We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value in Brooklyn”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value in Brooklyn”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to Manhattan and downtown Brooklyn. Very nice boutique hotel--rooms aren't carpeted though. Street noise can be a problem if you are a light sleeper so ask for a room not facing the street.

Nice small bar, ok breakfast. AC is loud.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for the positive review! We actually have 50% of our rooms carpeted. The original flooring is made out of cork. It's a very eco-friendly design. Street noise is generally not a concern since we installed double pane sound proof windows about 2 years ago. New York City is truly the city that never sleeps and we completely understand that even the slightest street noise may cause a restless night for some. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally so I can arrange your next visit. I will ensure your room is carpeted and facing the interior of the building. You can reach me at gm@nuotelbrooklyn.com. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    292
    76
    32
    17
See reviews for
208
304
84
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed at Nu Hotel twice over the past few months. It is conveniently located in an interesting Brooklyn neighborhood with great street life, food, shops. The multi-purpose hotel lobby is on the small side as it serves many functions and is the hotel's only common space-- front desk, bar, breakfast area and general seating. The rooms are basic with minimalist design -- some have carpeting, other rooms have tile-like floor.

PROS: Friendly, accommodating, well-trained staff; comfortable beds; convenient overnight parking next door for $25/day; bikes available for rent; outdoor patio/bar extension of hotel lobby is pleasant when weather is good

CONS: Could use more staff at front desk -- gets backed-up; simplicity of rooms borders on sterile; our room had a tiny closet and two tiny drawers -- not enough space for two light packers to unpack for the weekend; room air conditioning noisy; neither fan nor window in bathroom; breakfast buffet worth missing; limited common spaces to hang out

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitewhale13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for the detailed review on your recent visit. The current design of the hotel is exactly what the designer was looking for. A less is more simplistic atmosphere. We receive praise for the design regularly on this site and daily at the hotel. It works for some and not for other. We can appreciate that. We're pleased to report that in the January 2014 we'll be undergoing a complete property refresh. New design, new furnishings, new colors, and new technology updates will be introduced to the property. No worries, we're staying true to our Brooklyn roots! We're confident everyone will love the updated feel and look of the property. We're still Brooklyn's best neighborhood hotel and we look to further strengthen our ties with the community with this renovation. Stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have to visit NY around 4 times a year for work and always choose to stay at the Nu Hotel, even though my work would let me stay wherever I like. My basic criteria for a business hotel when away from home are a large bed, good aircon, cleanliness and a big TV to keep me occupied.

The Nu has never disappointed, my stay has always been comfortable and zero-hassle. On one occasion when work hadn't properly forwarded authorization for the room to be paid on the corporate card, the front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful and even let me stay one night effectively without paying so I could sort the issue out the next day, so I didn't have to charge the room to my personal card.

I've stayed at the Nu on around 10 seperate occasions so far, and have no plans to start staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for the support over the years, Jon! I'm incredibly pleased with the team that we can keep such a loyal guest happy after all this time. As mentioned in the previous review, we're undergoing a complete property refresh in January 2014. You're going to love the new design! Also, within the the next 45 days we'll be upgrading the internet to FIBER (fastest on the market!) AND adding the ability for free HBO video on demand! I don't think you will ever want to leave! It's always a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with my stay at the Nu Hotel in Brooklyn NY. I was in town for a wedding so this was one of the hotels reserved for family. Since I didn't have prior experience with it my only guide was that it was in a more convenient location than all the other hotels reserved. I arrived much earlier than the check in time but the super friendly staff said "no problem" and found me a room immediately! The room was spacious, very bright with a street view. Although I'm not big on the "free breakfasts" offered by hotels, I must say Nu Hotel's was not bad! The fruit was very fresh and the bagels were true New York bagels (I'm a bagel snob so this was impressive!) I also appreciated them having soy milk for my cereal which often free breakfast doesn't include. I had a problem with the ac unit in my room & in minutes a maintenance person was up & had it fixed in a matter of minutes. He, like the front desk staff was super friendly. But the best thing a out this hotel was them finding an air mattress for my grown son who wasn't supposed to be staying there (he'd opted to save money & stay with friends, but his plan fell apart!) and not charging any extra for it! The location. Is wonderful as its near nice ethnic restaurants, excellent boutiques and a Macy's department store for those who want that big store experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We appreciate the outstanding detailed review! We actually have these extra air mattresses for situations just like these! Typically we'll have a full size rollaway bed but we saw a need to have a few air mattresses in house in case a guest had an unexpected visitor and we didn't have any rollaway beds left. Looks like you truly enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the future. We look forward to serving you as our guest again. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

In some regards, staying at this hotel can be a lesson in style versus substance. The NU hotel is modern and cleverly stylish—think upscaled IKEA furnishings and a distinctly hipster decorative scheme.

But there are sacrifices in the yin and yang of style versus substance. Take the bed in our corner suite, for instance. The sleeping alcove looks very cool, with its padded walls and king bed wedged in and surrounded on four sides by matching padded inserts (see picture). But realize that you have to climb over the inserts to get into or out of bed, and the charm fades a bit. Even worse, the platform bed consists simply of a mattress (no box spring)...a soft mattress at that. Probably the most uncomfortable bed of any recent hotel experience!

Our room featured a large and well-appointed bathroom. Towels were plentiful and soft and toiletries were nice. Temperature control in room was easy to adjust and a/c unit was quiet. There was little hall or adjoining room noise.

Just four stories tall and facing the street on two sides, no amount of double-windowing is going to make this hotel quiet. Suites face the street, but there are rooms facing a pseudo-courtyard at the rear of the hotel. Would highly recommend a room in the back to avoid some of the street noise.

As others have noted, this hotel is located right across the street from the Brooklyn House of Detention. The "guests" at that facility were quiet enough, but the "taxis" (police vans) transporting them were not. Lots of siren whoops and backup beepers in the morning. Unsurprisingly, there does not appear to be any direct mention of the jail on the NU hotel website, but the hotel's bar *is* named "Misdemeanor!"

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and very friendly. Cannot fault the service at all.

A "free" continental breakfast is served in the lobby. Unfortunately, the breakfast was just one notch above terrible. Coffee: bad. Bagels: bad. (This is NEW YORK...how can you serve doughy, grocery store bagels?)

The hotel is convenient to several subway stops: Bergen Street (F and G lines) Hoyt Street (2 and 3) and Hoyt-Schermerhorn (A, C, and G). Easy to reach Manhattan and other areas in Brooklyn. La Guardia requires a longish taxi or car service ride (about $45).

The neighborhood is not (yet?) as trendy or upscale as some areas of fast-changing Brooklyn, but it isn't bad and there are some interesting shops and food places mixed in with some old-time and grungy venues.

Would give this hotel 3 and-a-half circles if TripAdvisor allowed--because the NU Hotel is better than "average", but still not quite "very good"

Room Tip: Not facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeyondDownton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel. Appears you stayed in our Urban Suite. This is the most popular suite we have in house. It's located on the corner of the building with wall to wall windows and great city views of Brooklyn. The design of the bed, while quirky, has been praised by many. Yes it can take some work to get in and out of the bed and may not be practical for your home, but hey, this is a hotel and our job is to spoil you with luxury and provide you with an experience you will never forget. Reviews on this site have been very positive. Street noise is New York City. We have the best double pane sound proofing windows on the market and 70% of our rooms face the street. If it was a significant concern there would be many more comments regarding street noise on this site. It appears to be matter of personal preference and we completely respect your comments.

We take pride in our product and service we provide. Our neighborhood is one of the best in Brooklyn. We're located on Restaurant Row (Smith Street), 5 minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge, and 5 minutes from Barclays Center. I would welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future so we can show you what our neighborhood is all about. I'd be happy to arrange a personal tour and provide great recommendations or dining and site seeing. You can reach me at info@nuhotelbrooklyn.com. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The NU has spacious rooms, the NU has spacious bathrooms, the NU offers a nice breakfast which we enjoyed outside on the terrace (summer) and which can also be enjoyed in the comfy lounge-area, the NU has a great jazz-band offering great music once a week (we enjoyed it with a nice glass of wine from the Brooklyn wineries), the NU has a serious fitness, the NU has bicycles to be used for free and most important - the NU has friendly staff. The location - with two subway-stations in walking-distance - is very convenient. We wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel-and-Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review! We appreciate your comments and couldn't agree with you more! We're always trying to bring Brooklyn Culture into our hotel. Everything from our wines to bagels are sourced locally. We're glad you noticed! Looks like we'll be seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Overall this was a good place to stay. It's close to everything on Smith and Court, easy access to public transit. However, it's right across from a busy jail. My room faced Smith, and the jail, and there were paddy wagons dropping people off all day and night. Lot of lights and sirens, but never any reason to feel unsafe. Otherwise the hotel is great. The rooms were large and it had a very impressive and inexpensive minibar. They even added an umbrella for guests which I thought was a good touch.

Room Tip: Make sure to avoid a room on that faces Smith. Otherwise you'll have flashing lights lighting yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Yes, there is a holding facility across the street from the hotel. Where there is a holding facility and Brooklyn Court Houses there is plenty of NYPD presence! You are correct, there is never a moment where you feel unsafe in our neighborhood. We have a great relationship with the NYPD and they are actually very cognizant of putting on sirens or lights during late hours. We have also installed double pane sound proof windows in all rooms facing Smith Street and black out shades are available in all rooms. This has virtually eliminated the noise and light from the street. Thanks for sharing your experience. We hope to see you back in Brooklyn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#24 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Property: NU Hotel
Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing