We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please Do Not Go There!!!”
Review of Imperial Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Do yourself a favor and never book here. I had the worse experience of my life staying in this hotel in this January. Not only the room was filthy, the bathroom was full with blood on the towell and around. Even with roon change, this didn't help as the new room was also filthy. It's like they don't care. Please, Please, DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank bvivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2010

I stayed for 6 nights and it was great. I slept through the train and noises, thats how comfy the bed was. The Price can come down a bit because of the trains but all in all I had a great stay. I will be back there soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank soljagurl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

The hotel was great the room was clean and comfortable i enjoyed my stayed and would reccommend anyone who wants to enjoy the life of big hotels for a great price....

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cddeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for four nights last October while visiting New York for the first time. I'm well travelled, having done budget travelling in places like Indonesia, Belize, Guatemala, and I can honestly say this is the worst hotel I've stayed in, and in the worst location. i knew I wasn't going to get luxury for the price I paid (about £90 a night after taxes - cheap for New York) but I didn't expect it to be as awful as it was. Do not be fooled by the picture on this site.
I landed late at night at JFK and my taxi driver had never heard of the hotel. As we got closer, he told me he'd have refused to bring me if he'd known where it was going to be as the area regularly has shootings and there are 'drug dealers on every corner' (his words). He wanted to drive me somewhere else and see if I couldn't find somewhere nicer, but I'd already paid by credit card and couldn't afford to lose the money. So we arrived at the hotel. The staff were friendly and did their best. But the first problem (apart from the horrific stench of stale heating system and dope) was that the window didn't lock. They agreed to move me to another room. This one also didn't lock and the response was that probably none of the windows locked. Not ideal in such a shifty area. The new room was on the main road - I felt a bit safer leaving the window unlocked because it was busy, but the traffic noise and the constant noise from the multiple subway lines that cross right by the hotel kept me awake all night. I pretty much cried myself to sleep that first night - not something I'm used to at the age of 27!
The next morning I actually tried to get a flight out of NYC - it really was that bad. But they were so expensive and I'd waited so long to visit NYC that I put up with it in the end. I had to make sure I was back in the hotel before it got too late though, because even though the subway is in full view of hte hotel entrance I was still terrified of the area and had to run from the platform to the hotel each night. It also became apparent I was the only 'long-term' resident as I encountered several couples asking if they could have a room for a couple of hours. There was also the constant smell of pot which permeated my room from those around me. All in all, the worst holiday of my life, although Manhattan itself was obviously wonderful - althought it takes nearly an hour to get anywhere worthwhile, not 'minutes' as the website suggests.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RealisticTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

General
My two sons and I stayed at the Imperial since we didn't want to pay the Manhattan premium. The subway station (elevated, actually) is literally 50 feet from the front door. Very convenient to get into the city - that's why we stayed there.

Pros
The rooms were clean, the building is fairly new, the staff were friendly. Definitely a good bargain - but of course that means you won't get luxury hotel pampering. That is to be expected. Our room had two full size beds which were of decent quality. No morning backaches!

Cons
The only con was the listing on Expedia said the room had two fulls AND a twin. Just what three guys would want, but there only turned out to be the two beds. The only other con was that an alarm went off in the middle of the night. False alarm, but it woke us up nonetheless.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BobWestOfPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

The Staff was friendly and helpful.
You can order a Taxi at the Reception. The fare to JFK is about $35.00.

Hotel + Area: Close to the J Line Subway – Alabama Station. There are a few fast food places in the area. There are no Convenience Stores, Exercise facilities, Restaurants or Pool in the hotel.
Caution: It takes about 20 minutes to get from Brooklyn to Lower Manhattan or about 45 minutes to Times Square.
You can get to a Shopping Centre that has a Target Store by taking the B13 Bus at Crescent Station towards Queens.

Room: We stayed in a Double Room (307)
It was clean, small and very American in décor.
There was no Minibar, Phone or refrigerator in the room.
The Clothes closet was really small and there was no iron available to touch up our clothes.
The Bathroom was cleaned and the bed linens changed every day. The bed was very soft and the windows didn’t have any German style rollshutters to keep the light out.
The room was relatively noisy with the windows open so we stayed in the room with the windows closed.
We didn’t use the air conditioning because the unit had a strange odor when we ran it – probably because the filter was too old.
There are ice machines on the first and third floors.

The breakfast was modest but OK when we went down at about 8:15 in the morning.
We stayed there for 2 nights because we wanted a place that was interesting, had more of a variety in the area at the right price than what we were prepared to pay in NYC.
We were there at the end of September, 2008.
If we did this again, we would stay at this hotel again for a long weekend but would look elsewhere for a longer stay.
In a period of six or seven days, we saw different couples there every night. We ourselves and another couple from Portugal were the only ones that stayed for a whole week. May tell you something.

Other: The hotels in Manhattan are more expensive but if you want a nice 2-4 day stay in NYC, you’re better off spending a few extra dollars and staying in Manhattan.
I hope these comments have helped a little. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HSSchlarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Korfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn East
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 73 in Brooklyn
346 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,488 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 73 in Brooklyn
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 2550 E New York Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11207-2323
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing