We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Olympia, Washington
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Clean! Friendly and accommodating staff. Comfy bed. Great location for getting around to tourist sites while being right next to wonderful local restaurants and shops. Definitely recommend and will return myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinni490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    295
    76
    33
    18
See reviews for
209
310
84
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the NU Hotel in Brooklyn because the prices are lower but we could easily go into Manhatten. The hotel is located in a great area with lots of restaurants, unique shops and gardens (which we didn't visit). The room was comfortable, continental breakfast was generous, and the staff were great! The view of Manhatten from Brooklyn is fantastic - the new trade center building was complete except for the top. The subway ride from Brooklyn to the Met was a direct route that took only 30 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Director of Sales at NU Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts on NU; hopefully next time you'll get to explore more of Brooklyn! From the Brooklyn Museum to Prospect Park and Brooklyn Bridge Park and everywhere in between, Brooklyn has so many things going on these days that we (almost) never make it into Manhattan these days! ;) See you on your next trip, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

NU Hotel was a nice stay. I liked the style and quirkiness of the place. The rooms were big for the price especially considering it is NY. The breakfast buffet isn't anything to go crazy about but the hotel is close to good food spots. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Director of Sales at NU Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
And we would love to have you stay with us again! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. See you next time your travels bring you to Brooklyn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel recently. The benefits to us were the reasonable cost, the location suited us, and the cleanliness of the rooms. There were some additional perks that we enjoyed including an elaborate continental breakfast and a great meeting place in the combined hotel lobby/bar. We found Happy Hour and the Jazz entertainment very pleasant and a great place to meet with our New York friends before heading out to dinner. The staff were helpful especially the girl who managed the bar! The chalk board in the bathroom was a novelty and kind of fun. We arrived early from another country - tired and cranky and the staff hurried things along so we could get into our room faster than the 3:00 o'clock check in- Kudos to them!! PS loved the added security of all the police cars lined up along the street in front of the hotel - jail is across the street

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenf138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Director of Sales at NU Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Karen, thank you for the great review...it sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us and I can only wonder what we could have done to earn those other two stars! :) The live music on Wednesday nights has been a really fun addition to the amenities offered at NU; we can't wait to spend Wednesday nights on the terrace listening to some of the most talented musicians that Brooklyn has to offer like the Fatum Brothers Jazz Trio, Stevie and the Lion and Matthew Brookshire. I do hope you plan to come back and enjoy some Wednesday evenings with us at NU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooloomooloo
Level Contributor
381 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The real strength of the NU Hotel Brooklyn is the fantastic people who work here. I did have a few glitches while staying here (including the mysterious auto-cancellation of my booking just before my arrival), and while it probably would have been preferable these issues not arise in the first place, they were handled professionally and efficiently by the super-friendly staff.
My room was spacious and light, and although facing Atlantic Ave, was very quiet thanks to some pretty effective double-glazing. I thought the all white decor gave the room a slightly spartan and clinical feel rather than the desired funky one, but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom spotless. The small and quirky lobby space could get quite crowded, and was confusing to a new, jet-lagged arrival trying to check in. However, the substantial breakfast served here is a welcome inclusion.
Although the NU bills itself as a three star property, I would say it easily beats most four star hotels, while offering five star plus service. It's easy to see how it has built a devoted clientele. Even though staying in Brooklyn is a convenient and interesting alternative to Manhattan, if it is your first time to NYC and/or you have limited time here, I would probably recommend you to try and stay on the island. Of course, you probably won't find anywhere as special or good value as the NU there, but you will save some commuting time.

Room Tip: Avoid the low floor ones at the back facing the service deck area. Although the staff assured me it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Director of Sales at NU Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the stellar review! It's unfortunate that a mistake took place with your arrival, but I'm so glad to hear that we recovered so nicely and exceeded your expectations even in spite of an error! Reviews like this make it fun to do what we do...thanks so much, and we will look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
713 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a number of times and love it. They have renovated the lobby area. Very friendly staff and prices are good compared with other hotels nearby. Cold breakfast items are included in the rate. Overall our favorite hotel in this part if Brooklyn

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Director of Sales at NU Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the five star review! You hit all the high points-staff, lobby, prices and amenities...we try to make our service very straightforward, just like your review and we're so glad you were pleased with the results. Hope to see you again soon at NU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here April 17-April 20. The subway is very close and we had no issues finding the hotel. I love the modern feel of the hotel when you walk in. I was greeted quickly and no issues with check in. I was a little thrown off by the fact that there was not actually a separate restaurant area to sit in and that the kitchen was located behind the check in area.

We had a room in the back of the hotel and it was quite for the entire trip. Breakfast was simple with typical continental items. I love that there was free wifi as I was on a working vacation and the closest street Atlantic offers a great deal of restaurants or nearby side streets to take you to one.

As I said overall, I would stay here again! Very pleased!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room in the rear, Also please be aware that some rooms are connected and separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Thanks for choosing NU when staying in Brooklyn! I'm pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the visit. We hope you will join us again soon so you can become one of our regulars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
586 reviews
1.0 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#6 of 72 in Brooklyn
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Property: NU Hotel
Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing