We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Nearby Hotels
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Le Jolie(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
$197
$155
Hotel Le Jolie
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$266
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pointe Plaza Hotel(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
$224
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
$178
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
$210
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wythe Hotel(Brooklyn)
$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$155
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,082)
Filter reviews
1,082 results
Traveler rating
345
432
163
75
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
432
163
75
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew yorkrooftop barfront desk staffdekalb marketjay stcheesecakesubway ridecobble hillrooms are smallbarclays centercar servicecoffee makerking roomfew blockslobbynycjuniors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 1,082 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The only problem we had with this area is that all the businesses in the neighborhood shut down earlier, so we had to make sure we ate before coming back to the hotel. We had to avail ourselves to the somewhat pricey snack bar in the lobby. Everything in the hotel itself was quite comfortable and clean, we had no complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher above the street...and farther away from the elevator makes for less noise
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Oscant,

Yes you are correct; the shopping center near us close by 9PM, the good news, downtown Manhattan is open late and only one stop away on the subway. Thank you for the great review - We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is a great use of Starwood points. Hotels in Manhattan are notoriously expensive and tiny. aloft provided a very convenient way to get anywhere we needed to be since many major subway lines are nearby. The rooms were typically small, but well appointed.

Two potential drawbacks. First, downtown Brooklyn is not where a tourist wants to be. But it's easy walking distance to more desirable areas such as Brooklyn Heights or Cobble Hill. Second, it took us several tried to get a clean duvet since ours had a stain on it. But these two downsides are outweighed by the convenience and the value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Paul K,,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We needed a place for one night in Brooklyn prior to a cruise. Aloft was the perfect find.
We found a wonderful restaurant just a few blocks away. The drive to the cruise dock was a piece of cake. A bagel stand just across the street made it feel like "real New York."
Dog accommodation was no trouble. We brought a travel crate, so we were confident leaving him in the room while we went out to dinner. The staff welcomed him with lots of petting and sweet talk.
The room was bigger than expected for a NYC property, and the king-sized bed was fabulous.
We will look for Aloft next time we're in Brooklyn and anywhere else as well.

Room Tip: Others have complained of neighbor noise in double rooms. We did not have any trouble with our king-sized bed room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear DarinF,

Thank you for the great 5-Star review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

While trying to find a reasonable accommodation during our visit to NY, came across aloft. Though I was sceptical about staying in Brooklyn with the distance etc from all sights & sounds, but given the Starwood brand hotel and the proximity to subway stations (per the website) and of course the reasonable tariff for the room made it our choice. The hotel had a modern twist to it but retained the basics of great Starwood hospitality!

Check-in: The check-in was extremely smooth and quick.

Access: as the hotel website suggests, the hotel is within 5-10 minutes walking distance from at least 4 subway stations which then takes you to any place uptown or downtown. So it wast far from Manhattan at all and we could actually come back in the evening for a quick rest before heading back into town. It is 2 mins walk from the Fulton Street which has various stores (like Gap, Banana Republic, Macy's, Nordstorm) and also a few eating places close by. For someone who gets overwhelmed with huge stores, these were a relief and I actually managed to shop a fair bit in these stores. The hotel is next to Sheraton which had a starbucks also...Also cafes like Shake Shack, Au bon pain etc were also 5 mins walk away.

Accommodation: The room (we had booked at a higher floor basis reviews from other TripAdvisors) was spacious enough with sufficient luggage storage as well as desk space. Free wi-fi was extremely welcome! The bed was extremely comfortable which meant a great sleep after a fun day in town. The bathroom was, as expected, small but convenient. The only drawback for me was putting the coffee maker on the same slab as the wash basin...not what I wanted but a minor cross!

Others: The hotel has a take-as-you-go breakfast, which we didn't try. We walked down to Junior's on the staff's recommendation and had a typical American diner experience. The lobby area is very well done and different from other properties.

Room Tip: Higher floors with street view are good. Does give you a view above the buildings nearby.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBharadwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear NBharadwaj,

Thank you for the great and extensive review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Safe Travels

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

While out of the way, the hotel has great subway access to many lines, making it easy to go west to Manhattan or East to Queens and JFK. It is only a stone away from the Brooklyn Bridge. The room is a decent size for New York and well furnished. You get a real coffee machine, a fridge, plenty of desk space, a safe big enough for laptop and a funky/retro alarm clock. The bedding and towels are of good quality and the bed is really comfy. The shower is excellent. I would suggest that you get your breakfast elsewhere as there is not much to choose from. Computers are provided but the printers would not print for the two nights I was there. Wi-fi is good and fast.

Room Tip: Room 402 is above the Roof Terrace (only open at weekends) and facing a construction site which has a long way to go (I was there in June 2014). However, the double glazing is very good and I did not get bothered by the work. Just be careful when you open the blinds! Kathryn offered to print a document for me.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieFlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the Five Star great review ! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews