We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's location to my brother's condo (1/2 block away) but couldn't have been happier with the accomodations. Great rate. Clean and uncluttered room. We never really took advantage of morning continental breakfast but would find it sufficient to get going and start the day. Staff was friendly and accomodating whenever needed. Lots of international travelers also appeared to be staying there. Remarkably quiet, considering we were pretty close to downtown Brooklyn and right across from a jail!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thanks for the great review! Location is everything and being located in Downtown Brooklyn is certainly a great amenity of ours! We appreciate your business and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 955 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

A fresh modern hotel in Downtown Brooklyn. Small and unique. Excellent location close to several subway stations. Great restaurants and bars in the area.

Of course, it is not Manhattan, but for those who could consider Brooklyn as an option I really recommend this hotel.

Breakfast could be more varied and self-made, but New York is not Europe in this sense any way.

Room Tip: Rooms to the inner yard have a less interesting view but less noice from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaakko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We're pleased you enjoyed your visit to Brooklyn! Due to some great guest feedback like this we have since overhauled the entire breakfast offering. Feedback has been great so far. We hope to see you soon so you can try it for yourself! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a 5 night stay, we were in town for a family reunion and most of our family was staying at the NU Hotel also. The room was great, large by NY standards, we had a crib in the room and it was still fairly roomy. The bathroom was great, really large. the only drawback was they had a rain shower head and it had no pressure at all. took forever to get my hair wet. The only negatives i can say about the room was our TV didn't work (not a big deal for us, we don't watch much tv) and the room seemed really loud at night. not from noises outside the hotel but seemed to be coming from above and around our room. The lobby is nice, but can get crowded during breakfast and in the evening with people having drinks. The breakfast was very basic but good. The staff was very friendly. I would totally stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devonmk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience at NU. We're pleased to have been able to make your stay enjoyable despite the concerns you mention. It's also our pleasure to report that we'll be replacing the TV's in all rooms with 42in LED TV's beginning January 14th. We expected the project to be completed within that week. This will resolve all TV concerns moving forward and provide a great upgraded amenity for all of our guests. We'll also have our Director of Engineering review the concerns with noise. This is exactly the type of feedback we need to get better at what we do. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding group around Thanksgiving and were generally impressed. The price is moderate and our room was fairly large, especially by NYC standards. The breakfast is more than sufficient, especially given that it's free with your stay. The look and feel of the hotel is very chic and stylish, yet comfortable. The service was low-key but more than adequate. Location is fine for seeing Brooklyn and is also only a few stops on the Subway from the south parts of Manhattan. We'd almost definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeziomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thanks for the great review! We'e glad you enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A good experience overall. Booked for a night to see a concert at the Barclay Center. Was, as hoped, an easy walk, even in the rain. Nice collection of local restaurants and shops.
The staff was pleasant, the rooms fine; the ambiance a little consciously hip - that gets tiring after a while.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelled_from_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience! The convenience to the Barclay's Center is perfect. I like to say that we're not too close but not too far. We're pleased you enjoyed your time at NU and the event at the arena. Perfect combo for a visit to Brooklyn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I do business in downtown Brooklyn and usually stay at the Sheraton Brooklyn, however it was full and a colleague suggested I try the Nu Hotel. I was very impressed with the fresh clean room with free WiFi (not free at the Sheraton), free continental breakfast (not available at the Sheraton) and the friendliness of the staff. I definitely will be staying here on future trips to Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank for the great review! We appreciate you giving us a chance on this visit to Brooklyn. We strive to be the #1 choice in our area and we hope to see you again for several stays in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our family was evacuated from the Rockaways due to Hurricane Sandy. We searched the internet for hours and decided on the NU Hotel because of the location, price and it is pet friendly. From the moment we checked in the staff could not do enough for us. They were warm, friendly, kind & professional. We immediately felt safe and encouraged. NU Hotel is strategically located in downtown Brooklyn, great area shopping and restaurants. The NU staff are all very knowledgable about everything and very willing to share all info with guests. Our room was lovely & spacious. Not enough can be said about the staff...Javier, the General Manager, runs a smooth ship. Everyone shows such respect for eachother and in turn it pours out to us, the guests. There are no words to describe how grateful we are to Javier, Gary, Jennifer, Casey, Michael, Shannon, Dan & Danny for taking such good care of us at a time when we felt so vulnerable, they made our stay at the NU Hotel so wonderful. In addition, the lovely lobby lounge, so sophisticated and chic, serving unforgettable, delicious tapas. Norman, the Chef, so talented, creates scrumptous delights night after night. Kathy always welcomes you and serves you with a smile. Thank you to the houskeeping, maintenance & engineering staff as well as Kim for making our month and a half long stay at the NU Hotel a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. We will be back! Brian & Eileen F

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen - Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We heart Brian & Eileen!! Thanks so much for the great review. It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest although we all wish it was under better circumstances. We're happy things are returning to normal for you but we miss you guys dearly! Please come back for a visit soon! You will always have friends and family at NU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 74 in Brooklyn
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: $120 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing