We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient & accommodating”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Needed a good hotel in downtown Brooklyn within walking distance of my meetings. The NU worked out beautifully. I would definitely return. The room was somewhat small but it wasn't a problem for one person.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donw20850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thanks for your review! We love our very walkable neighborhood, and it is convenient to many Downtown offices. We'll look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 940 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had never been to Brooklyn, NY before and I went for business. The staff was incredible!! I mean beyond AWESOME! They were super friendly, helpful and accommodating! I could not ask for more! Dan was especially wonderful. We just loved him!!!!! What a great guy! We had a small issue with our room and he fixed it within minutes. I've never had service like that before.

The hotel has a very European feel to me. The lobby is small, but cozy. They offer free breakfast in the mornings until 11am - also incredible! Plenty of seating on sofas, a long high top table and other bench style seats. I was impressed with their service and their coziness. We sat in the lobby on several occasions and chatted with people, waited for others to arrive. Very inviting.

The rooms were really clean and sleek - simple. We had a stunning corner room with windows on 2 sides that wrapped around the corner of the building. It was really nice to have so much light. Our bathroom was nice and large - big counter top, separate room with a door for the toilet and a nice big shower with a waterfall shower head and window. I truly loved everything about this bathroom. Also, no carpeting in the rooms, which I loved, they had hard wood floors. Great idea.

One thing to note is that it is directly across from a detention center. I had not noticed it until we got our room. I felt very safe in the hotel and walking around Brooklyn, but thought it was worth mentioning. I would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

This is a wonderful review, thanks so much. Sounds like you have found your home away from home in our little Brooklyn hotel, and that is just fine with us!! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and Dan says hello! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Ideal location, great price, clean and nice looking rooms and amenities, it is a great hotel to stay if you're looking at something close to the city, but yet, not crazy expensive! The staff is really friendly and happen to speak several languages.
Go check it out!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

We agree with you on all points! ;) Thanks Leila D.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

It is hard to find a hotel in Brooklyn, and we wanted something small and near the interesting neighborhoods, and Nu fits that bill. It's in the BOCOCA area: midway from Boerum Hill, Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens. The lobby is tiny and noisy and the "reception" desk is a tiny area, with no place to stand without blocking the elevator, and it is slow and difficult to check in. The staff are pleasant but not very knowledgable about the area, so you are on your own. The complimentary continental breakfast is OK, but you'll want to really eat at one of the many excellent breakfast places nearby. There are helpful travel materials in the lobby, so grab those. The gym downstairs is excellent - far better than most much larger hotels. There is a bar but it's really the lobby, same space as the breakfast and the reception area. And the outdoor seating on Smith street is across from the Detention Center, so it's not exactly scenic, and certainly noisy. Smith Street has many bars and cheap eats, but very little that's very nice. Same for Atlantic Avenue. Court Street is somewhat better. The location is a few blocks from various subway stations, and a good walk from Brooklyn Heights and Dumbo, and very near downtown Brooklyn, which you are unlikely to care about unless you are there on business. Most of the guests appears to be from Europe, and I wonder why they are choosing Brooklyn over Manhattan. The street noise from the room, even on the 15th floor, is noticeable but not terrible. The room is just big enough, and the bed is comfortable. Clean room, very high ceiling, adequate drawers, tiny closet, small bathroom but nice shower; our safe did not work and they failed to fix it. It's too bad there aren't more hotel options in Brooklyn.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor facing north, towards Borough Hall. Do Not face Smith Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thanks so much for your review of your stay! We consider the reviews like this the most valuable feedback that we can receive. It's not the guests that are singing our praises as they dance out the door nor is it the ones that are screaming at the front desk (not that we ever have any of those!!) that make me lose sleep at night. We know where we stand with those guests. It's the guests like you, the ones who are not Wow'ed, the ones with a completely "meh" experience from whom we have the most knowledge to gain. Nothing went terribly wrong here, but nothing went over the top RIGHT either and that is my concern. Neighborhood knowledge should be a given with our staff. It's a constant work in progress, staying on top of new businessess and restaurants as they open and close, but it's also our job. I will bring this review to our team's attention to emphasize the impact that the area knowledge has on a guest's stay. We do love our neighborhood and will have to respectfully disagree about the restaurants on Smith Street. ;) In such a walkable neighborhood, with brownstones and Barney's as well as the House of Detention, we do enjoy the unique aspects of our quintessentially Brooklyn corner of the world. Our guests usually do too! Should you want to return, please feel free to reach out to me directly. I would be happy to handle your booking myself and put together a personalized list of recommendations for things to do and see and eat in our neighborhood! I'll make sure your safe is in perfect working order too. Thanks again for taking your time to review NU. We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

best deal I have found in Brooklyn. Great rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Terrific fitness room. Superb location. A million great restaurants in the area. Items in the mini-bar are even cheap. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

"best", "great", "friendly", "helpful", "terrific", "superb".....loving those adjectives!! We are so glad we were able to make your stay so postive. See you next visit and thanks very much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Rooms are very nice and staff even better. Very helpful and friendly. Relaxed expanded continental breakfast in comfortable lobby? Within easy walking distance of Barclays and subway. Location is in older area but many small restaurants and boutiques for those inclined to shopping. We have already booked another stay there in the fall.
No in hotel restaurant but nice lobby bar and friendly barkeep for a late night drink.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor on Atlantic Avenue side and noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

So glad to hear you've already booked another stay! That's the best measure of the success of your trip. Thanks so much and we will see you in the fall for another great visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was put up here for a business trip two years ago - and rarely have I stayed anywhere with such a strong sense of itself, and it's location. Friendly, relaxed staff; good, free internet access; a great little gym (nice free-weights section for it's size), and a stone's throw from Manhattan. My room was spacious, sleek, comfortable, and beautifully designed. There's also a neat little cafe/bar in the lobby if you're planning on staying in.

In summary, a really magical little place that I'd recommend to anyone who cares to listen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyrdracca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Wow! I love your last sentence, "a magical place"...that is amazing, thank you so much. This is just the ambiance we are striving to create, a strong sense of place using music, art and design to do just that. This review is so encouraging, we'll keep bringing in local art and hiring friendly and knowledgable staff members...and you keep coming back! ;) Thanks again, truly this review is such a positive boost. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#22 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 73 in Brooklyn
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 73 in Brooklyn
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,051 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 73 in Brooklyn
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: $156 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing