We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilarious and Educational”
Review of A Tour Grows in Brooklyn - CLOSED

A Tour Grows in Brooklyn
Attraction details
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hilarious and Educational”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Rick was thoroughly entertaining, both for his local experience and knowledge of the neighborhood as well as his home grown personality. Every block he was saying hello to some guy on the street or busting the chops of an old friend who happened to be a Mets fan after the Mets lost in the subway series game. Rick is just a local guy (3 generations of his family still live nearby) with a thirst for local knowledge which he accumulates from research, current events, local folk lore and personal experience/interest.

I live in Connecticut and never really explored Brooklyn. After this tour, I fell in love with the neighborhood. I did this tour with a friend in from Germany. I will probably go again with my 'parents.

I did 3 walking tours in Paris about 2 weeks ago and this was better than all of them simply for the local flare and great pizza at the end.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CRBrown14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A taste of Brooklyn you won't want to miss!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This 3 hour tour of the Park Slope area was amazing. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get a taste of Brooklyn. Rick, our guide was excellent. He grew up in Brooklyn and was very passionate and informative of the area. He had an amazing personality and his passion for Brooklyn really shone through in his stories and history of the area. The tour is well an incredible value as Rick also provided a bottled water and a slice of pizza at the end. Thank you Rick for a wonderful day!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ztjazz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As good as a walking tour gets”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Hard to imagine a better way to spend 3 hours in NY. Rick is a knowledgeable and charming tour guide who knows his history and is very much part of the Brooklyn community he grew up in. Don't think 3 hours is too long it is an easy three hour stroll. Value is excellent too as Rick includes water and a light lunch in the price. Brooklyn fascinates

Helpful?
1 Thank avocetexsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape griardeau,Mo
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rick gave a historical tour with lots of local color.”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

"A Tour Grows in Brooklyn" With guide RIchard Kadlub was an informative walk with humor, stories, facts, and interesting side bars about this delightful area known as Brooklyn. Rick has a knowledge of the area that only someone who has lived here and loves the people and the surroundings could describe. He was timely, he was full of information, he was so helpful. I certainly appreciated his descriptions and his stories of growing up in Brooklyn. He made the area seem like a wonderful piece of America--a great country. t The fee was reasonable. The bottled water and the pizza were pleasant surprises. I highly recommend this tour of Brooklyn with Rick.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank muppetbaby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“A Must Do in Brooklyn!!!!! Excellent Tour by Top Notch Guide.”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I took this walking tour on Wednesday morning, 8/18/11. The tour guide, Rick Kadlub, was waiting at the prescribed place when I arrived 5 minutes early. He was standing on the corner talking to several men from the neighborhood.

Rick is an absolutey fantastic guide for this tour. He has lived in the neighborhood for all of his 49 years and his family for over 100 years before that. He is a walking encyclopedia of Brooklyn . . . . especially Park Slope and Prospect Park. He obviously cares about the area and it's inhabitants and is well known and liked . . . . . as evidenced by the number of people who said "hi Rick" to him.

The tour starts across the street from where Al Capone (the famous Chicago mobster who grew up and lived in the area before moving to Chicago) lived for 10+ years with his wife in a 4th floor walkup. . . . . . . . continues on to an old abandoned bathouse that was used by the neighborhood residents many years ago before they had hot running water in their apartments. . . . . . . . . then through some great tree lined streets in Park Slope with beautiful old brownstones (bring your camera) . . . . . . . stops for a while at Grand Army Plaza where Rick tells of how the park was developed and the significance of the Arch . . . . . then through some of the park with Rick pointing out places and statues of interest . . . . . . back into Park Slope . . . . . . ending at an old fashioned Italian Pizza place for a slice of great pizza . . . . . compliments of Rick.

I have lived in New Jersey for almost 35 years and didn't know much about Brooklyn. Rich changed all that. As I said before, he's a walking encyclopedia of Brooklyn . . . . . . and his presentation is very interesting and friendly.

I spent 6 days in Brooklyn touring the area while apartment sitting at my my son and daughter-in-law's place. THIS TOUR WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF MY STAY. . . . . . and his suggestions spurred me on to visit places in Brooklyn that I had never even thought of visiting.

I have visited almost every large city in this country and gone to over 20 foreign countries. I almost always start my visit in a new city with a tour . . . . . . so I have been on many many tours . . . . . . . and I can honestly say that "A Tour Grows in Brooklyn" is one of the very best that I have even taken.

Rick should write a history of Brooklyn or a guide book for Brooklyn. If he ever does, I want to buy a copy.

Don't miss this tour if you visit Brooklyn . . . . . and if you live in Brooklyn, it's a great way to learn more about Prospect Park and the Park Slope neighborhood.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank ilivennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tour Grows in Brooklyn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing