We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish, like Eloise at the Plaza, I could just move in to NU Hotel forever”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Beautiful hotel in a great location with outstanding staff! This was the "overflow" hotel for a conference I attended around the corner. I am so glad the conference hotel was full as the NU Hotel was a fantastic experience. The staff is happy, accommodating, friendly, efficient, charming. The hotel is beautiful. Showers delicious. My experience could not have been better!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank lamorena77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Wow - that's great company to be compared to! While we would like to be the preferred hotel we're always willing to be the overflow one as well. Now you can demand our hotel be the preferred one on your next visit! :) Thanks for the great comments. We appreciate the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 932 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2011

This has got to be the nicest hotel in Brooklyn. Modern, new, and clean; delightful, cheerful, helpful staff. And throw in the great location - the NU Hotel is definitely special. Walking distance to great shops, restaurants, and the subway. It feels like a simple but with-it hotel in Europe. We had 16 or 17 rooms - for a wedding in Brooklyn. We all came from LA or other places and even Europe and EVERYONE was delighted with this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejsgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

We are pleased you and your guests enjoyed their stay during your special time! We're working hard to become #1 on this site and this review helps! Hopefully you will come back for a visit on your anniversary! Congrats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding...arrived on a redeye and first impressions, cute cool hotel! Trying to sleep was another matter. It felt as though we were sleeping on top of the subway station...in all of the cities I have stayed in I cannot ever remember staying awake because of the noise, that is to say until now. The room was small but nice, the queen size bed was like a minature bed more like a twin on bad steroids. My wife and I are small and still bumped into each other. Take out the noise factor and I I think I would have liked the hotel but that night, trying to sleep was impossible. My family was there as well and they all had the exact same experience in different rooms as us so...if you choose this hotel, be prepared to hear noise all nite

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvlovetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Noise level has not been a major concern for our hotel in the past. At times it can be attributed to guest preference although the recent reviews expressing this concern has made us aware that we may need to look for an added solution. This is why we value true honest feedback. We have contracted a window specialist to remedy this concern and we look to have this resolved immediately. Please keep in mind that we will always do our best to honor requests for rooms facing the interior. Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority as many of the reviews on this site will reflect. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. I'm confident you will not be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Good location ( covenient to metro) , modern, stylish, clean and comfortable rooms: friendly staff ... but all rooms facing the street ( the majority) are extremely ( EXTREMELY) noisy. The breakfast area is a bit small and improvised... and the breakfast itself no better than ok.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs or insist on a back facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Thanks for the review! We pride ourselves on being stylish and modern with exceptional service. We're glad noticed our efforts. Thanks for the insight on the street noise. Whenever possible we always try to honor a request to face the interior. The windows are double pane and sound proof. We have made note of your concern (and others) and reported this to our local window specialist. We are looking for an added solution to reduce noise and will have this rectified immediately. Thanks for the honest feedback and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon. We'll make sure to place you in a room facing the interior! :)

Also, we're undergoing a renovation to our lobby and breakfast area in the near future. We look to maximize space and we're even adding an outdoor patio for guest use. This will be a huge upgrade and we're confident our guests will love the improvements. Hopefully it will be complete by the time you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I've never stayed at the Nu Hotel, but I live about a five minutes' walk from there, and my husband and I put our families up there when we got married in Brooklyn last summer. Everyone raved about it. The location is great--yes, there is a detention center across the street, but as my mother pointed out, it means the police presence is very high!--with the subway, Brooklyn Bridge, and many restaurants/bars/shops nearby. And getting to Manhattan from there is a snap. The decor is very cool; it looks kind of like a CB2 catalogue (we saw several different rooms). And the staff is great--they were nice to our family members and also very easy to work with in terms of setting up the whole wedding block of rooms. They allowed us to leave welcome bags for the guests (no extra charge) and gave us a really reasonable rate. And again, our very small-town, Southern, kinda-scared-of-the-city relatives stayed there and they all loved it.

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't face Atlantic Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Thanks for the great review! We appreciate that you chose to write a review almost a year after your stay. I guess we certainly left a lasting impression. Please do not hesitate to reach if you have family coming throughout the year for a visit. We offer great Neighborhood Rates that are specifically for the locals. We'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Very clean hotel. We were impressed with the quick and friendly service. The hotel staff was very attentive. I liked that your were greated when coming in and going out. This hotel is in a great location. Close to shopping, restaurants, and the Brooklyn Bridge. Parking right next door. We will stay here again!
Cathie from Massachusetts

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Thanks for the great review, Cathie! We work hard on leaving an impression going in and out of the hotel. We're glad you noticed! :) Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We booked this hotel for 6 days.it is situated in Brooklyn approx 4 mins walk from subway station.there is a detention centre across road as noted in other reviews, but don't let that put you off.they are all locked away.smith street is a lovely safe area with many restaurants and eclectic shops and bars.the reception staff were always very helpful an greeted us every time we left or entered the hotel.the breakfast was good a choice of Danish pastries, muffins, fruit,yogurts, fruit juice,bagels and toast along with coffee.the coffee wAs more often than not on the cool side, we complained twice but it didnt get much better, other than that breakfast was great
The rooms were very modern with unusual art work, very clean, beds made every day, bathrooms were immaculate,as were all other areas in the hotel.
It was easy to get into new York on the subway from the hotel,and returning home at nightime felt safe.
All in all a great hotel in a safe and quirky part of Brooklyn,I would not hesitate to stay here again


  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northernlad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience in detail! We're working hard to improve the breakfast selection even more. We're pleased it was sufficient for now but we look to take it to the next level. The artwork is actually original artwork from a local Brooklyn artist. Each room has a different piece of art! It's another way that we look to connect with the community. Thanks for making recognizing our efforts! We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#22 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#7 of 72 in Brooklyn
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 72 in Brooklyn
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: $178 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing