We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Brilliant in Brooklyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Location is great, just check your guide book for nearby attractions - we loved trips to Prospect Park, Brooklyn Botanical Gardens - but best was basketball at the Barclays Center. Or maybe just walking across Brooklyn Bridge and taking in the views.

Staff are really friendly and massively helpful. Breakfast in the lobby was a convenient way to start the day (why do their bagels taste so much better than the bagels we get at home?). For me a major highlight was being able to borrow a hotel bike and go cycling. Everything we needed, every question we asked, answered or delivered with a big small and "can do" attitude.

Just love this hotel and Brooklyn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for the outstanding review! Brooklyn is brilliant! Sounds like you had an incredible visit not just to the hotel but to Brooklyn as a whole. Barclays Center is indeed an amazing venue. With NU being within short walking distance it just makes our location even better. We're officially a destination of our own! NU Bikes are a great amenity. This program will remain complimentary to our guests at all times. Lastly, the myth is that the bagels get their distinguished taste from NYC tap water. Not sure if that's proven but I'll believe it for now :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    270
    69
    28
    13
See reviews for
185
280
79
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The perfect location next to Smith & Court St, in buzzing Brooklyn. Bike free from hotel to head uptown, only a 1 from the Brooklyn Bridge.
Wonderfully helpful and smiley staff, full of tips and tricks to the most from your time in NYC.
Clean & comfy rooms, ours felt a little pricey for what it was, but then hey... If i'd wanted cheap,NYC Ain't the place to go!!!
All in all...GOOD!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review! Location, location, location. That's what it's all about. We're the perfect distance from Manhattan although you feel like you're in an entirely different city. Brooklyn has character and so does our hotel. I'm pleased you enjoyed your overall experience. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great location in Brooklyn. Easy to get to a train station or walk to a lot of restaurants and attractions. Really friendly and helpful staff. Room was fine if a bit worn. Somewhat stingy feeling with amenities - one pillow and one towel each. Not a deal breaker but this was not an inexpensive place to stay. And very expensive to drink beer at the bar. Would I stay again -- maybe, but I'd look around at other options, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjp500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and holding us accountable. I welcome feedback like this all of the time. This allows me to focus on areas of need. The property opened 5 years ago. While we have done a good job with up keep there is a natural need for a refresh. We are in the planning stages of a complete property refresh in early 2014. We'll keep the same character of the hotel but with fresh finishes. Until then we are constantly embarking on Preventive Maintenance projects to ensure we put our best foot forward at all time. I have shared your comment with the team and you can expect action immediately. We hope to see you soon again in Brooklyn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are just back form a trip to New York. We stayed in this hotel.

The hotel is very good and very clean, the rooms are large compared to those in Manhattan.

Several Subway lines are in the neighbourhood of the hotel, it's easy to reach all the touristic attractions in Manhattan.

The staff on the reception was very helpfull.

Don't expect too much of the breakfast. In our opinion, it's too basic. Just some sandwiches and boiled eggs. Most of the times, we went outside for breakfast.

Another minor thing is the replacement of the towels. We had a familyroom, and every day towels where missing, altough we asked for it every day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wimmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for the great review! While the good comments are welcome I do sincerely appreciate the comments on breakfast and towels service. We have worked hard to improve this area and our recent surveys have shown a positive shift in reviews. Due to space contraints it's difficult to offer a wider selection. For that reason we decided if we offered an item it would be the best type available (i.e. fresh bagels from local bakery daily vs. frozen). We'll continue to monitor this and make adjustments to ensure we're completely satisfying our guests. I have also shared your comments with the Executive Housekeeper regarding the towels. This is simply better training for the Attendent who serviced your room. We'll make sure this is resolved moving forward. Thanks again fo the details on your stay. We hope to see you soon in Brooklyn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a weekend trip to Brooklyn and our first stay at NU Hotel. What a terrific place! We splurged a bit and booked an Urban Suite - a large corner suite with a ton of windows, sitting area, and hammock. It was VERY cool. The staff at NU Hotel couldn't have been nicer, and the location was super convenient to lots of great shops, restaurants, and even within walking distance of the new Barclay's Center (where we saw Green Day tear it up). There's absolutely no question we'll be returnng to NU Hotel - we loved it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rdooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Your review + Green Day + Barclays Center = Awesome! Thanks for such a great review. I actually attended the concert on Sunday night! What a fantastic show. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Brooklyn and your experience at the hotel. They are announcing artist all the time these days (i.e Paul McCartney). I'm waiting for them to announce Incubus or STP. I'll be the first on line for tickets probably standing next to you :) We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Nu Hotel was recommended by a friend as a choice to stay during her Brooklyn wedding. The hotel was clean, fun, chic, comfy, quiet and close to the subway station. The bed was like heaven after a long day of walking in bustling Brooklyn and Manhattan. My only wish would have been to have lists of things to do (along with directions) in Brooklyn. The staff was helpful and polite-- overall, great stay!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the end of the hall overlooking backyards...no street sounds. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillemyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm pleased you enjoyed your overall experience. We actually have these fantastic Neighborhood Guides that we created in house in all guest rooms. This provides a great base of information and suggestions in the area. We'll look to ensure it's more prominently placed in the rooms so our guests notice it. Sounds like this is exactly what you are looking for. Please email me at info@nuhotelbrooklyn.com. I'd be happy to share it with you so you're all set on your next visit to Brooklyn! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

NU Hotel was in a perfect Brooklyn location for our meandering around Brooklyn stay. The rooms were small but great for just the two of us. You wouldn't party in your room with friends, but that is not how we use a hotel room. The ambiance throughout the hotel was very chic without being over the top. Everything was clean and functional. There is a nice hangout lobby, the staff is very attentive, and nothing felt rushed or harried.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Great title for your review! Why use a room to party when you over 200 restaurants and venues within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. Completely agree with you. We specialize in great service without the stuffiness. Exactly what has made Brooklyn so popular over the years. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again for choosing NU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
3.9 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#1 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#18 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#16 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#5 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
#7 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Property: NU Hotel
Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing