We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ice Cream- Great Location”

Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory
Ranked #3 of 123 Dessert in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Restaurant details
kansas city
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream- Great Location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I thought the ice cream was really good. It was creamy, flavorful, and fresh. I did not however think it was exceptional. The location and view is great. Perfect place to grab some ice cream with the family. However it is not worth traveling to just to have it again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Msjessmarie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    303
    101
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Peach Cream.. But where are the peaches ?”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was really looking forward to try this ice cream, but man that I was disappointed!
I had a cone of tasteless ice cream, that left me wondering for the peach flavor, even local groceries brands are better!
The only good thing about this place is it's location, nix e spot to watch the NYC lights!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank QCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty ice cream with a free view..”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It doesn't look much from the outside, and it isn't very big on the inside, but the ice cream is very tasty! Not a great choice of flavours (not sure if they change the choices often) but enough to please most people I reckon. I had the pecan and it was delish!
There's a handy restroom in the building too, and they don't seem too bothered who uses it (we stopped by one night during a bus tour we were on!), but it was clean and welcome.
It's cash only but reasonable, and the waffle style cones are lovely.
So grab a cone and head out onto the promenade, where you can munch away while gazing over the water to Manhattan! Perfect...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leopard_ladyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The ice cream here is great. It is one of the better place in NY to get a scoop of ice cream. After you get you bowl of ice cream in the delectable homemade waffle cone, take a walk up and down the Brooklyn Bridge park. Don't forget to bring cash cause no credit cards are accepted.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fransm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great location, overrated ice cream”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am convinced it is famous more for its location (right on the water, with great views of Manhattan and the Brooklyn Bridge) and its quaint building (it resembles a lighthouse somewhat) than its ice cream. As others have noted the ice cream is nothing special. It is very creamy but somewhat bland, with little distinction between some of the flavors. The strawberry and the peaches and cream, for instance, were pretty similar. My family much prefers Friendly's ice cream, which is much more flavorful.

There isn't much seating inside, only about three tables. We were there on a cold, drizzly day and had to stand inside and eat. The service is friendly, although I get the feeling this is a "first job" type place. No one behind the counter seemed over the age of 16, so not much of a quaint mom and pop feel.

In short- best ice cream in New York? Not by a longshot. But a pleasant place with nice views.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinfam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing