We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Overnight Stay and Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for Overnight Stay and Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the aloft in Brooklyn, New York October 6 to October, 2013. The rooms were very clean and the room was efficiently laid out. I loved the modern look. The hotel is very convenient to getting around with the subway being right down the street. There was a lot of construction going on when we were there so it was a bit loud at times. There was a great bar across the street. We would certainly stay their again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello TrishL4

Thank you for the positive review. The good news is the vast majority of the construction noise is gone. Hopefully you are planning to come back this year. Safe Travels. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    403
    147
    64
    55
See reviews for
247
306
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've stayed here a couple times for quick overnight business trips. It's a very trendy hotel, and while I could do without the club music blasting in the elevators, the rooms are nice and comfortable, and the location is very convenient, with very easy access to the subway. I wouldn't go walking very far from my own though... Only wish that the parking would allow in/out access, but the parking lot is privately owned, which is pretty typical anywhere in NYC. I will continue to stay here for short trips, but probably would look elsewhere if I needed a hotel where I could actually sit in the lobby to get work done and have a real meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rslev17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi rslev17,

Happy to hear you've stayed here multiple times. As for the parking situation, you are allowed one free in and out every 24hrs. Please check with my front desk team the next time you return so we may take care of you. All the Best. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Brooklyn with convenient access to many subways (2, 3, B, D, N, Q, R, A, C and F within a few minutes’ walk), which allow you access to Manhattan within minutes. This neighborhood is in the process of becoming safer and friendlier, efforts since the Giuliani administration, though there is still quite a bit of crime here at night. You don’t want to wander too far from your hotel in the evening; if you do, make sure you are not alone. There are a few restaurants in the area, more popping up every year, though your best bet is to get food elsewhere. There are a lot of shops along the Fulton Street Mall, though you’re best doing your shopping elsewhere.

I was not a fan of the hotel itself. The check in and check out process was confusing and it gives off a very low-service / self-service vibe. It also didn’t help that when I arrived I had to wait 26 minutes for the two people in front of me to check in, not what you would expect at 1:00 AM. In addition to the poor customer service, the hotel was way too trendy for my taste. The entire hotel from the lobby to the room had a very cold feel to it. Making this worse, they always had some bad music playing way too loud, which of course just echoed off all the cold non-carpeted surfaces. The worst is the bluer lights and the cranking music in the elevators.

The rooms themselves were very cramped, had almost no amenities and were simply not thought out. It seemed like they just wanted to give it a new look with the cheapest materials available. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the bedding was cheap and scratchy. That coupled with the noise from the hall, you will never be far enough away from the elevator noise, will not allow most to get a good night’s sleep. The TV was cheap with a bad picture, to compliment the poor selection of channels. The wireless access in the hotel was horrible, you’re better off heading to Starbucks. No breakfast, no water bottles, no newspaper, not even a good morning as you walk out the door.

Maybe I have high expectations, though I would not stay in an Aloft again.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel that is not an Aloft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank IchBesorgeDasBier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Kimak,

You commented" Maybe I have high expectations"; there is nothing wrong with having high expectations. Our success here at the Aloft New York Brooklyn is to not only meet your expectations but to “Exceed Them.” Unfortunately, we fell short in meeting your "Personal” expectations. Please take out the time to read comments from your fellow trendy travelers, we have a loyal following, we always sell out and ranked as one of the top and fastest growing hotel brands. We have over 60 Aloft Hotels around the world, continue to explore - we want you to come back. Thank you for the privilege of serving you. Safe Travels. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Was impressed with this hotel. Definitely a great price for the stay and enjoyed the boutique style wish gives off the impression that it was very modern and clean in the lobby and room. Room itself, while a little tight, was very clean and met exceeded expectations. Overall, would definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CycloTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi CycloTower,

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Aloft Hotel. I appreciate your comment concerning the cleanliness of the hotel. The hotel is fairly new and modern equipped with some of the most up to date amenities. I look forward to your return back to Brooklyn. Safe Travels. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel by myself. I had made the reservation for one room for one night two weeks prior. When I checked in no one said anything to me about two rooms or two reservations. When I checked out no one said anything to me about two rooms or two reservations. I received a receipt showing a charge for one room. So I was surprised when I saw charges for two rooms on my credit card. I called them to tell them about the mistake and they informed me that they had two reservations for me and so they charged me twice. That is totally absurd -- I have no idea where that came from. I have called and spoken with five different people, both at the hotel and at aloft corporate to no avail. They ripped me off!! Do not give these people your credit card info! This is the first time I have ever written a bad review online and I just want to spare whoever is reading this from a similar experience. There are many hotels in Brooklyn -- choose another.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Kristen C

We looked into your reservation, 2 reservations were made online under your name. I certainly understand how you must have been frustrated having 2 charges appear on your credit card. My accounting department did issue you a "Courtesy" refund. We did resolve the booking error. My apologies for any delay in addressing your concerns. I hope you continue to be loyal to the Aloft hotel brand around the world. Wishing you safe travels throughout the year. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff is always accommodating, rooms are clean, and check in is quick. I arrived quite early but wasn't a problem with staff. They frequently check on you to see how your stat is going. I'm always Pleased with the hotel as a whole. I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello MissFrequentFlyer,

Coming from a frequent traveler like you, this is truly an honor. I'm happy we were able to exceed your expectations. Wishing you the very best. Safe Travels in 2014! JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff was super helpful. Room was nice and similar to one of the standard rooms at a W Hotel. Great value and they allowed me to a get a 1pm check out at no charge with was definitely appreciate.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TumbaPollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello TumbaPollo,

Glad to hear the front desk staff was able to accommodate a late checkout for you. We love the W hotel but your new home is the Aloft Brooklyn. Come back soon and visit us. Safe Travels. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#8 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#23 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#17 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft New York Brooklyn

Property: Aloft New York Brooklyn
Address: 216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing