We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Botique Hotel”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Botique Hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Nu Hotel because it was only eight blocks from my daughter's home. The room was large (especially for NYC) and comfortable. The service was very good. The complimentary breakfasts had a wide spectrum of cereals, breads, yogurts, fruit, etc. The neighborhood was fine, but the hotel is located next to a police station that occasionally was the source of some noise during the evening. The hotel is close enough to the Brooklyn bridge for a great jog or walk across the bridge. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeM1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review! We're improving everyday and it dosen't stop at service. We're soon improving our breakfast offerings! All new items to choose from in a great upscale display. I'm sure you will love the changes. Next time you're in town you'll have to join me on a run across the Brooklyn Bridge. Every Tuesday at 6:30AM I host a 5K run across the Bridge. Early bird always get ahead! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    299
    77
    34
    18
See reviews for
216
313
87
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights October 19-22. This was his first trip to the city, on prior trips I have always stayed in Manhattan. We loved almost everything about our stay at the Nu Hotel. The location was excellent it had a neighborhood feel that I preferred over the other places I've staid in the city. The hotel is located close to multiple main subway stops, it only took us 20 min to get into Manhattan. In the evening we stayed in the neighborhood. There are tons of great dining options nearby on Smith. All of the staff we encountered were wonderful and were happy to oblige anything we asked for. The only downside I felt was the view from our room which was a solid brick wall. However, we never complained or asked to be moved and I must admit it was very quiet. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We're pleased we were able to make your experience in Brooklyn memorable. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We came to Brooklyn for a conference and stayed here for one night. I had never been to NYC or the surrounding area and was not sure what to expect. The accommodations were great and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Breakfast was also great! My room faced the street and I did not have any problem with noise. The only criticism would be the pillows - they were not very supportive. Although, in fairness, I did not ask for any extra or replacement pillows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Thanks for giving us and Brooklyn a chance! We would welcome your return anytime. Next time just ask for firmer pillows and we'll bring them right up! :) We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you want clean, friendly and adequate then the NU hotel is a good choice. It is not opulent, but cozy and accomodating. Do look on the discount hotel sites before booking directly with the front desk. Generally they will work with you.

Room Tip: I am a "frequent flyer" there. If you are a woman alone, avoid the 2nd floor back. You ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review! Sounds like you are the seasoned traveler! Yes, we will certainly work with anyone to ensure they have the best rate available booking directly with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVG
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Most of the time I'm travelling for business and call it lazyness but I prefere to go back to hotels I've been before
This way I know the enviroment and the transportation
Nu hotel is always a nice place to stay even if some rooms could be on the noisy side due to the main Atlantic ave. proximity
They now have bicycles, very cool, and if you have spare time you can easily reach dumbo or carroll gardens as I did
the staff is warm and friendly and very willing to help or recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bidibodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottenlund, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We can very much recommend this hotel. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Free bicycles, free internet, free coffey/tea in room, breakfast included. Taking this into consideration the price was reasonable (if you can ever call pricelevel in NYC reasonable!!!). The location on corner of Atlantic Ave/Smith Street is good for exploring Brooklyn - but rooms facing the street is noisy if you like to have an open window during night.
Swimmingpool on roof top available but we never tried it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the back and preferably on 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Søren H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I were invited to a wedding in Brooklyn and we were faced with the task of choosing a hotel. The couple-to-be provided a few hotels to choose from. We opted for the Nu Hotel because we were able to enjoy the relaxed vibe of Brooklyn, and we were only a ten minute walk to Manhattan. We were extremely pleased with everything this hotel had to offer. The rooms were very modern, and the location was ideal. The staff were very professional and offered great advice regarding restaurants, sights, etc. They offered a simple, but satisfying, complimentary breakfast. The lobby bar had a wide variety of drinks, and the prices were very reasonable (especially the 4-7pm happy hour!). This was my wife's first experience in NYC, and we could not have been happier. We would choose the Nu Hotel next time we visit NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zownbey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
593 reviews
1.0 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#5 of 72 in Brooklyn
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Property: NU Hotel
Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing