We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place for Little Kids”

Brooklyn Children's Museum
Ranked #37 of 226 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wonderful place to spend the day with the family, this museum houses a remarkable, kid-friendly collection of 20,000 cultural artifacts and natural history specimens, plus live plants and animals, and award-winning exhibitions.
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super Place for Little Kids”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a wonderful collection of interactive exhibits for children 2 to 10. The three-year-old in our family loves it. So do we.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allesistschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    54
    23
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Brooklyn Beats Manhattan”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Museums in Manhattan normally set the standard for quality, but in the case of children's museums, the Brooklyn Children's Museum easily bests the one in Manhattan. Located a few blocks off Eastern Parkway and not far from the Brooklyn Museum of Art, the Brooklyn Children's Museum offers a wide range of interesting, interactive exhibits and hands-on activities for youngsters. The space is well-designed and the staff helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EasyTraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful secret spot”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Something for children (and adults) of all ages. From play to learning; quiet time to exploration, a great place to bring children and let them explore and enjoy the world around them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bpolazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“The kids have a blast”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am wondering if the Brooklyn Childrens Museum I sometimes take my grandchildren to is the same boring place described in some of the reviews.
Here are some of the activities my grandchildren (preschoolers) love--
*the grocery store--lots of pretend food, baskets to carry it in, counters and cash registers
*the water play area--plenty of splashy and squirty fun--plastic aprons provided (though they are often wet if you do not get there early)
*the blue sand play area with lots of sand toys (there is another white sand area downstairs, as well as a grain digging area with puffy vegetables).
*the pizza making shop with lighted ovens and felt pizza assembling pieces
*the Mexican bakery with scales and weights, an oven and a large dough mixing machine.
*an outdoor garden with watering cans and vats of water to water the plants--my almost two year old granddaughter could pour water on her shoes for hours (Not so much fun for me--it is not air conditioned out there)
There are some big lizards, tanks of fish and turtles, musical instruments, a motorcycle to ride, a library, puppets, blocks...and there is often a project to make near the waterplay area.
Admittedly, we usually go on Sundays and I have not been there when the place was overrun with camps, but I did not have free tickets either--we have a years pass.
The good thing about the pass is that it is also able to be used in a number of childrens museums more than ninety miles away, several of which are along the route to Toronto, where I live (the grandkids sometimes come to visit) and including the wonderful and expensive Ontario Science Centre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShifraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Working on improvements”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

At the time of our visit to the Brooklyn's Childrens Museum, there was some heavy construction work happening in certain parts of the building. This meant that a minority of areas could temporarily not be accessed and there was a degree of noise from the machinery. However, the museum have taken this in to account and we were allowed access free of charge on the day of our visit. This was more than fair in my opinion as the closures and noise did not spoil our enjoyment and caused only a minor disturbance. I understand that this construction work is now completed and that admission reverts back to $7.50 per head. (Open Tues-Sun, 10-5)

The museum is situated at 145 Brooklyn Avenue (at St Marks Ave) next to Brower Park, one mile from Grand Army Plaza. I notice that another reviewer has commented that the museum is in a less desirable area of Brooklyn, and I would agree with that, but not to the point that it should prevent you from visiting. We took the 3 train to Kingston Avenue, crossed Eastern Parkway to Kingston Avenue and then north 6 blocks to the corner of Brooklyn Avenue and St Marks Avenue. - quite a hike, but manageable.

This is a 2 storey building which is bright and spacious. As you would expect, it is a popular place for young children's 'Summer Camp' groups, which can be a little annoying if they are inadequately supervised. There is a garden area (with seating) accessed from inside the museum which is very pleasant and a real sun trap. There are interesting plants and associated wildlife and nature which has set up home there.

Our son is 8 years old, and while he found interest in certain exhibits (the animals for example - especially the giant sized snake!) I felt he was just at the stage where the majority of it was a little to young for him. I'd suggest that age 4-7 is perhaps the optimum age range.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TellTheTruthPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing