We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flat on Fenimore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Flat on Fenimore”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My daughter and I stayed for 4 nights at the Flat on Fenimore , booked through Lefferts Manor. The flat was cozy clean,and adequate , and had air conditioning which was great as it was very warm and humid in NY. The only thing that was missing was a hot plate . There is a microwave, refrig, and tea and coffee maker and sufficient flatwear, but atleast we could have cereal and such which saved on expense. Was about 4 blocks from the metro. Roxanne the owner was very pleasant and accomodating. Safe neighborhood and a geat mexican restaurant not far away. Would recommend to others.The owner of Lefferts Manor, Mark , was very helpful with all of our concerns.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    110
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
112
138
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Mark and Monie are great host.
They catered to our needs ( 4 high maintenance girls from london) and provided excellent information to help our trip run smoothly. The house has a rustic traditional charm that you wouldn't find in a hotel, featured fireplaces detailed coving gave each room an individual charm. We had no problems sharing a bathroom which was cleaned everyday. Towels were provided and the beds were large and comfortable.
The breakfast is a must, fluffy strawberry and blueberry pancakes were to die for.
Located well for travelling into manhattan as well as other brooklyn areas. Prospect Park which is a short stroll away is a great chill out from the hustle and bustle of the city. We loved this B&B and will definitely stay again! Thanks guys

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kallalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My partner and i went down to Brooklyn for the weekend and, unfortunately, Hurricane Irene decided to visit NYC as well. We arrived on a Friday and were promptly greeted by Mark Osbourne, the owner of the inn. Since we had taken an early morning flight, our room was just getting cleaned, but Mark offered us coffee, tea, etc while we waited. We went outside where we sat on the steps of the beautiful historic brownstone and read for a bit before we met Mark's wife and partner of the B&B. She is very personable and kind with a warm demeanor. They make a great business team and a very cute couple. While we waited we talked about the history of their home and got to learn a bit about how they became inn keepers. Within 30 minutes our room was ready and Mark offered to help us carry our baggage up.
The room we stayed in was tastefully decorated with a classic B&B finish to it. The bathroom on our floor, which was the 3rd floor, had an awesome claw-foot bathtub, making me with it was winter instead of summer so that I could enjoy a nice hot soak in it. I was truly amazed at how beautiful the home was considering the great price of each room. Our room was only a third of what we might have had to pay had we opted to stay in Manhattan. The subway is less than half a mile away from Lefferts Manor, and only takes about 15 minutes before you are in the heart of NYC. Paying over $300/night in Manhattan is absolutely ludicrous when we could just stay in Brooklyn.
As I had mentioned before, Hurricane Irene arrived in NY the same weekend we did and on Friday night, the same night we arrived, we received an email from our airline telling us that our returning flight on Monday was cancelled and rescheduled for Thursday. This was simply not going to work for us, as we had to get home to our jobs and school. We tried to get another flight out at an earlier time but had no luck doing so. Amtrak and Greyhound also shut down so we opted to rent a car to drive home to Boston. We had to leave in a rush on Saturday morning because the MTA (NYCs public transit system) was shutting down by noon and unfortunately Mark was not home for us to speak with face to face.
The entire ordeal was so chaotic and Mark was extremely patient with us throughout the whole mess. He even held our room for us until he knew for sure that we had scored a rental car and were actually on the road and heading home. When we got home I sent him an email apologizing for everything and asking him if we would simply lose out on the 2 nights we had already paid for. He immediately offered us a future credit for the money we prepaid and was so kind and understanding. My partner and I could not have been more thrilled and we have plans to go back to Lefferts Manor this December.
Wish us luck that a blizzard doesn't land in NYC that week......

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My friend and I did a girls overnight, much needed from our very hectic lives. We wanted to check out the Brooklyn Flea and after much research decided to stay here. From the moment we arrived, we were feeling the disconnect between the pictures online and the experience in person. We had fun compiling a list for those that are thinking about a stay here: If you like: peeling paint, dust and dirt, no TV, dead bolting your bedroom door, being ditched by Innkeepers, getting out of bed to turn out the lights, missing a murder by 20 minutes on the way home from Lincoln Street Subway at 8:45pm, coming home to a dark B&B at night....look no further...THIS is the B&B for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Having been to New York three times and staying in some bad places. I have never stayed at a better place than Lefferts Manor. With an ideal location in Brooklyn close to metro stations which can take you right into the heart of Manhatten and a really nice traditional guesthouse, Lefferts manor is an ideal place to stay when travelling to New York. The innkeeper is extremely friendly and helpful and will answer any questions you have about the area and New York in general. In short, I would recommended Lefferts Manor to anybody and will definately stay there again!

Room Tip: The best room in the guesthouse is the Fitzgerald room, really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fullerface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

From the off, our host Mark went out of his way to be helpful and informative. He gave us tips and orientated us as soon as we arrived, sorted out an extra key with no bother, and helped us carry our luggage to the Flat round the corner where we stayed for nights 2 and 3. He's friendly and a brilliant host with personality.

Both Lefferts and The Flat had lots of period features too eg original tiles in bathroom, a wonderfully powerful shower and spacious rooms with interesting bits of furniture. Having been to NYC before, we both found it refreshing to stay in a house rather than a hotel. It was a home away from home and made us feel like Brooklynites. And everyone we met in the neighbourhood was super friendly too. All in all, couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Mark Osborne is the BEST! :-) He was very attentive and treated me and my friends very well. Hospitality bar none! Breakfast was well worth it and highest compliments to the Chef. I hope to visit again next month in August; hopefully there will be availability. Thanks a million!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAYE3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#17 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,055 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#25 of 72 in Brooklyn
759 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
2.2 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 80 Rutland Rd, Brooklyn, NY 11225-5313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, owner-operated B&B offering a modest variety of accommodations in charming Brooklyn, New York. We provide complimentary Wi-Fi, coffees & teas, linens, towels, & soap. The rooms blend Victorian architecture, modern Eastern design, and classic at-home comfort. We are right next to Prospect Park and just 15 minutes to Manhattan on the train! After years in the business, memorable guests, and gracious press from the likes of The New York Times and Le Figaro, we are proud to continue providing an affordable, peaceful, and reliable home from which to explore New York. Our rates may vary depending on our calendar so please contact us directly for the most up-to-date information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefferts Manor Hotel Brooklyn
Lefferts Manor Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing