We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home from home with character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 55 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent home from home with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

From the off, our host Mark went out of his way to be helpful and informative. He gave us tips and orientated us as soon as we arrived, sorted out an extra key with no bother, and helped us carry our luggage to the Flat round the corner where we stayed for nights 2 and 3. He's friendly and a brilliant host with personality.

Both Lefferts and The Flat had lots of period features too eg original tiles in bathroom, a wonderfully powerful shower and spacious rooms with interesting bits of furniture. Having been to NYC before, we both found it refreshing to stay in a house rather than a hotel. It was a home away from home and made us feel like Brooklynites. And everyone we met in the neighbourhood was super friendly too. All in all, couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    107
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
110
136
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Mark Osborne is the BEST! :-) He was very attentive and treated me and my friends very well. Hospitality bar none! Breakfast was well worth it and highest compliments to the Chef. I hope to visit again next month in August; hopefully there will be availability. Thanks a million!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAYE3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Lovely B&B with a friendly host
Very good subway connection to Manhattan

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascha_nordmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011


We stayed in one of the Fort Greene apartments. The apartment was beautiful and had everything we needed, including a full kitchen! The location could not have been better for us, with easy access to Manhattan and the rest of Brooklyn. Despite the heat wave during our stay, the air conditioned apartment was a perfect refuge. Mark was super friendly and knowledgable about the area, and was extremely attentive despite the fact that we were not at the bed and breakfast, checking in on us through email, which was my preferred method of communication. I would heartily recommend this stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizseibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Lefferts Manor is the perfect place if you want easy access to Manhattan along with a nice, quiet, place to stay after a long day of sightseeing. I enjoyed my room which overlooked the backyard and appreciated being able to open the window or run the a/c as needed. Clean room, comfortable bed, good breakfast and oh, yeah, the price is RIGHT! And just a few blocks to the Prospect Park subway station with direct trains to midtown Manhattan. Walking distance to beautiful Prospect Park and eateries on Flatbush Ave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midcenturyantique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed at the Carlton Suite on Washington Park Ave. The apt was clean and nice. Own kitchen, but shared bathroom. Although we had some prejudices about the bathroom, it however turned out to be quite ok system, we didn't even meet our neighbors. :) Despite the kitchen there was no dinner table, so actually we didn't do any cooking, but made it to use by enjoying the breakfast at home before heading to town. Location was ok, a bit of a stroll from the various tube stations, but a nice park just across the street. Superb cafe around the block, at Smooch, and a farmers' market on Sat morning were the icing on the cake. The cleaner came by a couple of times during the week (to make the bed and put dishes to the washing machine) and we met Mark the owner when arriving (who gave good overview of the area). That's was all the personnel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbetk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

A great place from which to explore Brooklyn. Don't be put off by the
two-floor walk-up (plus the stoop). Mark the host lugs the suitcases,
offers an immediate, comprehensive borough breakdown -and knows his
local restaurants.
The Vanderbilt Suite was clean, pleasant and spacious, in a beautiful brownstone. The Wifi worked. The kitchen was fully equipped. The location is perfect. The park is across the street, and excellent restaurants were in walking distance.
Try Graziella's, a lovely Sicilian restaurant; Ici, a nearby
French/Italian; Cafe E Vino, Milanese cooking; and Abistro, a byob Senegalese eatery. There's also a wine bar on De Kalb, run by the thoroughly incomprehensible yet utterly charming barman David, which conveys the Brooklyn message in a bottle.
We had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelliescully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#11 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#14 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#22 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 80 Rutland Rd, Brooklyn, NY 11225-5313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, owner-operated B&B offering a modest variety of accommodations in charming Brooklyn, New York. We provide complimentary Wi-Fi, coffees & teas, linens, towels, & soap. The rooms blend Victorian architecture, modern Eastern design, and classic at-home comfort. We are right next to Prospect Park and just 15 minutes to Manhattan on the train! After years in the business, memorable guests, and gracious press from the likes of The New York Times and Le Figaro, we are proud to continue providing an affordable, peaceful, and reliable home from which to explore New York. Our rates may vary depending on our calendar so please contact us directly for the most up-to-date information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefferts Manor Hotel Brooklyn
Lefferts Manor Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing