn. And why wouldn't it? Brooklyn is awesome, with plenty of character, off-the-tourist-trail attractions, and hands-down the best pizzas in New York. The Clermont neighborhood is also fantastic. Literally across the street is a deli grocery, and on the same block to the left and right of Clermont St. are restaurants to keep you nourished (there's a bagel shop that also has Middle Eastern fare to-go), as well as a convenience store that sells MetroCard unlimited passes. The "perfect(ish)" part of my description refers to the subway stations around the property. The closest one is for the G line, which doesn't run to Manhattan, and the stations for trains that do are a littler farther to walk to. But it's all good, because you're walking in a lovely, quiet neighborhood.

All in all, I enjoyed the experience of living in New York that Lefferts' Clermont property afforded us. Forget AirB&B if you're looking for similar accommodation in Brooklyn. I checked, and the prices for comparable properties are higher. This is the real deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmarchNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    106
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
109
136
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico city
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Excellent service! The rooms are really clean, with a great location near Manhattan!, the bathrooms are also clean! I didn't have problems during my stance, the subway it's really close, and the neighborhood it's pretty calm, I'd recommend it to all!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I've stayed here multiple times and have fallen in love with the house. Looking forward to my next stay. You can't ask for a better way to experience all that New York has to offer, on a budget. Incredibly easy to get to Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl19822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I'm in love. I stayed at Leffert's for the NYC runs brrrroklyn half marathon on 1/25. The location to prospect park is unbelievable. My room was small but comfortable - perfect for my trip. Down-feeling comforter on the bed, soft pillows... I was out like a light when I hit the bed. They provided trader joe's bath products in the bathroom! Though there is 1 shared bathroom per floor, I didn't have any waiting to use it or anyone else's messes to deal with. Very clean. Mark was very very accommodating. Can't wait for my next race in Brooklyn so I can stay here again. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iris120382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before, so I was a bit skeptical especially in terms of privacy. However, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I enjoyed the peace and quiet which gave me opportunity to rest after a long journey and prepare for a long day ahead. Definitely lots of coffee and tea to drink downstairs. Connie was especially helpful with directions and Mark is such a great person and interesting to talk with.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I made a last minute reservation at Lefferts Manor due to the unexpectedly early birth of my grandson. Mark Osborne quickly and graciously responded. The house is a lovely Victorian brownstone on a quiet residential street not far from subway and restaurants. I stayed in the grand Fitzgerald Room which is large, clean and decorated with charming period details. The king bed was comfortable, and bed linens were sumptuous. There is a shared bathroom but since no one else was staying, I felt as though I had my own private bath. Breakfast is offered in the dining room for $10., but I did not eat there. I needed to extend my stay and since the Fitzgerald Room was booked, Mark and his staff moved me to the Blue Room in another property a couple of blocks away. Again, it was charming; bed was comfortable, elegant linens, sumptuous towels, shared bathroom that wasn't shared. The kitchenette was stocked with water, coffee and tea. Throughout my week long stay, Mark and his folks were friendly, responsive and accommodating. This is a great value, and I will definitely stay here in the future.

Room Tip: The Fitzgerald Room and the Blue Room are both lovely and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the blue room Thanksgiving week to be near family in Brooklyn. We could not have been more pleased. Checking in and out was a breeze. The folks at Lefferts could not have been easier to work with. The neighborhood was lovely with good restaurants near by. The bed was comfortable, the room nice, and the kitchen perfect for a morning cup of coffee or tea and maybe more

Room Tip: We liked being in the Blue Room in the Lady Fenimore House. It was very quiet, very private. The Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#7 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 70 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#11 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 80 Rutland Rd, Brooklyn, NY 11225-5313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, owner-operated B&B offering a modest variety of accommodations in charming Brooklyn, New York. We provide complimentary Wi-Fi, coffees & teas, linens, towels, & soap. The rooms blend Victorian architecture, modern Eastern design, and classic at-home comfort. We are right next to Prospect Park and just 15 minutes to Manhattan on the train! After years in the business, memorable guests, and gracious press from the likes of The New York Times and Le Figaro, we are proud to continue providing an affordable, peaceful, and reliable home from which to explore New York. Our rates may vary depending on our calendar so please contact us directly for the most up-to-date information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefferts Manor Hotel Brooklyn
Lefferts Manor Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing