We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base from which to explore Brooklyn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
220 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Excellent base from which to explore Brooklyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at the Nu for 4 nights. We have visited Manhattan many times and were looking for a new adventure and Brooklyn was just that! We really loved Brooklyn and the Nu Hotel was a good hotel in a convenient location. Check in went fine and Dan who was bartender as well as working at the front desk was very helpful. Being right on Smith St. was great for walking to dinner with many very nice ethnic restaurants close by. We enjoyed Ki Sushi,Robin des Bois (the garden in back is great) and further afield Petes in Dumbo. Walking the neighborhoods in Brooklyn was fun and Cobble Hill is nearby. Our room was on the Smith St. side and the streets are noisy;however not bad when windows are shut. We slept fine. Room was nice...love the cork floors..well equipped except for coffee maker (which would be nice) and kept very clean by the staff. They were very comfortable rooms. Breakfast in the lobby was nice too with good selection. On the weekends the Nu seems to be popular with wedding parties and breakfast area got very crowded with really nowhere to sit. The hotel was fully booked all of the nights we stayed there. Good access to transportation ie bus,metro and they recommend Eastern Car Service which we used to Manhattan. Very prompt and nice cars...good choice for transportation. Good workout room if you don't get enough exercise walking Brooklyn. There may be prettier neighborhoods in Brooklyn but no hotels in them (maybe B and B) and Nu Hotel is convenient to explore Park Slope, Cobble Hill, Brooklyn Heights which are some of the most atmospheric neighborhoods I have ever seen. Management is responsive if you have any problems. I would recommend doing your research on sightseeing in Brooklyn in advance as there is so much to see and do it can be overwhelming. We will be back and would definitely consider staying at the Nu Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    286
    75
    30
    16
See reviews for
202
298
83
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is a nice hotel in a great part of Brooklyn. My fiancee and I stayed there for one night at the end of August. On check in, staff were really friendly and interesting - we had a drink in the bar that is beside the reception and spoke to the staff about the local area. Funnily enough we seemed to get charged more than full price for 2 drinks despite the fact that happy hour was on and we were supposed to get a discount! I wasn't too upset about this since we were out to celebrate our recent engagement.

However, I can't offer any more compliments to the hotel. The following day we checked out and were told by the receptionist that since we had not used the mini-bar or room service etc, there would be nothing else to pay (our room was pre-paid online). We travelled back to the UK and when I checked my American Express account, the hotel had taken a additional charge of $41.75 from my account - I had not been notified of this at any point and am still none the wiser as to what it was for.

I have since tried to contact the hotel through their website on 2 seperate occasions, and have not even received a reply, let alone an explanation. Quite disappointing given that it was an otherwise really enjoyable visit to Brooklyn, and the staff were so pleasant to us during the stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at NU. I'm pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. It's unfortunate that billing concerns left a negative lasting impression. We will absolutely refund any errant charges where necessary. Our general email (info@nuhotelbrooklyn.com) was down for a short period of time and it appears we did not receive your inquires to the charges. Please email me directly at javier.egipciaco@hershahotels.com so we can review the charges. I'm confident we will come to a quick resolution now that we are aware of your concerns. Thanks again for holding us accountable. We will only get better at what we do by learning from our mistakes and proactively implementing systems to prevent it from occurring again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Our stay at the Nu Hotel was during Labor Day '10 weekend. A chic, hip, sexy boutique hotel with a great vibe is how it can be best described.

Pros:
* Hotel price (booked on Priceline and cost was $140/ni, booking directly would have been $299)
* Walking convenience to restaurants, bars, shopping, and subway.
* Clean rooms (I'm a germaphobe)
* Trader Joes (2 Blocks up)
* In-room fridge
* Flat screen
* Free wi-fi
* Free continental breakfast - We ate across the street at St. Clair Restaurant for breakfast though because fruit & bagels doesn't do it for my husband.
* Safety: Strong police presence in area because detention directly across street.
* Complimentary umbrella for use during stay (great when unexpected rain comes and you didn't bring your umbrella)
* Lobby computer & printer for flight check-in & printing boarding passes
* Restaurant you must try: Joya Thai Restaurant - Excellent food, excellent prices, walking distance from hotel, but accepts *CASH ONLY*

Cons:
* NO FULL LENGTH MIRROR! OK, this really irritated me. I could not see my outfit to make sure everything was in place. EVERY woman wants a full length mirror. Nu, you've got to correct this one. At least put one on the bathroom door, wall or something, but for goodness sake put one in there!
* No microwave (Not a deal breaker, but a nice to have)

Overall, this is a nice alternative if you don't want Manhattan hotel prices, but still want to be in the mix without going broke. Getting to Manhattan is just a short subway ride. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnista17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thanks for the great review! Most of our rooms do have full length mirrors (on the entire closet door) but unfortunately the room you stayed in did not. We have ordered full length mirrors for those particular rooms to ensure we do not fall just short of meeting anyones expectations. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Hotel is well situated, good price, friendly service, clean and well appointed BUT we made a reservation and the hotel, somehow, managed to get it wrong.

We were travelling with our 18 year old son and we wanted enough space so we weren't on top of each other so we reserved a King Suite. We made a reservation 3 weeks in advance, called the day before, were there 3 hours before check-in and we still ended up with a regular room with a King bed. I'm not certain how you screw up that many times.

Again. a nice place but don't count on your reservations coming true.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at NU. We take pride in our product and service. Through this feedback we are able to obtain an understanding of our guest expectations and adjust our operations accordingly whether positive or negative. Although most of your stay was enjoyable, the experience you had with the reservation is unacceptable. We will not offer up any excuses. This was an unfortunate situation and we were pleased that after the initial negative experience you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay. This experience will be used as a training tool to ensure this experience never occurs again to any of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Instead of driving home to New Jersey after visiting friends, we decided to spend the night in Brooklyn and do some wandering in the area. Nu Hotel was located perfectly for the Atlantic Avenue/Smith Street area in its proximity to restaurants, shops and wine stores. We found the service pleasant and helpful, from the gentleman taking our reservation, to the person stowing our bags from the day's shopping, even after we had checked out. The room decor is incredibly clean and concrete modern, but not uncomfortably so. As I am allergic to feather pillows, we requested replacements and received them quickly and with no difficulty. In all, our stay was pleasant, however brief, and I would, as I already have, recommend this hotel to friends. My only comment would be that the hallway was not as clean as expected, with stains on the carpets and the odor of some sort of cleaning fluid in the corridor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Everything about NU Hotel (down to the original local art that is tastefully hung throughout) was absolutely thrilling. I will never go to another hotel in Brooklyn--- VIVA NU!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjgriessmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at the NU hotel in August 2010 for 2 nights.
Found the staff to be very curteous and helpful.
The room was very nice, modern and good size. Bathroom was clean and new.
All in all a great room and hotel. Breakfast was adequate that was served in the foyer...
The only thing that i could say negative ( and its no big deal) is that the airconditioner was HUGE..ran really well, but in turn was a bit noisy..
So those little ear pugs that u get on the aircraft come in really handy. Restaurants in the area were very good..
But all good, would highly rec this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madhawk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#20 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#23 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#17 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#6 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Property: NU Hotel
Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing