We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Under The Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Aquarium

New York Aquarium
Ranked #44 of 203 things to do in Brooklyn
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on 14 acres by the sea in Coney Island, the Aquarium is home to over 8,000 animals. The Aquarium provides an enjoyable experience for the whole family. See friendly walruses, amazing sharks, playful sea otters and so much more.
new york city
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Under The Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A magical and eye opening day get away for any age. Actually you cant help feeling like a kid. Oohs &aahs especially the Alien Stingers!! Then spend time after on famous Coney Island boardwalk.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkCityWaterside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    126
    131
    66
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great time for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went to the aquarium with my family as part of my granddaughter's birthday weekend. What great fun for all of us......especially liked the big walrus' that were swimming right in front of us as we watched their antics through the tank. Some of the park was under construction, but there was plenty to see and do to last 3-4 hours. A great time was had by all....especially the birthday girl.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dedmundson222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NY Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited the aquarium couple months ago and it was not that bad but it is geared more towards small children. The seal show is cute and coney island is close by if you are interested in other rides. You can visit this place once.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KMC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
456 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good for Entertaining Tiny Tots!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We took our two grand daughters there 3.5 and 1.5 years old. They had a great time watching the different fish; the seals feeding and the glow-in-the-dark jelly fish. We also ate in their restaurant and it was ok food served with a terrible attitude! Someone needs to teach them that they have a job because of the customers, they are NOT doing the customers a favor by serving them!

I missed the fact that there is a discount if you buy tickets on line - oh well!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SKG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It says it, it does it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I am a big fan of all things aquarium and as silly as it may be, if there is one where I visit, I will try to go. I have lived in the NYC/Long Island area for a little over 7 years and finally made the trip to the NY Aquarium. I did enjoy my visit but felt like this should just be called the Brooklyn Aquarium as it doesn't really live up to being called the NEW YORK Aquarium. As other reviewers have said, it is good for about half a day. The one nice thing is that for $13, you can park your car in the aquarium lot and head over to the Coney Island boardwalk to explore there while your car is safe is sound. Overall, a good trip but do not plan a whole day here. **Make sure you buy tix ahead of time online for a discount!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank beeno0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to New York Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing